Fiction logo

Hello World

By Erika Whisnant

By DrakePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Gold, it coated everything. Green leaves edged with it. Grass blades doused in it. Tree bark with dark cracks speckled with it. The whole world painted gold with the sunrise; it looked expensive enough to sit in a vault, hidden behind locked doors and security guards. But the sight was free for whomever would risk the long walk.

I hooked my ankles together and stretched. The air still carried the bite of night’s chill with it, but my light jacket readily fended it off. The tips of my white sneakers, bottoms clogged with mud and leaves, caught the light and glowed gold. Gold again, like I was a part of the sight in front of me.

Then again, I was.

My breath mingled with the crisp mountain air. My skin and clothes soaked in the sunlight as readily as any leaf. Up here and bathed in the rising sun, I could feel like a part of nature rather than an intrusion. I lived for moments like this. Little times when I felt a part of the world around me instead of being horribly disconnected. Maybe it was stupid of me. I knew that everything I did impacted the world. Every footstep, every breath, every light switch I forgot to turn on, but it was moments like this where it truly sunk in.

It was why I went camping, so instead of feeling like a ghost I could feel like a living thing. Four limbs, five senses, just another creature in this great big world. Not so different from the birds greeting the morning sun, or the deer nibbling on the grass.

Yes, my tent left an indent on the grass, and if left there too long the blades beneath would wither and die. Yes, the stones I had gathered to circle my fire had belonged somewhere else. Sure, the fire I made was man made and not natural … but all that still helped me feel connected to the world. Like any animal, I was making an impression. Maybe it was good, maybe it was bad, but I was going to leave my footprint on this world, no matter how small or large it turned out to be.

I closed my eyes and tipped my head back. The sun's warmth struck my neck, my face. It was climbing higher, the dark sky turning purple and blue. The gold was disappearing, exchanged for softer yellow and white. Now the clouds burned orange and red as the sun rose ever so slowly higher into the sky. The birdsong filled the air, more now, a chorus of songs. The world was waking up with the son.

Eventually, I stood up, stretched. It was time to make breakfast, and my stomach rumbled in assent. With a smile, I glanced around my camp. My tent was the type anyone could find at any sporting store, with screens covering the openings to keep the bugs out. My chair, a foldable lawn chair, was worn. A black bug crawled along one arm. Leaning against my chair was my backpack, dark with a pattern of marigolds upon the fabric. Stitched with gold thread on the front was my name. My fire pit sat empty except for last night’s ashes.

That was alright. I could rectify that easily enough. With another stretch, I glanced around. The sun shone high above the tree line. Any shadows that had still existed in the meadow had been burned out of view. Beautiful. To think that I could be a part of such a remarkable world.

Still smiling, I got ready for the day ahead.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Drake

Nothing will change if you don't take that first step forwards. So take it. What could go wrong?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.