Fiction logo

Headache

Oh my god

By Dagmar GoeschickPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
nature at it's best

Oh my god, my head throbbed like a punching ball. What happened? I can't remember a thing. I don't want to open my eyes because I know, the light will hit me and my headaches are coming back, but I feel so uncomfortable. No way, I need to open my eyes NOW. Where am I? In a train?? How come? I know, I visited my best friend for 2 days. She turned 25, and we had an amazing birthday party at her house. After the party, I helped her to clean up. The next day I had to go back home. But not in a train. I had a plan-ticket to get home. But I am in a train. My luggage. Where is it? Oh, just above me head; oh my head is so throbbing and my eyes are watery. “Good evening Miss, can I see your ticket please?”. “Of course you can. Where is this train going to?”, “It is going to No-Where”. “It is going to No-Where?? Where is that city? Never heard of it?” The conductor seems a little out of fantasy. He smiles, and then starts to laugh. “No-Where-City as you call it means, we are going No-Where.”. My head still hurts a lot and my eyes still don't want to stay open. “Ok, so this city doesn't exist as you say. Then what is No-Where? A small train station?”. He still looks at me like he wants to shake me like an old medicine bottle. He still holds my plane-ticket in his hands. But I am in a train—and I don't have a train ticket. It looks like he doesn't realize that he is holding a wrong ticket in his hands. Maybe I am just a bit too straight forward to him? I don't feel good, and he is not giving me the answer I need. “Sir, I need to be at NYC by 10am tomorrow morning for an interview. So what can I do to get there as fast as possible?”. He looks now stupid too; same as me, probably. “There is nothing you can do to get to NYC as fast as possible. Your destination is not on-route, and you are not going to make it. Be happy when you are able to survive this train.” I can not believe what he is saying. I must be sleeping and dreaming, and I need to wake up. He gives me a little push with his hands, and it hurts. “Stop doing this,” I am yelling at him. “I am going to call the cops”. He backs up and his laughs are getting louder. His voice is so unreal, and I am scared now. Really scared. “Where is the next train stop?”, I asked him. But he is not giving me an answer. I asked him twice. He backs up, and he starts to close the door. I am rushing forward to stop him from closing the door, but I am too late. He is gone, and I can't open that fricking door. My head gets worse, and I have the feeling that I am trapped. I am rushing to the window. Windows always opens if you slide them down. I am hanging on the handle—but the window is not moving an inch. I am getting more and more scared, my heart beats like my grandfathers old clock. There must be somewhere a small hammer…a hammer where you can destroy the window in emergency cases. I can't find it. Think! Think! It must be somewhere. I need to get out of this train, out of this compartment. I need to be in NYC by 10am tomorrow for my interview, my new job, my new career. Likewise, I can't stay in here and I can't wait for miracles. Furthermore, I need to find a way out of this situation. My grandfather always said, if you are in a bad situation, sit back, close your eyes and start thinking. But will I be able to wake up again? I need to follow instructions. I will follow my grandfathers instructions, and I am hoping that I will wake up in my plane, flying straight to NYC.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.