Fiction logo

Gary's Break

A Story Every Day in 2024 March 28th 88/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished about a month ago 2 min read
5
Gary's Break
Photo by Laura Ohlman on Unsplash

"Gary, as a gentle story to break you in, can find something with an animal? A nice story. Of a rescue, or something."

Gary listened to his editor and felt a bit disappointed. He wanted to be a gritty hard-nosed news reporter, investigating crime in the sleepy town of Hatford, not finding out about ducklings down drains or cats up trees.

But then, everyone had to start somewhere and so, he left his first editorial meeting and phoned the local animal shelters.

"Well, we've had a baby hedgehog brought in," one of the helpers, at the Fuzzy Friends shelter said when they answered the phone. "Janice logged it this morning."

Gary wrote it all down: rescued baby hedgehog.

Sadie, the helper adopted a slightly conspiratorial tone. "You know, she was a bit bleary-eyed this morning, Janice. Too much grog at the darts last night, I reckon. It hasn't touched its food yet. But we're hopeful. Probably just a bit shocked."

Gary thanked her and asked, "Is it okay if I come later to take some photos?"

Sadie confirmed that would be fine and Gary set off to write his first proper report.

When he got to the home, he went to Reception and Janice came out to meet him. She still looks bleary-eyed, Gary thought to himself. I wouldn't stand anywhere near the dart board if she had a dart in her hand.

Gary asked if he could be taken to the baby hedgehog and Janice dutifully led him to a small grey ball in a cardboard box. He was suddenly struck by how tiny and vulnerable the little thing looked, curled up with its little bowls of food and water.

"Could I pick it up?" Gary found himself asking. There was something so cute about it, he wanted to touch it.

Janice was hesitant but Gary, who was quite handsome, smiled winningly and Janice said, "Okay. But not for long," and in warning, "And keep it close because they can move quite quickly."

It was only once the hedgehog was in his hands that Gary realised that it wasn't in any danger of going anywhere as it was, indeed, just a charcoal grey hat bobble.

***

366 words

True story. See below the news report on the BBC as shared with me by the original "Bobbles", my son.

I laughed so hard at this that my belly ached. It had to have a story crafted around it. It was too good an opportunity to miss.

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read it, please do drop a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

88/366

MicrofictionHumor
5

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • John Cox25 days ago

    You really can’t make this stuff up. And if you did, no one would believe you. Great find, and great story!

  • D.K. Shepard30 days ago

    What?!? The fact that this is based on an actual incident made my jaw drop! Great story, Rachel! Loved the description of bleary eyed Janice!

  • Delightful beyond words, lol.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    I saw this! How did they even get it in the box and not realise!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Are you freaking kidding me??!!! Hahahahahahahahahhahahahaha!! I laughed so much! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.