Fiction logo

Frozen Pond

Frozen Love

By Yusef Hood Published 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Love is defined by a strong affection for another arising out of kinship or personal ties or that would be the simple interpretation for such a feeling. Words can never seem to properly express the amount of love that I feel for you. Ever since the day I first laid eyes on you, I was entrapped by your beauty. Do you remember the day we met? It was 12 years ago but it feels like yesterday. It was winter. You sat alone at the edge of the frozen pond looking out at the ice as if lost by a spell that forced you to hold your gaze out into frozen space. I saw you from a distance and although I couldn’t be one hundred percent sure, I knew that you were the one that I had been searching for.

I sat a little distance away as to not to disturb your journey in your own space. The last thing I wanted was to make you feel uncomfortable or worse yet, I didn’t want to find a way to embarrass myself. The truth was that I didn’t really know how to talk to people. I especially didn’t know how to properly express my feelings to another person. So, you can imagine my fear and hesitation when I first spoke to you. I can hardly even remember what we spoke about but what I can remember is that you left with a smile when it was all said and done. I didn’t believe in love at first sight but when I went home that night, all I thought about was you.

You invaded my dreams like a plague. I was so infatuated by you; it could have been said that Aphrodite herself infected me with the curse of love and at the center of that love was you. You became my soul purpose for living and if I couldn’t have you, then there would be no reason to go on living at all. So, I pursued you. I chased you as if my very breath depended on you and when I got you, you made me the happiest man on Earth. I wanted to scream my happiness from the rooftops, I wanted the whole world to know about the way I felt about you. Our love was absolute.

And so when I had to go away, we met one last time at the frozen pond, underneath the same tree that hosted our first conversation. I was worried that I wouldn’t see you again and I was even more afraid at the idea that I would forget what your face looked like. Oh, how I wished I were an artist so I could paint your portrait and keep you in my memory forever. I would have rather died then to have never been blessed with your beauty again and lord knows I didn’t want to go but unfortunately, we were cursed with different fates that forced the paths that lead us away from one another.

And so six years passed before we saw one another again. I found myself drawn to the frozen pond like a moth to the flame. I had no idea that I would ever seen you again but there you were, right at the tree that sat at the edge of the pond. It was almost as if fate herself had forced us back to one another. You looked over to me and I to you, and the same feelings of love and admiration that flooded my heart came back rushing in like a broken dam. It was as if these past six years apart never even existed. We loved each other so passionately, our flame could never be extinguished.

And so, I find myself without you once more. Although I love you more and more for each day that passes, the hope that our love will be reunited fades away like light fading away into the darkness. Everyday I go to the frozen pond, and I sit underneath the tree that housed our first taste at love. Everyday, I go to that pond, and I hold tight to the hope that someday I might be able to see you again, if only for a moment. For as long as that tree sits at that frozen pond, my love for you shall never end, like the flame burning eternally in my heart.

Love
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.