Fiction logo

Frozen heart

ice goodbye

By ASHLEY SMITHPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like

The coin came down on heads so I turned down the left path. I was lost in a snow storm, freezing and starting to panic. I knew my life depended on the route I took, whether I would be found walking or in a block of ice.

I hoped as I was well after my return time and hoped there was a search party heading up to meet me. My quandary was to wait for them or to head towards where I hoped they would be. Of course the next problem was , if they passed 20 feet from me I wouldn't see them.

The flag at the summit would be proof that I managed to reach the top, now I had to try and make it back to the base camp. I was hoping for a phone signal , anything to show I was near the bottom.

Then , as if announcing I was half way home, my phone rang. The picture of my wife raised spirits some more as I answered the phone. I answered as best I could with shaking and frozen fingers. Before I could even get a greeting out my wife started talking.

" Listen, I will make this quick. I am leaving you and the life insurance was too tempting. I told the rescue centre you had called and said you were camping the night before coming down, goodbye for ever"

The shock and the cold left me unable to even try to reply

Short StoryHorrorAdventure
Like

About the Creator

ASHLEY SMITH

England based carer, live with my wife, her parents and 4 cats. will write for all areas but especially mental health and disability. though as stuff for filthy seems popular will try there . any comments, suggestions or requests considered

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.