Fiction logo

From Orb

We are never alone

By Liss SuarezPublished 2 years ago β€’ Updated 2 years ago β€’ 6 min read
2

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. I used to think that was true. That is until I met her. Celeste. Let me start from the beginning. My name is Mike...

***************

Celeste

"We have a meeting with the humans today. The few of you standing here have been chosen to go. The trip will take about a month and the humans from Earth will be expecting us. They have been cooperative in our communications with them. The rest of us commend your bravery and we are certain that we will prevail in our mission." Commander Belt said to the group of 10 standing before him, with their hands behind their back, all in Orb's military uniform. They were all inhabitants of Orb, a planet about 40million miles from Earth and 10million miles from Mercury.

Everyone clapped as the Commander placed gold medals ribbons around their neck. Each gold medal ribbon contained the magic that would turn them into human form, activated by pressing the button in the middle.

As the group of men and women walked toward the spaceship, they said their goodbyes to family and friends.

"Honey, I'll be back before you ascend. I promise." Colonel Orbit said as I looked up at my dad. My mom, my brother, and my sister were behind him.

"We all promise to come back. We as leaders have a duty to protect Orb. It is who we are. This peace meeting is the best thing that could have happened." My mom said as my sister and brother nodded.

"Don't worry we will kick some ass if this meeting is a bust." My brother whispered to me as he dried my tears with his thumb. He gave me a kiss on my forehead and continued onto the ship with my mom and dad.

My sister is next and she tells me, "You know I would never leave you alone if it wasn't absolutely necessary.", as I nod, my face wet with tears. She had just turned 10 ibits which in Earth years would be 21. I was only 9 ibits so I wasn't able to go this time.

"I will miss you," I tell her as I give her a big hug. She hugs me back. I could hear that she too was crying. However, when we broke free, her face was dry. I never knew how she always managed to do that.

I wave at them all as they are all sitting in the spaceship. All the spaceships close and one by one they start descending to Earth.

The remaining group gathers in the great room as we follow them on the big screens.

"Once they have landed, the meeting should be quick and they should be back home tonight." Commander Belt said loudly as everyone clapped.

We all stare at the screen as we saw our families descend to Earth. The countdown begins from 30days. Because our time runs faster than the Earth's time, 30days for us was about 10hours for us.

Everyone went about their day checking in on the big screen to see their loved ones descend unto Earth. As the last hour approached, everyone stopped what they were doing and gathered to watch.

The last minute was here. I started to whisper as the last 10 seconds approached. 10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1 One by one they landed. All the spaceships open and they get out.

We all clap in excitement as we finally will have Universal Peace.

Suddenly, we see on the big screen the human men in weird suits start attacking our people. They have cages and one by one are putting our people inside them.

They have captured our people.

They have captured my family.

I let out a loud scream. A scream that could be heard by a human named Mike on Earth.

Everyone looks at me. I quickly run away and hide. I hear Commander Belt start to talk.

Commander Belt starts to talk loudly as everyone starts to panic. He starts to motion to his crew to go rescue our people. "Settle down. Settle down. Everyone please settle down. We will bring our people back."

He turns to his crew and angrily says "Since they broke their promise, use any means possible to get our people back!"

"Yes sir! On our way!" The crew says as they come forward and one by one start to get into their ships. Our people were still panicking. Children started to cry. Women started to cry. I even saw a few men cry.

I didn't want to cry.

I needed to save my people.

I sneak through the people and commotion in order to find a spaceship to board. I grab a gold medal ribbon and place it around my neck. No one notices me as I do this.

I was not going to let my family down.

I was going to rescue them.

I find an empty one and am about to board it when I hear, "Where do you think you're going? You're not of age yet to travel to Earth."

I look at Sonny and say "Come on Sonny. I'll be 10 ibits in like 6 months. I'm old enough. Please let me go!"

Sonny looks at me and then looks around as everyone is frantically talking while the soldiers were getting into their spaceships.

Sonny then stared at me. "Man am I ever going to regret this." He puts on his gold medal ribbon and gets in the spaceship.

I giggle as I hide behind his seat. He closes the spaceship and we start to descend to Earth.

As we get closer to Earth, however, the human men in suits start shooting their weapons at us. They shoot down all of our spaceships. I see my people die in front of me.

Our spaceship gets torn in half and I go flying down a long dark entrance or something. I feel the spaceship collide with something hard and a strange "Meow" sound is heard.

Afraid to even look outside, I stay down for a few minutes wondering how I even had the courage to come here. I decided to look up and realize that I was looking at my home. It looks so tiny from here.

I sit, my mind made up that I would just stay there forever, however, this planet had other plans.

I see a shadow approach and scrunch my face hoping they will take pity on me and not harm me. I make sure that I am in my human form as I quickly press the button on the gold medal ribbon. The tentacles that were on top of my head, become long pieces of really thick string.

I couldn't help but touch it. I look at my reflection and see that I have almond shaped eyes, with caramel skin and auburn hair, as the humans called it.

"Hey, do you need help?" The human man says as he extends his hand to me.

I stare at him. I knew instantly that this was Mike. I wasn't sure I could trust him, but I wanted to get to know him.

I had never seen a human in real life and up close. It was fascinating.

I slowly sit up and take his hand as I say "Yes I do need help. I'm Celeste."

By Spencer Tamichi on Unsplash

Mystery
2

About the Creator

Liss Suarez

Author (Thriller/Mystery/Paranormal)

Mom of πŸ‘¨πŸ‘©πŸ‘¨

Wannabe Comedian

Never give up πŸ‘

Success is yours πŸ™Œ

I accept everyone for who they are πŸ’™

#selfpublished

lisssuarez.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jori T. Sheppard2 years ago

    Yes I can see this being the start to an interesting story. Although I feel it’s a bit rushed and I didn’t really get a good idea of the aliens or their culture. Could use a bit of work, but I’m glad you used an alien main character, something different.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.