Fiction logo

Frisbee Folly

The canine caper

By Alyssa NicolePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
1
Frisbee Folly
Photo by Wolfgang Hasselmann on Unsplash

Back and forth.

Back and forth.

The yellow disc soared, wobbling across the sky, taunting me as I sat patiently next to the park bench. Josh's mumbling filled my ears, but my focus remained on the yellow disc. Every time the disc flew above the grass, I received a pleasant whiff of excitement. I held my nose high in the air, catching all of the scents as they drifted by.

I glanced up at Josh. His phone was pressed against his head. He was always distracted; he never paid attention. My eyes dropped to his left hand, noting the dangling leash around his wrist.

Turning back to the yellow disc, I watched carefully. Toes tapping, tail swishing, heart racing. I squirmed and whined in place.

Then it happened.

The yellow disc! It was coming right to me!

A shot of adrenaline launched me through the air and I was free. My leash trailed behind me as I sprinted and took one giant leap. The yellow disc landed perfectly in my mouth.

"Gunner!"

"Hey!"

"That's our frisbee!"

I trotted away, a triumphant gait, ignoring my name. I held the coveted prize between my teeth, my tail wagging, and my heart happy.

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Alyssa Nicole

A toxicologist who secretly hopes to be a full-time author. One novel in progress with too many other ideas taking up space in my head until I get around to writing them. Some of those ideas end up here.

Instagram: @alyssa.n.mussowrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.