Fiction logo

Friends in Higher Places

Lance Chase wasn't expecting love to come wrapped up in Green eyes and Strawberry-red hair.

By Jessica BandaPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 22 min read
4

Carl, a beautiful Langshan rooster is at it again! Waking Lance with his loud ass crowing. “What the hell Carl,” he shouts in his deep Southern accent as he sits up from his bed and looks at his alarm clock sitting on the bedside table - it reads 3 a.m. “I don’t need to be up for another hour, why can’t you be like your siblings and crow quieter? Just my luck I had to be the one stuck with the meanest and loudest rooster.” Shakes his head back and forth and he gives a soft laugh. Lance gets out of bed and stretches his 6’ 5” toned tan body.

Letting it all stretch out, he’s not a fan of wearing anything to bed. He puts on some clothes and gets ready for the long day that lays ahead.

Lance lives on a 25 foot acre ranch that sits beautifully covered with trees and an amazing view of the Mountains. As he waits for his coffee to brew, he checks his schedule for the day. Lance owns a breeding company. Breeds nothing but the finest horses! He has a crew that handles everything but he loves to stay involved. Horses have been his passion since he was a youngster.

He pours himself a cup of joe, heads outside and takes a seat on his bench he made out of the trees in his yard. Soaking in the gorgeous morning until he hears footsteps creeping in the distance. Lance sits his coffee down and heads inside to grab his rifle. He wasn’t expecting company and his crew won’t be in for another hour. Locked and loaded he heads towards the ominous noises. [Sound of a gun being cocked] Lance stops suddenly as he can feel the barrel touching the back of his head.

He can’t help but laugh that anyone can be this foolish to point a gun to him and not pull the trigger immediately. "Are ya gonna use that or we gonna deal with this like men?”, he says fearlessly. [Sounds of chirping and horses naying]

Nothing, Lance had enough of this foolish game and swiftly moved to his left confusing the poor unfortunate soul. Takes his rifle and now is aiming it at the stranger. “Start talking, I’m in a generous mood this morning. And you piqued my curiosity. Nobody has ever pointed a gun to my head and has lived to see another day.”

The man standing in front of Lance becomes timid. Not sure if this was the way to come about this situation. Starting to have regrets. Still dark, Lance can’t see the face of this man standing in front of him with his hat pulled so far down all you see is lip. “You've been sleeping with my wife”, he exclaims! The man's voice, Lance recognizes it and lowers his rifle a bit and steps forward. “Dan?”

One year prior - Beautiful afternoon for a ride. The sun was playing nice and the wind was mellow. Lance and Ivy head out to his favorite spot on his ranch. This creek that he doesn’t tell many about. It’s a place he likes to go to sit with his thoughts.

As he gets there he is surprised by a guest he wasn’t expecting. This mystery woman becomes startled by the sounds of Ivy’s footsteps. “Oh my, I’m sorry I wasn’t expecting anyone”, she says nervously in her deep Alabama accent, as she stares up and sees this handsome cowboy. She becomes flushed and tries to hide her face. Then mutters, “I was just admiring and sitting with my thoughts. I can leave, I didn’t mean to trespass. I was really heading to see the owner of this breeding company I heard about all over town. I really wanted to see him about a job, but I needed some more time to think what to say. I heard he’s a big jackass!”

Lance gives her a cheeky smile and calmly responds back, “Oh, really well you came to the right spot. This happens to be my favorite spot to come and sit with my thoughts as well lil’ lady.” He tilts his hat and extends his arm out and gestures a handshake.

“Nice to meet you Ms. I’m Lance. The jackass.” Embarrassed and worried that she might have blown her only shot and first impression. She extends her hand out and shakes his hand. Nerve reckoned she says, “My apologies I [stuttering] didn’t, I.” She heads to her horse and hops up, “I’m sorry for taking up your time, I’ll show myself off.” As she turns to head off Lance says, “Where are you going Ms'', pausing for a name.

“You can call me Abigail”, she replies. “Well how do you do Abigail, now what’s this about a job you were saying? I don’t recall putting up any ads. I already have a full crew, but please- tell me anyway.” He gazes into her eyes astonished by her beauty. How the sun bounces off her long strawberry-red hair. Her body sits so beautifully on her horse. Every inch of her is perfection in his eyes.

Abigail starts explaining, “I understand you're not looking but I felt if I explained my passion for horses. How I had spent my whole life caring for them growing up. Uh, I really had this whole speech I rehearsed and now I can’t remember a word. I’m sorry, maybe this was a mistake. I should go.” Lance gets off his horse and ties Ivy on a nearby tree. He heads to a log and gestures to Abigail to sit next to him. “Come sit, please don’t go. You're doing just fine, all you need to do is breathe and relax. The words will come to you.”

Abigail gets off her horse and ties him back up. Heads towards the log and sits down next to Lance. “For the record I don’t think you're a jackass, you have a calmness in your eyes that is quite refreshing”, she says. Lance takes his cowboy hat off and sits it on his lap. Looks into Abigail's eyes and says, “Your eyes are so green, breathtaking, yet so sad. Please Abigail tell me, are you sad?”

“You're a forward man aren’t you? And I barely know you to be getting into a conversation like that”, changing the subject she continues. “She sure is a beauty, she’s an Arabian am I right? My guys’ an Andalusian, his name is Rocket.” Lance becomes impressed by his unexpected guest. “So Ms. Abigail knows her horses, you keep getting better and better”, he says intrigued. They suddenly are interrupted by Lance’s cell phone ringing.

“I’m sorry about this, but I gotta take it. It will be just one minute.” He gets up and walks to find some privacy. After he finishes up with his call he heads back. “I’m sorry lil’ lady but something at the ranch needs my attention. If you don’t mind, I'd love to finish this conversation over some steaks and a tour around my breeding lab”, he says with hope. He pulls out a business card from his wranglers and hands it to Abigail. “I won’t take no for an answer either, you can tell me more about how I need you on my team.” He gives off a smooth wink and waits for her to grab his card.

Abigail stands speechless as she grabs his cards and just nods. “Great, see you at six.” He tilts his hat and gets back up on Ivy and rides off. Even as he rides away you’d be crazy not to stare and let your imagination flow wild. Abigail shakes her thoughts away and goes back to gazing into the creek. She tells Rocket, “That is the most charming cowboy I’ve ever met. Well beside papa, papa sure was the sweetest man alive.” Then gets back on Rocket and heads home.

Six came around and Lance was starting to become nervous. Nothing ever has him on edge, but there is just something about Abigail that has him flustered and in his feelings. Something special and he can’t wait to see her soon. In the meanwhile he keeps himself busy and prepares the steaks and grill. Pulls a beer out the fridge as a truck pulls into the driveway.

Like a schoolboy he heads to open the door. “Hey you must be Lance the owner of this marvelous ranch that my Abby can’t stop talking about.” Lance’s face becomes blank with confusion.' Your ' - Abby he thinks to himself. Abigail steps in as she notices Lance’s confusion. “Hello again Lance, this is my husband Dan.” Dan pulls out his arm to shake Lances’. Husband, what the hell- he thinks to himself. Lance stares down Dan while shaking his hand. He doesn’t get a pleasant vibe off of him.

“Welcome , where’s my manners?” Lance says. He then shows them in and gives them a short tour while heading to the backyard where he has his grill waiting to be touched.

“Would either of you care for a beer, I have whiskey if you're not a beer drinker.” They both agree to a nice cold beer while they find their way to the outside table and take a seat. It became silent while everyone was just looking around sipping on their beer. Extremely uncomfortable and awkward. Finally Lance broke the ice, “So how long have you two been married. I don’t recall you mentioning a husband earlier.”

Abigail chokes a little on her beer and responds,“We've been married for three long years, and I apologize I was here for a job. I didn’t know I had to get into my personal life.” Dan looks confused and chimes in, “I wasn’t aware you two knew each other so well.”

“We don’t”, they both said at the same time. “What I meant by that was , I found your wife sitting at my creek while I was on a ride with my favorite gal. I went to see what she was doing and she told me about this job she was coming to see me for. It’s nothing really.” Dan smiles at Lance then looks at Abigail. You could feel the tension rise. “Before I take you guys on that tour, how about I grill up these steaks.” Lance could feel the tension between Dan and Abigail and wanted to lighten the mood. You couldn’t tell by first glance at him but his mama raised him to be a generous, compassionate, hardworking man.

There is more to Lance than what meets the eyes. As they finish up their steaks Lance gets up and asks them if they are done and if they would like anything else. They all seemed satisfied by his grilling skills. “Who’s ready to witness a baby Morgan coming into this world?” They start to head to the lab. Lance walking in front leading the way, he couldn’t help to overhear the whispers coming from behind.

“Abby, is there something you want to tell me?” “What are you talking about Dan?” “I mean the looks you two have been giving each other since the moment we got here. The real reason you want this job! You better not be fucking Mr. tall and handsome over here or else.”

“Or else what Dan huh, you're going to hit me.” Dan stops Abigail by grabbing her arm. “Look, that only happened once and I told you I was sorry. I thought you weren’t going to bring it up anymore.” Abigail becomes annoyed, “Wow really, you think so little of me. If I recalled it was you that had done the fucking. Little prissy waitress rings a bell. So if I were you I'd stop while you can.” Lance now understands the sadness in Abigail's eyes. He can’t hear another word, already wanting to give Dan a lesson on how to treat a woman. But not wanting to let Abigail know he was eavesdropping, he speaks up. “We are almost there just up ahead. We have the best, most expensive laboratory in Blue Ridge.”

They get to the building and just in time for some excitement. “We're ready for you Mr. Chase”, says the Vet. “Mr. Chase [laughs a little] you have two first names, Lance Chase”, says Dan. “Shh be nice”, says Abigail! “It’s fine Abigail, I hear that more than you think.” He grabs some protective gear and hands it to Abigail. She takes it and then realizes what he might ask her to do.

“Would you do us the honor and assist with this birth Ms. Abigail, pardon me Mrs. You did say you wanted a job. What a better way to show me your impeccable skills but upfront and in person.” Abigail suddenly became enthusiastic and ready for this. She knew she had this job in the bag. What Lance doesn’t know is her dad owned a ranch not as big as his but they had a couple horses and she was always around observing and assisting.

After the birth of the Morgan and wellness check. Lance became impressed with how well she handled herself and how much she knew. “So what position did you want? I already have a Vet but you could always be an assistant, unless there is something specific you had in mind.” She knew she had to be realistic and start anywhere and work her way up. "Assistant sounds lovely”, she graciously answers. “Wonderful, I’ll have my team work up the paperwork and we will call you when it’s ready to sign and then you can start immediately after. Does that sound fine to you?” Her cheeks become red and her palms start to sweat. Not really sure why but could possibly be the beer kicking in. Or the fact that she will be seeing more of this charming cowboy who she can’t help to feel an attraction towards. Knowing it is wrong but not able to control these intrusive thoughts.

“That sounds perfect”, she says. Dan just stared in the back disgusted. Not with what was going on between his wife and Lance. He was too occupied with the blood and everything else that just happened. Dan is not an animal person, barely even a people person. He only came to keep an eye on his wife. He could have cared less if Mr. tall and handsome was a Mrs. Then he would have stayed home.

Abigail pokes Dan in the stomach, “Did you hear that? I got the job!” Dan rolls his eyes then says with annoyance, “Splendid, can we now get out of here?” Abigail and Lance sneak a peak at one another. Both give off a glare of exasperation. They head back to the house and then to Dan’s truck. “Hear from you soon”, says Abigail as she waves to Lance. “And by the way thank you for dinner and the job! I had a wonderful time.” She gets into the truck, Lance nods his head as he tilts his hat and they drive off.

Lance heads inside and then to the shower. Turns it on and as the bathroom fills with steam he strips naked. Emerges his body into the hot steamy water. Letting the water drip down his face as he looks up and has one hand leaning on the shower wall. With the other hand he wipes the water off his face. Looks down and starts talking to himself, “She’s married, I didn’t see that one coming. That Abigail sure is the perfect woman in every sense though. Her husbands' the jackass. Not me.”

Thinking of Abigail and how he made a job up just so he can see her daily. Have a reason to talk to her and get to know her without any interruptions from Dan. He knows it’s wrong to be feeling the way he feels about her, but he can’t help himself. This cowboy has met his match.

He fell in love with her from the moment he laid his baby blue eyes on her. If being her boss and friend is the only way he can be in her life. Well he will take it. He found his thoughts shifting, starting to imagine how it would feel to have Abigail wrapped in his arms right now. How her luscious lips tasted, how all of her tasted. His hand started to head down south and while jacking off imagined being inside Abigail. Caressing her breast, kissing her neck. After he was finished with his shower he went straight to bed.

Tomorrow couldn’t come any faster, he thought. Cacka-doo-doo-doo! There was Carl being Carl. Lance this time not complaining of losing any beauty sleep. Opens his eyes, stares into the dark for a few seconds. Gathering himself before hoping out of bed and getting ready for the day.

This morning sounds like a good one to prepare breakfast on his own. Usually he has his housekeeper Tracy do the cooking when he is short in time. Not this morning! Today he wants to spend some time in the kitchen before he gives Abigail a call to come in and sign the documents.

“What sounds delicious and something Abigail couldn’t say no to?” He thinks back to when he was a child. Waking up each Sunday to the birds chirping and the aroma of mamas’ cinnamon apple crisp muffins swooping in his room.

“That’s it, nobody can resist mamas’ muffins!” He looks for his mothers recipe tin and gets to baking. He has plenty of time to spare while he waits to hear from his assistant about the made up job documents. It was a beautiful morning so far. The air is as crisp as the muffins, the cows mooing, the chickens clucking, the horses naying, and of course the pigs oinking. Nothing but pleasantry spread throughout the ranch. The muffins are just about done. Lance is siping on his cup of joe when he hears his phone go off. It’s a text from his assistant Pauly, “Good morning boss, I have the paperwork you’ve requested. All ready for Ms. Abigail to fill and sign. I’m on my way to drop them off.”

Lance gets up, takes the muffins out the oven and with contentment says, “Finally, now this journey of friends in higher places can begin.” Later that morning Abigail comes ready to work. Dressed to the nine, cowboy boots, hat and all. Leaving Lance speechless and wanting her even more. He keeps his composer, he is a professional after all. No woman ever had him act otherwise. That is why he’s managed to stay single for years. Not that many haven’t tried to catch his attention.

He’s a catch thats for sure. Everywhere he goes there has to be some bimbo drooling and stepping over herself. He believes in love at first sight. Being hopelessly in love. He is a hopeless romantic type of guy. Not much impresses him and it takes a lot to convince him when someone is worth his while. He’s not cocky or conceited. He was just brought up to have self-respect. His parents were a true inspiration when it came to love and not settling. Life is too short to be stuck with someone who doesn’t bring the best out of you.

Lance invites Abigail in and offers her some muffins and has a spread laid out. “There is coffee and your choice of creamer. If you don’t want coffee I have a selection of tea or orange juice if you prefer. Whatever it is, just let me know and I can make it happen. I want you to feel comfortable here, I treat all my employees like family. You won’t be treated any differently, I respect you and I do hope you come to see me as a friend and someone you can trust and respect as well.”

Abigail is amazed and grabs a muffin. The first bite was orgasmic, her eyes rolled back, her mouth waters. “Wow, these are amazing! Tell your chef these are to die for.” She takes another bite and continues to scarf it down.

“The chef said thank you”, he says and gives her a wink. “You can bake, damn what can’t you do Mr.Chase”, she says impressed. They finished with breakfast and the paperwork part of the day. He takes her to where she will be assisting and leaves her to get comfortable and trained in. The day turned to weeks, the weeks turned to three months. They had spent so much time together. Enjoying one another's company and friendship. Abigail was starting to fall in love.

She kept her feelings to herself knowing nothing could come of this. She was a married woman and she had morals. Yet there was this magnetic pull she couldn’t deny. It wouldn't let her let go no matter how hard she tried it kept pulling in more and more. In the meanwhile this whole time Lance was 10 steps ahead of her. Already head over heels in love with Abigail. Waiting for the perfect moment to make her his.

He would be the friend she needed. The shoulder she would come to when she would get into an argument with Dan. When Dan would make her feel less of a woman there was Lance to pick up the pieces. By this time there wasn’t anything Lance wouldn’t do for Abigail.

Three months from the day they met he heads out for his daily inspection. He rides all over his ranch making sure everything is tidy, nothing needs repairing. No animals injured or lost. Then out of the corner of his eyes lies Abigail laying out under a huge oak tree. Peaceful as can be all into the book she is reading. She spots Lance from the distance and waves. He waves back and heads her way.

Ties good ole’ Ivy up and takes a seat next to Abigail. “Well good evening pretty lady, whatcha reading?” He moves the book slightly just to get a peak of the title. “It’s called ‘The Rave’.” Interrupted, Lance finishes. “By Edgar Allan Poe. A classic.” “Oh, so you have heard of it?” She says surprised. “Deep into that darkness peering, longing I stood there”,[ Abigail joins in] “ wondering, fearing, doubting, dreaming dreams no mortal ever dared to dream before.” She puts the book down, they gaze into each other's eyes for a second. Lance brushes his finger tips in between her hair and scoots closer as he brings her in for a kiss. She stops him, her breathing starts to pick up as she feels that chemistry flow throughout her body.

Lance waits patiently for her to make her move, he doesn’t want her to feel pressured. She closes her eyes and then brings him back in for another passionate kiss. He swoops her up and sits him on his lap to straddle him. The kissing starts to intensify as clothes begin to come off in layers. The sparks go off between them; this felt like nothing they ever encountered before. Lance caresses her breasts and runs his tongue down from her neck to a tit. She moans with pleasure as she brushes his hair with her fingers and pulls him closer.

He lays her gently down on her blanket she has spread out earlier. He hovers over her body going in for a kiss and dazing into her eyes before he makes a path with his kisses down her body. He gets down further and puts his mouth between her legs, she squeezes gently. His tongue feels like heaven, she becomes so wet. He licks it all up and there she goes, moaning “ Uh, uh, uh, I’m cumming!” Lance comes up for air and bends her over; he shoves it in and goes at it watching her ass jiggle. He stops and sits down and she climbs on top.

They go at it for what seems to be hours. They finish and lay there for a moment in each other's arms before they get dressed. Lance turns to his side and brushes the hair Abigail had covering her eyes to the side. Ever so sweetly he then says, “Abigail I apologize if you felt pressured into making love. But not even you can deny the chemistry we have going on here. I’ve been feeling it for a while now and I’ve fallen in love with you. I know you're married and I just can’t help the way I feel. I never felt this way before. You're the first woman I ever fell in love with. Abigail, what I am trying to say is I love you with all my heart and I will wait for you as long as it takes.”

Abigail begins to tear up and then sits up. “I love you too Lance Chase, I've been in love with you since the moment I laid my eyes on those beautiful baby blue eyes of yours. You didn’t pressure me into anything. I was waiting for this day to happen. So I can finally put my thoughts to rest on what I must do. Dan and I were no good together. We had our problems way before we said our vows. I could have ended it, no I should have but I really didn’t want to disappoint anyone and hurt him. I know now I will just end up hurting him anyways. He doesn’t get me like you do. The little time I've known you feels nothing compared to what I have with Dan. I feel I've known you my whole life, I never had this feeling with Dan. Marriage of convenience you can say. Regardless, I’m still married and I have to do what is right.”

Lance begins to look sad, “And what is that pretty lady?” Abigail begins to get dressed as she says, “I need to find a way to let Dan see that this marriage is not emendable.” Until then I feel it’s best we don’t let this happen again, and keep our distance. Just until I figure things out. I will come to work but that’s it.” Lance understands and doesn’t want to say anything to upset Abigail any further.

His heart hurts, he gets dressed and leaves without a word. Abigail falls to the ground and begins to weep. She knows this is what she asked for. She knows nothing can come of this. Even so doesn't make it hurt any less. Having to let go of the man she truly loves to go home to a man she barely knows. A man that has done nothing but hurt her in every way possible.

The day became dark, clouds filled the sky and it began to pour. Like the Gods were mourning for them. From a magical afternoon to a day that felt like a death sentence. Nothing seemed to be able to make things any better. Yet they both found their own ways to cope. Through their work they kept themselves occupied. Work was the only thing that keeps them from running back to each other.

Few months passed by, Lance would watch Abigail from a distance. He’d continue on with his daily tasks. Praying she would just give in and come home already. He could feel her pain vibrate off her body. He could see she was so unhappy and there was nothing he could do about it because Ms Abigail told him to keep his distance. This felt more poignant than a breakup. Yet he doesn’t lose hope that one day she will be his. He made her a promise to wait for her, for however long it takes and he is a man of his word.

It was a crisp evening, the fall leaves began to cover the land. Carl was not his loud-self too busy trying to keep warm. Lance was sitting in front of his fireplace having a bottle of Jack. Another cold, lonely fall passing by. The only person he wanted around him couldn’t be. Hoping she is thinking of him and not falling for Dan’s manipulation and divorces him soon. When a knock comes echoing in.

He heads to open the door and to his surprise there was Abigail in a long trench coat waiting to be let in. She walks in and heads to the fireplace to warm up. Lance takes a look outside before closing the door behind him and joins Abigail. No time to waste apparently as she takes her coat off revealing her cold naked body, wet and ready to go. Before Lance could say a word she puts her finger to his lips and tells him, “Shh, I’ve missed you more than you know. Take me please and don’t let me go!” No need to ask twice he wraps her in his arms and they make sweet love once again.

They doze off on the floor in each others arms. The fire covered them with warmth. They both wake up and Abigail looks at the time [ 12 a.m.] “Oh shit, I gotta go Dan is going to kill me. I’ll just have to say there was an emergency in the lab that needed my assistance.” She speeds off leaving Lance horny and tired. He heads upstairs and back to bed, he will sleep like a baby tonight.

3:30 a.m. Current Day “Dan?” Dan lifts his hat up and looks at Lance's rifle and then says, “Yes it’s me, who else do you think it is. How many wives have you been fucking?” Lance drops his gun and gestures to Dan to put his down as well. He then calmly says, “Put the gun down Dan, let's handle this like men.” For some reason Dan listens and lowers his gun. “I’m in love with your wife Dan, I can’t help how she makes me feel. I didn’t want anyone to get hurt in the process. You are not right for her Dan. You need to let her go. If you love her like you say you do, just give her the divorce already.” Dan's face heats up, he can’t hear anymore.

He raises his gun apace and then [Boom] sounds of the gun echo throughout the ranch. There on the ground lies a breathless Dan. Out from the shadows Abigail comes running. She throws her gun down to the ground. Begins crying, “I shot him, It wasn’t my intention, I just saw him lifting his gun up as I came to warn you that he was on his way to kill you. I just reacted.” In panic she melts into Lance's arms. He holds her tight then whispers, “Don’t worry I will handle it, you're safe my love.”

Short Story
4

About the Creator

Jessica Banda

Finding my purpose in life one story at a time.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    You did a great job building Lance a very handsome and typical cowboy, your descriptive language makes it easy to visualize him. 🤤 This was a beautiful love story. I wasn’t ready for the twist ending where Abigail shot Dan to save Lance! Nicely done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.