Fiction logo

Freedoms Alley

so they called it

By Melissa EavesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Freedoms Alley
Photo by Pawel Janiak on Unsplash

They have made soldiers a out of us. The weary, the peacekeepers, the writers, artists, and thieves. Plates of molten injustice run in rivets down my back.The metal symmetrys and soft muted colors have blurred into one and replaced the fine adjustable lines of variance and democracy. My name is Jonothan.

The gun is heavy in my hands. I can feel the history running through my veins; soft words of power and biblical thoughts, In muted pastels and reality of love, patience, wisdom, and silence blend, as victory unfurls slowly to open the road to peace.

We have lived here in this place , a place where the sky blends with the skyscrapers and there is no clear distinction in the land and sea for several years. What is left of the sea anyway. Without the animals it no longer breathes, it is dead life.

We once lived on an earth that breathed vibrance, millions of unseen lives adding richness and depth to all sights. Now we live here, however. Layers upon layers of sediments beneath and away from what was. I once believed that absolution was all that could restore us to the balance and beauty of yesterday.

More on that later.

As for now my steps echo hollow in the corridors of metal and stone, a place built to substain life beyond the destructive dominance of colder minds. The glass partitions whir in useless whines , detecting motion as I pass. Open, shut, open shut, whir, hiss abrupt.

The barriers of our lives now echo with cold florescence, and stored in vaults and our hearts only can we think in memories large enough to restore the balance of natural lives. The concrete and steel bunkers are the only viable structures left of our world.

I sleep on a metal slab. It is cold, with only love and hope, I survive. The earth casts shadows in the floors of my mind. Toying with me I think, on the vast richness of her life. I dream.

By Svetlana Gumerova on Unsplash

We have a plan.

One in which technological advancements are in with more primitive earth driven concepts.

By bantersnaps on Unsplash

The gun is heavy in my hands. I can feel the history runnung through my veins: soft words and power, and biblical thoughts. In muted pastels and reality of love, patience, wisdom, and silence blend, as victory unfurls slowly to open the road to peace.

By Pawel Janiak on Unsplash

By Sean Foley on Unsplash

By Jyrki Nieminen on Unsplash

By Pawel Janiak on Unsplash

My name is Jonathan. His name is Edward. Her name is Dawn. His name is David, and his Goliath is a system that has kept peace at the expense of freedom.

This place sucks, it is dark and dank. Wealth is unevenly distributed, not by skills and capacities, but by an obsolete method in which the brutish, the boorish, the bullies are somehow the elitists in top rankings over such as I, myself, and others more or less like me, others who share some of the same values as me.

By Hennie Stander on Unsplash

And the odd thing about this place is that its supposed to be for safety. Safe for whom? Is safety relative only to thugs and dictators and their appetites, the earth wasn't safe from it.If we don't stand now to save her, we will lose her, our home, our base, our point of life and freedom. I for one, and all the named and besides are not staying here, in this bland, uncomfortable, monopolized, elaborate construction of greeds' surveying eyes.

We are going out. We are going to fight to preserve, to keep, to protect, to rebuild. This is our world. We do not wish to live in one fragmented by choices of those with lesser status, degree, our character than ourselves. We believe in diversity and inclusivity. We believe in love and tolerance, in freedom of personal choices and in freedom from violence, sexual or otherwise. We do not believe in closeted and corseted abuses. We believe in choices,personal dignities, and freedom from the dominance of hatred. In peace, in private freedoms and a tolerant society where human dignity is regarded and prosperity is what you make it.

Therefore, we are going out, and we are not stopping until we have it.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Melissa Eaves

I am an freelance writer. I love the written word and the poetry of my soul is expressed by mastery of it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.