Fiction logo

Freedom To Just Be

Cold, Wet and Soft

By RubyPublished 5 months ago 1 min read

As I stood outside with my face to the sky, I would feel the cold, wet soft snow falling on my face. I wanted to keep my eyes open, but the wetness was too much. I watched the trees in the distance and as I sucked in the beauty, I saw a red robin under the bush. How could you stand to be out in this cold weather, how does your body adjust from the sunshine to the wintry white softness of the snow. I watch as others gathered under the bush and then walk through the snow and I wondered how freeing it must be to cast your cares away and do what you liked doing. They are free to walking, run and fly away. There is no rhyme or reason for their flight just as there is no rhyme or reason as to where the snow lands, why it can land on a bush and some flakes fall through and some hang on for dear life. The snow doesn't realize that its life will be cut short as soon as the sun comes out and the temperature changes, it will disappear as fast as it appeared. When I come out later that day, the snow is melting, the bush is almost green again, but now there is no sign of the birds. They have their freedom, the snow is melting along with the cold, soft and wetness that had taken over my face and my body temperature, goodbye.

Fan Fiction

About the Creator

Ruby

African American female author.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RWritten by Ruby

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.