Fiction logo

Footprints

coming home

By Kerry KehoePublished 4 months ago Updated 16 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
23

This story was created for the “Snow Microfiction Challenge” in January 2024. Submissions were required to be exactly 250 words and take place in a snowy setting.

The truck spins out a tenth of the way up the hill. “We’ll have to walk the rest of the way,” Dad says.

I am glad I’ve worn warm boots but regret not wearing thicker socks. As we trudge up the long hill, I try to place my feet strategically in the large footprints Dad leaves in front of me. The wind whips at my face and blows the powdery snow in sweeping puffs to the west. I pull my hat down as far as it will go, but my ears still sting. Looking behind me I can see our tracks filling in from the drifts.

A few feet ahead of me Dad looks like a strong giant wearing the new coveralls my mother got him for Christmas- a snow shovel slung over his shoulder, forging our path forward. He points out coyote tracks to the left. Ahead the old metal windmill grinds and screeches.

From the top of the hill is a sweeping view of the white dusted mountain, the brilliant white fields, and a glimmer of the river sparkling in the afternoon sun. Even in my misery it is impossible not to revel in the beauty of it. I haven’t stepped outdoors in days, the snow a perfect excuse to indulge in feeling sorry for myself for my recent circumstances. But looking now at our progress up the hill I feel the melancholy lift, just a little. This will all melt soon, I think. It always melts eventually.

Microfiction
23

About the Creator

Kerry Kehoe

badly navigated excursions into form and light >>>

self-indulgent attempts to write personal essays on the subject of being human + whatever else pours out

all photos are my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Penny Fuller3 months ago

    I have definitely walked in other footsteps in deep snow and your description took me back to some of my own winter days. You do a nice job of hinting at so much more, too. Lovely.

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story! I love how much texture and heart there is in this story. Your description of the footprints filling in as they walk, the father's firm, supportive presence, and the realization that "everything will melt" weave together to make a story with many layers of emotion. This was such an awesome microfiction and so beautifully done. 💗

  • congrats on your top story

  • Natalie Wilkinson4 months ago

    A nice feeling, i can picture all this very well.

  • Caroline Craven4 months ago

    Love this - especially your last line. You've packed so much emotion into so few words. Excellent.

  • Charity Molowa 4 months ago

    Ok, but it's too brief though

  • Melissa Ingoldsby4 months ago

    You really elevated and exemplified a brief scene into something powerful and beautiful

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    I loved the story and the evocation of winter.

  • Shazee Tahir4 months ago

    AMAZING WORK PLEASE CHECK MY PROFILE

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Very beautiful, with lovely descriptive writing. Congratulations

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.