Fiction logo

Flower in the stone

A short story about a sword in a stone and one tired hiker.

By Mathias VHPublished 3 years ago 17 min read

“Figures,” I mumbled to myself as I used my hand to block the sunlight breaking through the cracks of leaves from the trees.

My friends had invited me to a hike a couple weeks ago, wanting to get out of the house due to being stuck because of quarantine. I, of course, agreed because I too was getting tired of being inside and wanted a change of pace. So I agreed to go hiking with them despite not being the most skilled or fit for it and I realized this when I pulled into the parking lot and saw my friends with backpacks almost half their size and big, round hats that made them look like Mary Poppins.

I on the other hand had packed a small bag that I found that had some business logo on it and smelled a bit like cat pee. I thought it would be a nice hiking trip that wouldn’t be too difficult but that wasn’t what my friend Journey had in mind. Journey was like the leader of our friend group. He always had the fun ideas, he always pushed us to be social, he was always outgoing, and he was always doing more than he needed to. I should’ve assumed when Journey meant going hiking, he didn’t mean a small hike but literally a day-long hike and camping overnight.

After a couple of hours into the hike my feet were starting to hurt me. I didn’t bring hiking boots but instead brought my tennis shoes thinking it would be a small hike.

“Ugh. My shoes are killing me,” I complained.

“Should’ve brought your hiking boots, Jack,” my friend, Julian, snickered.

“Ya, ya. I just wish one of you told me it would be some big hike,” I expressed.

“Well we assumed you would have brought the right gear anyway. I mean you know Journey isn’t gonna settle for some boring hike that old grandmas take, right?” He said.

Although Julian was in front of me and couldn’t see my face, I was sure he could feel the annoyed and frustrated stare I gave him. I was glad at least I brought my big 35 ounce water bottle. If living in California taught me anything, it was that lots of water is important.

I popped open the lid of my water bottle and tossed it back like some drunken sailor. As I was drinking my water I wasn’t paying attention to my path and hit a tree root that had been exposed. Before I could stop or catch myself I fell to the ground with a loud thud, seemingly breaking the silence.

“Aagh! Oh my GOD! Ow!” I screamed in pain, clutching my knee as it had hit a tree root.

“Hey, Jack, you ok, man?” Journey asked. I looked up to see him making his way towards me with a concerned face. “Hey, guys let’s take a break.”

“I- augh- I’m ok. Just fell and hit my knee on a tree root.” I sat up, grabbing what remained of my water bottle which had spilled out half of its containments. Dirt had been mixed with the water so a ring of mud formed around the bottle cap and the lip of the bottle.

Journey stretched out his hand and helped me up. I pushed down on the leg that had been hurt and felt a little pain from right below my knee. The words of my father echoed through my head, something he would say whenever I was hurt when I used to play little league baseball. “Just walk it off. Walk it off,” I mumbled to myself and hopped around.

“There you go. If you need anything just let me know,” Journey said.

“Hey, Jack. Need me to kiss your knee for you since you’re being such a big baby?” My friend, Horatio, joked.

“Ha, ha, very funny. Do you know what else is funny? How ‘bout my knee breaking your nose again like that time your sister hit your nose with her softball,” I replied jokingly.

“Low blow, man. Low blow.” Horatio replied.

After the break I decided to head back as I clearly wasn’t having a good time and also wasn’t prepared for the hike. According to Journey, since I didn’t have any water and no extra hiking equipment it was probably best I went back before we got closer to our destination. I agreed and waved them off.

“You sure you know the way back? I can head back with you if you want,” Journey said.

“No, no I’m fine. The path is pretty easy and I don’t want to make it harder on you than I already have,” I replied.

“Alright. Let us know when you get back. Though we might not have service. Also if you get lost it’s on you,” he joked.

“Ha, ha, yeah, true. Anyway thanks for inviting me. Maybe next time I can pack better and be better prepared,” I said.

Journey nodded and turned away.

“Bye, Jack,” my other friends all said.

I waved goodbye and turned around.

After an hour I was lost.

“I could’ve sworn it was this way. I’m pretty sure the path was near that tree. Gah!” I exclaimed.

Somehow I had made the wrong turn and I couldn’t find the path back so I was lost. This was the worst hiking trip I had ever done. Why out of all people did I have to deal with this?

I sighed and found a nice rock to sit on. “Ugh. Now nothing is looking familiar.”

Although being lost I couldn’t help but admire the beauty. Before we were going fast so that we could get to our destination so I wasn’t able to take in the beauty. But sitting here and looking around, it was quite remarkable.

The trees were tall and the leaves blocked the sun’s rays, but every now and then sunlight would break through. There were meadows that you would see on the sides every now and then that usually had bees and bugs buzzing around the yellow, red, and white flowers. Sometimes deer or squirrels would stand in the meadow, seeming to be looking for something. After sitting down for a bit I began to hear a stream. Interested, I got up and began to walk towards the sound. The sound of the running water began to get louder and louder until I found a small pond with a stream mixing in with it. The pond was an oval shape with weeds and flowers along the sides. It was probably about 3 or 4 feet deep but what was the weirdest part was at the edge of the pond, in front of me was a rock the size of a tire with a strong-looking sword somehow stuck in it.

“What the-” I said. Etched on the rock were a bunch of golden symbols that seemed to say something- though whatever it said I couldn’t understand. As I got closer though the symbols on the rock began to grow and glow and shift around. After a few seconds it began to spell, ‘Only the worthy shall claim the Sword of the Flowers’.

“Interesting…” I mumbled. I grasped the hilt of the blade. It felt powerful and strong. The leather grip almost seemed to fit perfectly in the palm of my hand. As I touched it the sound of the chirping birds and pecking from the woodpeckers seemed to fade away.

It almost felt like I was worthy of the sword, but why would I be worthy? What have I ever done that would prove that I’m worthy? I have done some questionable things but I have tried to help the unfortunate? As a music teacher I have helped kids learn, that’s somewhat worthy, but is it enough?

Thoughts raced through my head as I inspected the sword more. There was only really one way to figure it out. If I’m not worthy then it just won’t move.

I took in a deep breath and put both of my hands around the hilt. As I began to pull my mind began to think more, for a second I feared maybe if I was unworthy I would melt into a pile of goo or get struck by lightning; but whatever happened was not what I feared.

The sword slipped out as smooth as butter. Golden lights appeared from the crevice the sword was stuck in. I was amazed. Golden symbols from the rock seemed to grow in size and glow.

“Worthy are you, protect this forest for it is in grave danger…” I read. Even more thoughts raced in my mind but before I could focus on all of them, my attention turned towards the sword.

The blade was a shiny yellowish-gold that seemed to reflect the sunlight. Black and green vine-like patterns wrapped all around the blade and stopped at the rose-looking crossguard. I lifted the blade up high above my head. Its balance felt perfect, almost like it was perfectly made for me. I studied the blade more. It was a good length, about the size of a tall person’s full arm.

“The worthy shall harness the full power of Gladius ad Flores, and defeat the Emperor of Fire, Ignisar. Interesting. What does that mean?” I retorted. I looked up at the sky. “So, uh, god of this plant sword, what do I do?” I waved the sword around.

“I swear, I’m probably gonna lose this somehow and let some emperor burn a forest or something. I barely even know how to use a sword. Why am I worthy? How am I worthy?” I claimed, almost as if I were complaining to someone. I sat down and just studied the sword. Its edges were insanely sharp, it probably could’ve cut air in half.

After a couple of minutes I began to enjoy the peace of the birds and the sound of the swaying trees again until thundering steps began to shake my body.

BOOM! BOOM!

At first I thought it was an earthquake seeing as I was in California, but it sounded more like steps being taken, almost like Godzilla’s steps.

I shuddered at the idea of fighting Godzilla.

The footsteps began to get louder and louder by the second. Whatever it was, it clearly was coming for me. Maybe it was the owner of the sword coming to take it back. I got back up to my feet. This was supposed to be just a normal hiking trip.

Before the booming steps appeared, little small humans showed up climbing on the branches to the very left of me and the pond.

Now when I say little humans I mean it. They were about a foot and a half tall, almost looking like small monkeys. They had pointy ears and pointy teeth. Its hands were small and only had 3 fingers, which usually held some small weapon like a knife or a machete(well, to me a knife, to them probably a sword). But what was probably the craziest part was instead of a hat or hair, their head was on fire. Bright orange and red flames danced on top of their hair, which seemed to grow the happier they were. More and more began to show up. After a couple of minutes about 3 dozen showed up, all lined up and ready to attack.

“I-, uh, hi? I assume this is about the sword? Look, I didn’t think I’d be worthy, I just was interested and it seemed to choose me. If you want it then you can have it- or wait?” Before I could decide what to do the little humans began to attack me. About 5 little humans attacked me, all jumping towards me like some happy dog that’s been away from its owner for months.

Now I wished I could tell you that I let my instincts kick in and quickly dealt with the little humans but then I’d be lying, and I’m not quite sure that is worthy.

I hunched into a ball and covered my face with the blade, almost using it as a shield. I probably could’ve rolled out of the way, maybe even just sidestep them, but instead I cowered like a baby. After a few seconds I expected to be stabbed but instead when I opened my eyes, a small barrier of vines, plants, and dirt protected me. The little humans fell to the ground in anger and got ready to attack again.

I stood up again and this time got ready for the next attack.

“Look, whatever ancient deity, plant god, or dream I’m experiencing can you please help me more,” I shouted.

The little humans screeched and launched at me again. This time though I was slightly less scared. I swung the sword like a baseball bat and used the flat, dull side to send the little humans flying.

“Home run,” I joked.

The little humans went flying into a couple of trees and slumped over. Luckily they were knocked unconscious.

“Look, I’m not the killing type. I don’t like to hurt people. The only time I’ve gotten into a serious fight was when my younger brother stole the last Oreos. But-bu I’ve got a sword. A deadly one too, so DON’T attack me, o-or or I’ll use the sharp side.” I shouted at the little creatures.

A little human sneered at me. “Us fire elves aren’t afraid of a lost and scared music teacher. We will burn you to the ground and all of the forest along with you!” Their voices were shrill appropriately.

“Fire elves? I’ve been calling you little humans. That would explain your whole… Look.” I said. A fire elf got closer to me but before it could lunge I kicked it, sending it flying over the fire elves into the forest.

5 more fire elves lunged at me but this time I was even more prepared. I stepped to the left and watched as they went sailing over my shoulder into the ground. “One… Two… Three… Four… Aaand five!” I said cheerfully as I kicked each fire elf like a soccer ball into the forest. I smirked and turned once again towards the fire elves.

They all chanted and the rest lunged at me.

“Oh sho-” But before I could finish my words my instincts kicked in. Almost out of nowhere a boulder the size of a car came crashing down from the sky. I quickly bolted and rolled away from the landing zone, but before some of the fire elves realized they got squished like bugs. I seethed.

I turned my attention towards the direction of the boulder. Coming from the right of the pond stood a 9 foot mean-looking monster. It had dark leathery skin, giant tusks coming from its mouth, its nose the size of a double-barrel shotgun. Like the fire elves, its head had burning flames on top. Not only was the monster tall but it was incredibly big and bulky. I stared at it in horror. What was this thing?

“Finally food! Come here!” It shouted with its deep trembling voice and cracked its knuckles. A few seconds later two more of its kind appeared at each shoulder. The one on the right carried a broken wooden telephone pole like a baseball bat, while the other on the left was without a weapon too.

The monster on the left began to speak. “You are no match for us Magma Ogres. Give up now and we will enjoy your bones and flesh with a party!”

The squeaky fire elves chirped in. “You ogres always get the failed heroes! Back off and let us take him!”

The ogres chuckled together. “Enough fighting. Emperor Ignisar wants him back alive sadly.” The ogres and fire elves seemed to both quiet down and focus their attention on me.

Should I run or fight?

Before I could decide, they decided for me. The swift fire elves launched at me, all screaming. I quickly sidestepped but one elf must’ve anticipated it because it moved in my direction as well. Luckily I moved to the side enough only for it to claw a bit at my forearms which still hurt. Before I could clasp my arm in pain another volley of fire elves launched at me. I swung the slashed the sword through the air but missed them. Unexpectedly the root of a tree sprung out and whipped the elves, almost as if it was following the motions of my swing.

Interesting, I thought. I rolled to the left. The ogres seemed to be ready to do something. They were leaning back with their cheeks puffed up and their mouths closed up. It almost looked like they were getting ready to throw up.

More elves lunged at me, this time a couple threw sharp sticks at me like spears in midair. Most of them went whizzing past my ear but one grazed my shoulder a bit. I swung the sword, this time hitting the elves and sending them flying towards the ogres. They hit the ogre’s stomachs and chests and fell down to the ground.

Whatever the ogres were doing they were soon to be done because their heads leaned back a bit farther and their stomachs began to glow red like fire. After a few seconds their heads flew forward and hot magma exploded out of their mouths towards me. I only had a few seconds to react. Ideas raced through my mind but nothing seemed to work. I couldn’t roll or sidestep away because it’d probably splashed and burned me. Trying to go under was a death sentence. There was only one thing, but it seemed stupid.

I thrusted the sword upwards and my body. Somehow my theory was correct. A bunch of dirt, plant and tree roots, and other plant material formed a cube beneath and launched me into the air. Although I avoided the majority of the hot magma, some bits of it splashed onto my skin causing me to cry out in pain.

Because I was too focused on my pain I fell to the floor, sliding a bit. I caressed the third-degree burn marks on my arms and got back up. The pain was intense for a bit and I would probably have some intense burning.

The elves snickered and more continued to attack and launch at me. The ogres began to sprint towards me, avoiding the pond as best as they could.

Out of all the elements, things, objects I controlled and it was a sword that controlled plant materials. Quickly I jumped into the pond. The water was up to my chest since it was kinda deep. The monsters stared at me. None of them would dare attack me since I was in the water. A fire elf threw a spear at me but I caught it in midair and snapped it in half.

“Think, Jack. Think.” I mumbled to myself. More fire elves began to throw their weapons at me, one of the magma ogres began to prime up another belch of magma, no donut would be the last of me. Another ogre made its way towards the boulder that was thrown earlier. I only had a few more seconds until they somehow got me.

My mind raced with all the possible ideas, thoughts, questions, and scenarios. If only I had water. That’s when I remembered an interaction I had with Jenny Harlow, the floral teacher at the school I worked at. She was a bit annoying because she was about 86 years old, still teaching, and constantly belittling us younger teachers on why we weren’t married. But in all the bad conversations I’ve had with her there was one that I knew was useful. I remember her telling me about how much water plants and flowers store. If I could somehow extract the water from plants and use it then maybe…

It was worth a shot.

The ogre picking up the rock lifted it up above its head and got ready to throw it. I saw my chance and threw my sword at the ogre lifting the rock. I threw it expecting it to fly through the air like a spear but instead it wobbled and barely slapped the ogre on the chest.

“Heh! Puny human! And puny sword!”

Damnit.

I scooped my hands and then threw the water into the air.

The ogre holding the boulder stepped back in fear, its eyes widening. As it stepped back though it stepped on some loose rock and it fell to the ground along with the boulder. The boulder came crashing down on top of it and it let out a loud groan and a very loud, what I assume but hope not, fart. It instantly smelt like rotten cheese and eggs.

“A- OH my god! The smell!” I yelled. I’d rather be melted by magma than smell that again.

I quickly grabbed my sword. My clothes were dripping wet but that didn't matter as the ogre that was getting ready to belch fire was about to release. It turned towards me as did a bunch of fire elves. The fire elves launched at me and a bunch of magma did as well. Launching into the air again wouldn’t be as successful as last time. I kneeled down and imagined a ball of dirt, tree roots, and flowers surrounding me. The sound of liquid hitting an object and fire elves attacking me were muffled by the ball of dirt, roots, and plants protecting me.

I was lucky, but not lucky enough. Bits of magma drizzled on top of me burning a couple of holes through my shirt and creating steam from my soaked clothes. I screamed in pain as each drop touched my skin.

After a few seconds the magma stopped and it was almost quiet until the sound of bellowing ogres. Quickly I unfurled as did the ball. A united front of all the elves and ogres charged at me. Now was my chance.

I thrusted my sword into the air like some knight cheering on their soldiers. “Surround them!” I shouted.

The monsters, although still charging, looked at me in confusion. At first I didn’t think it would happen as the first volley of fire elves nearly clawed my Adam’s apple out but then suddenly thick tree roots, dirt, plants, and such lashed out and surrounded each monster, creating a thick ball of plant materials. The ogres made a loud thud as they ran unexpectedly into the ball. Tiny muffled screams came from a large ball.

“Now let go of your water for me, help me conquer these evil, destructive, horrible monsters!” I shouted confidently. The balls of plant materials began to shrink around the monsters as they cried out in pain. Hopefully what was happening was that the water from the plants was being drained onto them, putting out their fires. After a few minutes the balls of plant material began to crumble. The tree roots fell to the floor, surely from lack of water. “Thank you,” I whispered to the Earth.

The monsters slowly turned to ash, dissipating as the winds carried the ash, hopefully to give nutrients to the other plants.

I fell down to the ground out of exhaustion, breathing deeply. The adrenaline had worn off. I dropped my sword onto the ground which seemed to melt into the ground, the sword turning into a beautiful black and gold rose.

“What a hike.”

Short Story

About the Creator

Mathias VH

an 19 year old aspiring author who has sooo many stories to tell

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mathias VHWritten by Mathias VH

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.