Fiction logo

Flight to Your Past

Listen up, folks. This is your captain speaking. It's the year 3000, and we've got the tech to take you back in time.

By NobodyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
9

"Attention all passengers, the Fasten Seat Belt sign has been switched on by the Captain. Please store your carry-on baggage either under the seat in front of you or in the overhead compartment. Kindly take your seat and securely fasten your seat belt, ensuring your seat back and tray table are in the upright position."

"Listen up, folks. This is your captain speaking.

It's the year 3000, and we've got the tech to take you back in time. But before you go jumping for joy, there are some rules you need to know. First off, you can't interact with people from the past. I know, I know - it's tempting. But trust me, the consequences are dire.

This leads me to rule number two: if you break rule number one, you can forget about coming back to the present. Your life as you know it will be over. So buckle up and listen carefully, because we're about to embark on a journey that will change the course of history - but only if we follow the rules."

"Can you believe it? We're really going back in time!" exclaimed the passenger sitting next to me.

"Are you excited to go back to the '90s?"

My heart sank at the thought. "No," I replied, trying to hide the sadness in my voice. "I'm just going home." With a heavy sigh, I closed my eyes, trying to prepare myself for the flood of memories that awaited me.

Before the flight, my mom asked me if I had packed all my clothes. She was sitting in a wheelchair, looking out the window, wondering what it felt like to breathe outside. "Yes, Mom, I did. You're asking me for the 4th time," I replied with a hint of anger.

"I won't be gone for too long, Mom. Don't worry about me. I'm just going to see my father and come back in no time," I reassured her.

"Yes, I know, honey. It's just that my heart doesn't want you to go," she replied, her voice shaking a little.

"Don't worry. I'll be back soon," I said as I kissed her forehead and closed the door behind me. As I walked away, the AI switched off, and the hologram of my mom faded into the dark. I couldn't help but feel a pang of sadness in my heart.

The only thing on my mind now was to see my mother again. It's what I had been working towards for the past 30 years, day and night, on the machine that would take me back to where I belonged, so I could finally hug my mother once more.

"Ladies and gentlemen, welcome to New Jersey Airport in the year 1958. The local time is 5:30 am and the temperature is 73.4° Fahrenheit.

For your safety and comfort, we kindly ask you to remain seated with your seat belt fastened until the Captain turns off the Fasten Seat Belt sign. This will indicate that we have safely arrived at the gate and it is now permissible for you to move about the cabin.

On behalf of the entire crew, I would like to express our sincere gratitude for choosing to fly with us today. We hope you had a pleasant flight and we look forward to welcoming you on board again in the near future.

Have a wonderful stay!"

"Finally, I'm home," I thought as I stepped out of the airport and hailed a taxi.

"Hi, Taxi," I shouted.

"Welcome, sir. Where do you want to go?" asked the driver.

"To this address, please," I replied, handing him a piece of paper with the address of my childhood home.

The morning air was chilly, and I couldn't help but feel a mix of emotions. I was excited to see my mom, but also nervous about what the next few hours would bring. As we drove through the familiar streets, memories flooded back, and I could feel my heart racing with anticipation. But the thought of finally being reunited with my mom kept me going.

The taxi came to a stop.

"We have arrived, sir," said the driver.

"Here, keep the change," I said as I was leaving the taxi.

The old building in front of me had a window on both front sides, and the light was still on in the drawing room. I guess I'm not too late yet.

I rang the doorbell, and a familiar voice came from inside, "Who's there?"

"I'm home," I said, my emotions overwhelming me.

As she was going to open the door, everything stopped for a second. At that moment, I could feel that something was not right.

A high-pitched sound came from inside, and after a second, everything was blank.

FantasySci FiMysteryfamilyAdventure
9

About the Creator

Nobody

Help fund my friend’s eye treatment to bring colour back into his world. Even $1 can make a significant difference.

https://ko-fi.com/dreamer9

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • real Jema4 months ago

    Nice artlcle. Let's subscribe to each other

  • MARIE ODEMS 12 months ago

    AMAZING I LOVE IT!!! CONGRATULATIONS ON THE WIN!!! KEEP THEM COMING 💜💜💜 BEAUTIFUL WORK !!!

  • C.R. Hughes12 months ago

    The pilot did warn them about interacting with people in the past lol. Great story!

  • Millard Walton12 months ago

    I really really want to know what happened behind that for lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.