Fiction logo

Fleeing In The Night

In desperation, she runs like her life depends on it.

By Gabriella DawsonPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read

Have I gone far enough? This thought rang through my head constantly as I ran, ran, and ran. My throat stung and my chest was rising rapidly; struggling for air, but I had to keep going. My bare feet were sore, bleeding a little from rocks and twigs, but I just had to keep going. I had no time to watch where I placed my feet. What if it’s not far enough? I was terrified to think of someone finding me and taking me back.

After what felt like an eternity of fear and pain, I could see the moon’s light getting brighter ahead. I stumbled out of the many trees, and into wide-open fields of farmland. I sat down trying to catch my breath. How much farther is enough? I knew I was tired, and if I was going to stop for the night I needed a good place to hide. Scanning around, there were many hills and fields of crops. Down the hills and fields was a big, shabby barn. Probably, very old and not often used. Beyond that was a little, white house with other barns closer behind it. It was the only house in sight. I thought, If I can sneak into the old barn undetected, at least for the night I don’t think I’ll be found there.

With a couple more deep breaths, I got up and dashed towards the barn as fast as I could. Finally, I was up close now and the old barn was even bigger than I thought. There should be plenty of places to hide in there! Creeping along the wall, I tip-toed around to the other side of the barn where I suspected the doors were. What I found was two doors, tall and wide, with one already cracked open. The wind maybe? It’s not a very windy night, but if it’s an old barn no one cares about...Anyway, I can’t stay out in front of the house exposed.

Using both hands, I pulled hard to open the heavy door farther. No matter how I tried to be quiet, the door creaked loud. Quickly, I stepped in and shut the door. I prayed and prayed no one heard me. Suddenly, there was some rustling behind me. My heart was pounding as I turned around. There was a flickering light moving up in the loft ahead. It was moving and now making its way down the long ladder! Someone was here; I had to think of something fast! Glancing around, my only hope was to get behind a pile of hay in front of me towards the right. As the light was soon near the bottom, I clumsily dashed for that pile of hay. I didn’t think about how much noise I made until it was too late.

Clump, clump. The soft noise of footsteps slowly got louder and louder, closer and closer. They must’ve seen or heard me when I moved. This is it for me. I’ve been found. Tears formed in my eyes as I huddled behind the haystack.

“Who’s there?!” Shouted the voice of someone who sounded masculine, but not quite a man yet. I looked up as he moved his lantern over me. “El-Eleanor Woodson?” His eyes widened as he bent down in front of me. He was tall, with short, brown hair and dark eyes.

“Joshua?” Instantly, I recognized him as the schoolboy from memories ago. The boy who made my school life a nightmare. Always, tugging at my braids, playing pranks, and making fun of me. But that was years ago, and I haven’t seen him since. Surely, he wouldn’t be that way now? He still looks the same and yet so different.

“Why are you here? Are you alright?” His eyebrows furrowed with concern as his eyes swept across my body covered in some cuts and many bruises.

“You need help, I’ll go get Pa.”

“No!” As he tried to stand up, I lunged for his arm to pull him back down. “Please! Don’t let anyone know I’m here. I just can’t go back.”

“You’re a runaway?!” He gasped.

“Yes, and no matter what I can’t go back.”

“Eleanor, you can’t stay here, even if I don’t snitch on you. First, you need help. Second, you’ll be found by morning no doubt. Lastly, I’m leaving tomorrow for my brother’s for a good while to stay.”

“I feel fine, take me with you! Just until we go a ways away, I can part from you and join some family that way” I shouted a bit too loud.

“You have family that way? You don’t even know where my brother lives, nice try.”

“Oh, please!” I begged. “Going back must never be an option for me.”

He stared at me intently, like he was trying to read my mind. After a long time he finally spoke up, “Alright, I’ll help tend to some of your cuts. You can sleep out here and tomorrow you can come with me. I believe you have a good reason for running and that you must be in some trouble to do so.”

“Oh! Thank you! How will you hide me in your travels?”

“Just leave that to me; I’ll think of something.” He waved his hand, motioning for me not to worry. “One more thing though, I expect after this to hear your story. I want the full truth. Deal?”

“Yes.” Reluctantly, I agreed. I didn’t intend to tell him the truth, of course, but if I didn’t say yes would he help me? For some reason, he decided to trust me. But what if he was lying? How could I know?

I shivered as it began to feel a lot colder to me. I glanced down at my thin, worn nightgown. This was not going to keep me very warm in the night. I brought my knees up to my chest and hugged them close.

“You must be very cold.” He said, as he set down his lantern and took off his coat. “Here.” He wrapped his coat around me like a blanket.

“T-Thank y-you.”

“I’ll be right back, alright?”

Startled, I quickly spoke, “You said-”

“I won’t tell. I’m going to get some blankets and things to help. Alright?”

“Alright,” I whispered.

He stood up, grabbed his lantern, and out of the barn he went. I sat there helpless; praying and hoping he would keep to his word and that he wouldn’t tell.

*******

Hungry for more?! Read Part 2 here:

Short Story

About the Creator

Gabriella Dawson

Hi there👋

I'm Ella and I write historical fiction and stories that’ll leave you reflecting on deeper meanings.

Occasionally, I write about my many crafts.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Gabriella DawsonWritten by Gabriella Dawson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.