Fiction logo

First Time in Ireland

How my trip went

By Deji AkomolafePublished 20 days ago 2 min read
Like
First Time in Ireland
Photo by Andrei Carina on Unsplash

As the plane descended, my excitement soared. I'd dreamed of visiting Ireland for years, and now, finally, I was about to set foot on its emerald shores for the first time. Stepping off the aircraft, a gust of cool, crisp air greeted me, carrying the faint scent of peat and salt from the nearby sea.

Dublin, with its blend of historic charm and modern vibrancy, was my first stop. Wandering through cobbled streets, I marveled at the colorful Georgian doors and bustling pubs alive with traditional music. Every corner seemed to hold a story, from the haunting tales of Kilmainham Gaol to the jovial banter of locals in Temple Bar.

Venturing beyond the capital, I found myself enchanted by the rugged beauty of the countryside. The Cliffs of Moher rose majestically from the Atlantic, their sheer cliffs plunging into the crashing waves below. Standing there, buffeted by the wind, I felt a sense of awe at nature's raw power.

In County Kerry, I embarked on a journey along the famed Ring of Kerry, where every bend in the road revealed breathtaking vistas of rolling hills and shimmering lakes. Amidst the mist-shrouded mountains of Connemara, I discovered hidden valleys and tranquil lakes reflecting the ever-changing Irish sky.

But it wasn't just the landscapes that captivated me; it was the warmth of the people. Whether sharing stories over a pint of Guinness in a cozy pub or receiving directions from a friendly local, I felt welcomed wherever I went.

As my time in Ireland drew to a close, I realized that my first trip had been so much more than just sightseeing. It had been an immersion into a culture rich in history, music, and hospitality. And though I was leaving, Ireland would forever hold a piece of my heart, beckoning me back to its shores time and time again.

MicrofictionShort StoryAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Deji Akomolafe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.