Fiction logo

Finding Solace

When the game goes awry.

By J. LangerPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Finding Solace
Photo by Mark Olsen on Unsplash

"Marco!" I called and though I could hear him replying "Polo" clearly I couldn't see him. My eyes were covered with a thick scarf acting as a blindfold. Trying to follow his voice I turn my head and walk a few steps to my left "Marco!" I call again. "Polo!" came the reply from further away and in the opposite direction. I tried to retrace my steps but no longer knew which direction I had heard him from. Left? Right? I spun around, confused.

We had been playing this game for some time and I was getting tired. Normally, I was excited for games like this in the woods. I enjoyed finding my mate, getting rewarded for tracking him well. But this time I was getting grumpy. I was cold and hungry. It was almost dark, and I had long ago lost confidence in my ability to find him. I knew he was here. Of course he was; he would never simply leave me, blindfolded, in the woods. Alone.

But I was getting anxious and could no longer sense him or my direction. All I knew is that it was getting dark. I lost focus on the senses I normally used to find him, my hearing and keen sense of smell, my concentration narrowed until all I was conscious of was the fact that I was disoriented and couldn't see. My breathing sped up and my steps became rushed. I just wanted the game to end. Why couldn't I sense him? I was normally so good at this game!

I tripped over a tree root and hit the ground hard, scraping my palms in the process. Lowering my head I simply gave up. It was too hard. I'd never find him. I was lost, and blind, and alone in the woods. I began to panic. How would I get home? What if I was trapped outside overnight? Why did I ever agree to this stupid game? Silently, tears streamed from my eyes; soaking into the blindfold. It never occurred to me just to take it off; my mate had put it on me so I would keep it in place until he removed it.

My senses prickled as the hair at the base of my neck stood on end. Feeling a heaviness in the air around, me I whisper "Marco" and I hear the answering "Polo" as his hand settles onto my shoulder. I turn my cheek into his palm and he caresses the side of my face before lowering himself to the ground beside me. I sit there sniffling as he removes the blindfold and then he gathers me into his arms. He runs soothing hands over my hair and my back and whispers nonsense into my ear as I cry into his chest.

I don't know why I panicked this day or why I'm feeling so relieved; I just know that warmth and safety are found in his arms. As he rocks and coos to me, peace settles over me once again.

Now that I've regained my calm, I look up at him with chagrin, "I'm sorry I ruined the game", I begin to babble in apology. He brushes the last of the tears away from my cheeks with the back of his hand, he smiles at me and kisses my nose. "Hush now, there's no need for that. Come away little one, let's go home."

I glance back over my shoulder at the scene that, just moments ago, had seemed overwhelming and frightening and then I look up at him again and I realize I'm happy. He is my safety. Where I feel welcome, secure, at peace; he embodies my concept of HOME. I slip my hand into his and together, we walk away.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

J. Langer

Hi! I am Jenn. I enjoy writing romance and erotic short stories. I hope that you enjoy reading them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.