Fiction logo

Feeling on Top of the World

A story of first love

By Nicholas McKennaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Jeremy Bishop from Pexels

Phillip Walker was a rambunctious 5-year old boy who was always getting into trouble. His mother had scolded him for taking eggs from the chicken coop and throwing them all over the place. He liked the way they broke after he threw them. She told him to go play away from the coop but not to go past the hill. She thought that he wasn't fast enough to make it to the top before she caught him but felt took this as a challenge.

When she went back in the house, Phil took off up the hill. His goal wasn't to not get caught but to make it to the tree at the top of the hill. He was always curious what was up there and knew this was his chance to find out. He never looked back after taking off. The thing on his mind was to make it to the top of the hill.

The tree grew bigger and bigger as he approached the top, never hearing his mother's voice. A giant smile appeared on his face, and he fell on his back with his arms out wide. He started giggling to himself while he looked up at the sky. then someone peered around the tree.

“Is someone there?”.

Phil looked up and saw a young girl around his age. He didn't expect someone else to be up here.

“Hi I'm Phil.” the girl got up and walked over to him. I'm Claire.

She put her hand out to help him up. “Do you live up here?” Phil asked. Claire chuckled. “No, I live over there.” She pointed to the other side of the hill. Phil turned and saw another house. He had no idea that someone else was living on the other side of the hill.

“Wow!” Phil looked surprised. He was more impressed though that he could see her house from on top of the hill.

“I can't believe I can see your house from all the way up here!” Claire turned “I can see your house too.” Phil look back to see his mom walking around the chicken coops. “Wow you can! We must be high up.” Claire looked at Phil. “Yeah you can see everything from up here. By the way what were you throwing earlier? Your mom looked mad at you.” Phil looked down and started scratching the back of his head.

“I didn't know you saw that.” He was embarrassed to say, but he told her anyway. “I took the eggs from the chickens it started throwing them.” Claire looked confused. “Why would you do that?” Phil raised his head. “Because it's cool when they break. They go all over the place, and they make a cool cracking sound.” Claire still looked confused. “I think they make a mess.”

She raised a pear to her mouth and took a bite. Phil look at the pear and at the same time his stomach rumbled. “Does your family grow those?”

“No I come up here and get them from the tree.” Phil looked up and saw tons of them hanging above his head. “Cool, I'm gonna climb up and get one do you want another?” “Sure.”

Phil jumped and latched himself to the tree. Little by little he itched his way up until he was in arms reach of the fruit. As he extended his arm towards it he lost his grip and fell about 4 feet to the ground. His fall shook the tree ever so slightly but enough the cause one of the pairs to fall. Phil laid on the ground staring up the sky, the wind knocked out of him. He turned his head and noticed the pair that fallen.

“Well at least I got it down.” Then he noticed a hand come into frame. Claire picked up the pair. “Thank you!” She said and turned to sit back against the tree. Phil began to get up. “You're welcome.”

He walked over to the tree and sat down next to Claire, the two watching the sun set behind Claire's house. Claire brushed the dirt off the pair and took a bite. Phil saw the juices flow down the side of her mouth.

“You know I got that for me.” Claire extended the pair to Phillip. “We can share. I"ll eat it from the side I've bitten and you can have the other side.” Phil looked a little grossed out by the idea. “Or you can climb back up the pear tree and get your own.” Phil looked at all the pairs dangling above him and then took the one from Claire's hand. “No we can share this one thank you.”

The two ate the pair while enjoying the nice breeze which cooled down what was a hot summer day. Then Phil heard his mom calling his name. He jumped to his feet and saw her shouting in the opposite direction from the hill.

“I have to go my mom's calling me.” Claire smiled. “That's OK. I have to go soon too. My sister will be worried if I don't get back before the sun sets.”

Phil offered Claire his hand it helped her up. “This was fun! Do you come up here a lot?” Phil asked . “ I do, but sometimes I get busy with my chores. I like watching over everything and the colors during the sunset.”

While looking down Phil started kicking at grass. “So do you wanna meet here tomorrow then?” Claire giggled. “OK, that sounds fun. you can make it to the top of the tree next time?”

Phil looked up. “I will. I won't stop trying until I make it to the top of that pear tree!” Phil handed the pair back to Claire and waved. “See you tomorrow!” Claire waved back “till tomorrow!” the two turned and went their separate ways.

After a steps, Phil turned around to see Claire one last time. He was by the way the sunlight formed around her looking like she was glowing. Then he noticed she was looking back at him.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Nicholas McKenna

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.