Fiction logo

Fake Strangers

A chat-based story. Sook-Jo pretends to be a stranger online, to reach out to her ex-husband, Todd.

By Chloe GilholyPublished about a month ago 4 min read
Top Story - July 2024
Fake Strangers
Photo by Daniel Korpai on Unsplash

Polar Sun - Sook-Jo, a Korean celebrity who met Todd on the same game server online and eventually met and fell in love on a reality TV show.

TheBestT - Todd, a British gym junkie who came from a wealthy family. Has not recovered from a messy break-up and painful divorce.

Polar Sun: Thanks for being a good listener.

TheBestT: You're welcome. Please don't pay attention to those Americans who think they know everything because they saw it on their phone. The UK is not the tea-drinking, dog-loving utopia it's made out to be.

Polar Sun: Well, you've been on reality TV and you're British. You know more about any of it than I do.

TheBestT: Americans are full of shit when it comes to other countries than their own. They know nothing but think they know it all.

Polar Sun: I don't think it's fair to say that about all Americans though...

TheBestT: It's true though.

Polar Sun: How have you been? Sounds like you had a pretty rough time fighting with those trolls.

TheBestT: I'm good. How about you?

Polar Sun: Getting there. Had a lot going on.

TheBestT: What's up?

Polar Sun: I went to my best friend's house in Kyoto. Her girlfriend came onto me. My friend blamed me. They had a massive fight and I think it's my fault. Scary weekend, but I'm back home. But...the cats they had really cheered me up.

TheBestT: Bloody Hell! You are not to blame. It is not your fault. You are not a homewrecker.

Polar Sun: Thank you. I've had a rough time lately. Hooked up with a famous singer. He's really into me, but I wasn't ready for a relationship. I just split up from my husband, but he persisted.

TheBestT: That's a major red flag!

Polar Sun: He tries coming over all the time. He never pays me back when he promised me. He gifts me stuff to make me forget about all the bad stuff. But there are times when he's caring and says he wants to protect me.

TheBestT: By wanting to protect he means he wants to control you.

Polar Sun: When he wants something, he wants it then and now! One time he left me on my staircase crying cause I had to cancel some plans because he refused to leave my apartment because he was tired. He hates it when I talk to other guys whilst he's always chatting up people. I've seen the pictures and messages on his phone. It's so messed up. He acts like we are in a relationship. Anyway sorry for the long rant. I'm gonna treat myself to a bath and wine.

TheBestT: Both guys sound awful, especially the singer. The only solution is to cut all contact of him. Anyway self-care is good.

Polar Sun: Now the singer says he's not being abusive.

TheBestT: All men say that. It's best to assume that all men are trash.

Polar Sun: I feel like I'm being used for money and sex...

TheBestT: Stop having sex with the guys and stop giving them money. Simple.

Polar Sun: But he gives me so much affection.

TheBestT: When a guy says he loves you, he just wants to fuck you. You are allowing this situation to fester by letting him and other guys do this stuff to you. The only way for it stop if you run away from it all. Me and my girlfriend are childfree as well.

Polar Sun: Girlfriend? Really? How long have you been together?

TheBestT: 10 years. We've lived together for seven years.

Polar Sun: That's so sweet. Please share some pictures if you get the chance.

TheBestT: Here you go. This is me and my girlfriend, Kitty.

By Anthony Tran on Unsplash

Polar Sun: Cute. Sorry about the rants by the way.

TheBestT: It's okay. Now enough about your problems. I want to know more about you. Like what's your name and what do you do?

Polar Sun: It's Jo. And yours?

TheBestT: Todd. Where are you from?

Polar Sun: South Korea.

TheBestT: Where abouts in South Korea? I've been there many times.

Polar Sun: I was a barista at a Starbucks chain in Busan. My brother worked in a record shop. I have my own chain of bubble tea stores across 12 countries in Asia and a few in Europe and one in Dubai. What about your work?

TheBestT: I don't really work to be honest. I guess you could say I am an old man who is retired at the gym. I play retro and new games too. :P

Polar Sun: Oh! I love gaming too.

TheBestT: What's your favourite game of all time?

Polar Sun: I love Choco Donuts Express, most RPG games and cutesy games like Pokemon and Animal Crossing.

TheBestT: Sounds a lot like someone I know.

Polar Sun: I was wondering when you were going to figure it out, Todd.

TheBestT: I trolled you, Sook-Jo. I have no girlfriend. I'm still single. I knew it was you. It was obvious. After the divorce, I've had no desire to date. Had a hook-up last week, but that was it.

Polar Sun: I just wanted one last conversation with you.

TheBestT: Troll! :P I've been catfished before, I know better not to fall for that again.

Polar Sun: And you know...I was crying when I saw that picture. It made me think wow, you were cheating on me the whole time.

TheBestT: Sorry if I made you cry. I wanted to get back at you for bypassing the blocks. Also, you reaching out to my dad was a breach of my privacy.

Polar Sun: You know I wasn't doing it to be spiteful.

TheBestT: And see, I'm still alive. Never tried to kill myself.

Polar Sun: I'm happy you are still alive.

TheBestT: CUT GONG-GI OFF! Goodbye, you perfect little troll. :P

Psychologicalfamily

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Sarah Parker22 days ago

    Nice work!

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Congrats on your top story.

  • Reality Talkerabout a month ago

    I am not a strange, when can you be friends with me on instagram?😂

  • Cheryl E Prestonabout a month ago

    Great insight keep up teh good work.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Fabulous and loved it!!!♥♥♥

Chloe GilholyWritten by Chloe Gilholy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.