Fiction logo

Faith

What Is in A Rose?

By Steffany PopePublished 12 months ago 3 min read
4
Faith
Photo by Liam Nguyen on Unsplash

She has given all she could, lost all she had. She was not ready to give up. If there is anything she can say she has an ounce left of; that would be her faith. Orphaned by the death of both parents, Jennifer, was a victim of childhood rape and forced prostitution. Despite the trauma, Jennifer managed to remember her faith that her parents so strongly instilled in her before their sudden death.

Jennifer grew out of the system and prospered. She went on to build a remarkably successful nonprofit organization that helps provide orphaned children with safe homes and spaces. She made sure that the culture of the organization was to put the children first. She was praised by thousands. This never changed how humble and selfless Jennifer was.

One night leaving her office, Jennifer was brutally attacked, raped, and left for dead. Hurt and completely shattered, Jennifer did not have anywhere to go. The only place she could think of was church. As she limps up the stairs to the most beautiful cathedral, she is met with a handful of very heavy, yet beautifully hand carved, solid wood doors. With just enough strength to pull one door open, she falls to the church floor and crawls to the altar.

Jennifer looks up to a hanging statue of Jesus on the cross and with what little voice she can manage Jennifer asks "Why? What did I do? What did my parents do? Please, Lord I beg of you to have mercy on me. Please give me the strength to go on, to understand. I will do as you say. Just please Jesus, prove to me that I am not following a faith that is not real. Please I beg of thee, show me!"

What felt like a lifetime, minutes passed. Jennifer was ready to give up. She sat up, straightened up her clothes and her body; then exhaled in defeat. Suddenly, a rose falls from the altar and lands at her side. Jennifer looks around. She sees no one. Turning back to position, she happens to catch a glimpse of Jesus' face. A tear running down. Jennifer runs to the statue and begs him not to cry. "Lord, I am not worthy of your tears, please do not cry for me. I only ask that you give me the strength to continue your work." Jennifer says with so much ambition and intent.

The tear that was running down Jesus' face fell into the white rose that Jennifer was holding. Miraculously, the rose turned into a red rose. But this was not just any red rose. Jennifer took a closer look. The rose looked as though there were still white petals inside. Again, not just any red rose. Jennifer looks closer; the white petals were round communal offerings, known in the church as the "Body of Christ."

Jennifer took this as a sign to spread the word of faith through her story. Not the story that has already been written, but her story. This was a way to allow the younger generations that have similar stories to understand that staying in faith will help make you stronger. That it will guide you through the pain and defeat adversity at any level.

Philippians 4:13 ~ I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

If you liked this Story, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Steffany Pope on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create, just like everybody else. I also happen to say what most are thinking, but are hesitant on saying out loud...

Check it out...

Mystery
4

About the Creator

Steffany Pope

Dealing with mental health problems has been hard. I've lived my whole life believing that no one understood me. I realized, my mind is not for others to understand; but for my edification of self awareness. So, I write to understand me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)11 months ago

    Profound story ❤️❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.