Fiction logo

Fading Footsteps

Time and Water

By S. A. CrawfordPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
4
Image: Oleksandr Pidvalnyi via Pexels

Four footsteps in soft mud, two small, two large. One forward, one behind, winding ever forward with lessons along the way. Growing until they match, like reflections. When the pace changes and they switch, I will not leave you behind. You taught me to look forward, hold up my chin, be careful, and be kind. Though the lessons were taught, counted in mismatched footsteps, I find, as yours fall back, that I cannot forgive time.

family
4

About the Creator

S. A. Crawford

Writer, reader, life-long student - being brave and finally taking the plunge by publishing some articles and fiction pieces.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel M.J12 months ago

    This is gorgeous. This line gave me chills "When the pace change and they switch, I will not leave you behind."

  • JBaz12 months ago

    Wow this will hit any parent or strike a memory in all of us.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.