Fiction logo

Facing Myself

A microfiction story about the contemplative nature of us when we face the end

By Mohammed DarasiPublished about a year ago 1 min read

I waited here for a while. My turn nearing with every step I take. My heart was pounding the whole time, and my palms sweaty.

I thought all of these feelings didn’t exist here. How can they?

I thought about my life. It wasn’t a good life, true, but I did the best I could. Temptations were everywhere, and I had to make a living somehow.

I know I won’t get a second chance, so I accept my fate, but it would be nice. Maybe I would’ve done better the second time.

I am now at the pearly gates.

******

This is a microfiction version of a story I had also told in a poem. You can check out the poem below:

Short StoryMysteryMicrofiction

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    We are all just doing the best we can! ❤️. I like this version!!

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    This was a cool idea to make your poem into a microfiction. Both are great.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Hmmm, they both work great, and I can't choose between them. I guess that was what you're after though, right? Well done, Mohammed!

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.