Fiction logo

After-work Routine

A story for the Microfiction challenge

By Mohammed DarasiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
After-work Routine
Photo by Mollie Sivaram on Unsplash

Everyday I come across this crossroads. A decision that can make or break my night.

I come home exhausted. I heat up my dinner and sit back to watch television.

There is this moment, right as I sit down, when I start contemplating my entire day.

"What should I do? Is it worth it?"

I just relaxed my whole body on the couch, and my food is ready in front of me. Just as I'm about to ruin the experience, I hear my salvation; footsteps.

"Babe, can you switch off the lights while you're there, please? Thanks"

Ahhhhhhhh

Short StoryHumor

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Holy shit, I love this. I did not see where it was going. I thought, “Damn, this is me. Everyday I say I will go home and write, but I just get high on weed and eat expensive cheese and stream shows I find a deeper meaning to while high. This is inspiring me to get up and do something!” But then that twist… he thinks it’s a sign from a higher power, some kind of confirmation of his potential. Something to motivate him further. But it’s just another mundane aspect of life. So amazing how you distilled a universal experience for creative people into a few words.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Haha!! It’s amazing how hard it is to get up and ruin that total comfort moment!! Thank goodness for the footsteps 😁

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Nice one!

  • Oh this was fantastic!

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.