Fiction logo

Centre of Life (in a 100 words)

The sun is often taken for granted

By Mohammed DarasiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3

I long to see that yellow star. One that was hidden to us behind the thick veil of smog. I want to feel it’s radiance upon my skin.

I hear from the older guys that artificial ones never were the same, so I strived and struggled to migrate just to feel it.

As I step onto the moon’s surface, I think about all that I went through; skimping and saving for this. About Jarvis.

I feel my back heating and tingling. I turn around slowly and there it is.

Radiating brilliance. White though, unlike the drawings.

The Centre of life

---

This is adapted from a short story i previously wrote (not as short as this one of course) called "Centre of Life"

I got this idea from reading Dana Stewart and her beautiful story below

Short StorySci FiFantasyAdventure
3

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Thank you for the shout out! I wanted to read the full piece before I read this micro one. (Left a comment over there, too.) I really love the micro challenge. You did a good job on this one. Jarvis is a great character.

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Lovely work Mohammed. Taking for granted the only source of all energy in the star system is so like us humans...

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Awesome short, Mohammed! Very descript and WARM! :) Looking forward to reading the longer version. I'm going to have to look back over my stories and see if I can draw out a little one! Such a great idea! Also, super cool of you to link Dana's story as well!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.