Fiction logo

Everything You've Always Wanted

Sometimes fate just needs a little push

By Alexis FentonPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Simone is exhausted. A 9-5 (more like 8-7) employee at a publishing company in New York City. She always thought when she moved here it didn’t matter what terrible job she took, what crappy apartment she could afford, the city would bring her all the life she needed.

She has no pets, minimal friends and is single beyond belief. The closest thing she gets to a relationship is her boss calling her for work updates every hour. Though beautifully stoic, Simone doesn’t quite ooze confidence or the ability to catch a man.

She walks through the park where she sees people throwing pennies in the fountain. She could make a wish right now. A wish that her life would change. That she would be loved and appreciated. Her mom rings as she’s her grabbing loose change.

“Why don’t you let me call Gladys down the street and see if her son is still single?” Simone’s mother presses as she rolls her eyes.

“Mom, I think I’m good for now. Truly. I don’t even have the time, you know everything at work and all.” She says hoping to encourage her mother to get off her back.

“It’s just you’ve been out there 5 years now and you haven’t met anyone. I worry about you is all. I want to make sure you’re living life not just letting it fly by.” Her mother harps on.

“You are beautiful and smart and creative and I just want the world and YOU to see yourself the way I do.”

“You and me both.” She says under her breathe. “Hey, look Mom, I’ve got to go for now. I’ll give you a call tomorrow. I love you.”

They say their farewells and Simone drops a penny in the fountain. She heads to her favorite French bakery on the lower east side, Ladurée. The hum of the jazz music in the background and the smell of croissants in the air, this is easily her unequivocally her happy place.

She stops in and orders an Americano and a piece of chocolate cake. She grabs a seat outside the shop and begins to day dream. Day dream of a life where she spends her days at cafe’s with someone special and not just by herself. Even though she agrees she watches too many romantic comedies, she believes that it’s still possible live a real life fairytale.

As she daydreams of coffee dates and couples vacations, she is whisked back into reality when her phone rings with a restricted number.

Cautiously, she picks up. “Yes?”

Static. Like white noise but with a faint sound of her name behind it.

“Hello? Who is this?”

Static. “Everything you’ve always wanted….” Static. End call.

Confused, Simone packs up her stuff and heads home. She daydreams on her walk back to her studio apartment in Bowery. The city streets are lined with people getting off work and meeting up. She just can’t stand being cooped up tonight. Her mother told her to live her life, so that’s what she’s going to do.

She walks into the first bar that has a seemingly live crowd. The bar is modern and dark but has a feeling of sophistication. The clientele here are a bit pretentious. It’s a place where all the women are cut throat and all the men just want to sleep with you. She orders a drink from the bartender as she scans the room. Even though she finds these people to be a bit self-centered, she can’t help but want to be like them. To walk through life being the one to call the shots not dodging them.

Simone nurses her gin and tonic as she imagines being one of them.

Just like that, a man with beautiful wavy brown hair and green eyes approaches her. He has the picture perfect jawline, full lips and teeth to match.

“Hi, I’m James. How are you?” Before she could reply, he pulls out his seat and orders a drink. Everything around her is moving in slow motion. She feels her heart beat in her ears and she can’t seem to form her mouth to respond.

“Do you mind if I buy you a drink?” He lets out a nervous laugh. Simone is still in awe of the beauty that is the person sitting 2 inches away from her. She realizes that she hasn’t responded and doesn’t know what is coming out of her mouth before it’s already there, “Uh, of course you can.”

Her mind is racing.

“So my friend over there told me you were cute but I have to say I don’t think that does you justice.”

“And what would you say does?” As she rolls her shoulders back exhibiting a more confident posture.

“You’re intriguing. And beautiful. I’m sorry I don’t mean to come off creepy.” She laughs. There is nothing creepy about him. He is nothing but charming.

They get lost in conversation and are interrupted by the bartender informing them it’s last call. Simone knows she doesn’t want the night to end.

It’s clear in James’ body language that he feels the same. “Can I see you again?”

“Absolutely” she says with the confidence that shocks even her. As they head out of the bar, they exchange numbers and James hails her a cab. He gives her a kiss on the cheek making her legs feel like jelly. “I’ll call you”

She gets into the cab not realizing that she’s more tipsy than she thought and smiles as the city lights blur in the windows.

Her alarm goes off at 6AM and she gets ready for work still daydreaming of the wonderful night before. She doesn’t know what she’ll do if he calls but for right now she is in heaven. She throws on a black dress and nice pumps and heads to the subway.

As she arrives at her office, she notices people staring. Smiling. Admiring. Her. She looks at her reflection in the elevator mirror to make sure she doesn’t have anything stuck to her. Nothing.

She gets off the elevator and is greeted by her manager who tells her how great of a job she is doing. She was even asked to hangout this weekend by one of her coworkers.

“What is going on with everyone?”

“What do you mean? I just wanted to let you know how much we appreciate you.”

Plagued with confusion she makes her way to her cubicle. She gets a text from James, “I would love to see you again.”

Wait…

“My boss appreciates me, James would love to see me? What is going on?” In that moment she remembers her wish. To be loved and appreciated.

She smiles from ear to ear but there’s something in her gut making her uneasy.

Her and James decide to get dinner at a nice restaurant in the financial district. She looks at him in awe. He is a real life daydream. Over the course of a month, they see each other every day and she takes no time for granted.

They are making dinner tonight at his place. She opens a bottle of wine and downs a full glass. “James, what is it that made you come up to me in the bar?” She says as her anxiety starts to build.

“It’s weird actually. I feel like it’s some twist of fate. I went to the park earlier and made a wish in the fountain. I wanted to find someone to love and who loves me back. I went out to the bar with my friend Matt who pushing me to meet someone new. At first I said, I’m not ready but then I got this strange call. It’s almost like it was telling me to go talk to you.”

Her eyes grow with his response.

“It’s crazy I know. But I’m glad I did.”

Tears well up in her throat.

“I’m glad you did too.”

Love
Like

About the Creator

Alexis Fenton

26. Los Angeles transplant from VA. Finding my way back to writing after years of ignoring my greatest passion. You can either catch me singing/songwriting, rollerskating or curled up with a good thriller novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.