Fiction logo

Escape to Love

A Nurse's Miracle Story

By Liviu RomanPublished about a year ago 12 min read
3
Escape to Love
Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

The Diagn

"I can't believe it," Alex said, his voice shaking as he looked at the doctor. "How could this happen to me? I'm young, healthy, exercise, and eat well."

The doctor sighed and placed a hand on Alex's shoulder. "I understand how difficult this is for you, but unfortunately, these things happen. The cancer is quite advanced, and we'll need to start treatment immediately."

"What kind of treatment?" Alex asked, his mind racing with fear and confusion.

"Chemotherapy and surgery will be necessary," the doctor explained. "We'll also need to monitor you closely and see how your body responds to the treatment."

Alex felt like the wind had been knocked out of him. He couldn't imagine going through chemotherapy and surgery, and the thought of being constantly monitored, poked, and prodded was overwhelming. He looked up at the doctor, tears welling up in his eyes. "Is there any hope? Any chance I can beat this?"

The doctor hesitated for a moment before replying. "I wish I could give you a more positive answer, but the truth is, the prognosis is not good. We'll do everything we can to make you comfortable and prolong your life, but I can't make any promises."

Alex felt his heart sink. He couldn't accept that this was it, that his life would be cut short. He looked around the hospital room, feeling trapped and hopeless. That's when he saw her. Dana, his nurse, was standing in the corner of the room with a look of concern and empathy. Alex felt a tiny spark of hope. Maybe she could help him.

"Dana," Alex said, reaching out to her. "Can you stay with me? I don't want to be alone right now."

Dana nodded, her eyes softening. "Of course, Alex. I'll be here for you every step of the way."

And with those words, Alex knew that he wasn't alone. He had Dana, and they would face whatever came their way together.

The Treatment

"Okay, Alex," Dana said as she helped him into the hospital bed. "I know this will be tough, but we're going to get through it together."

Alex nodded, trying to steady his breathing. He had never been one to be scared of needles or hospitals, but the thought of chemotherapy made him feel ill.

"It's going to be okay," Dana reassured him, noticing the fear in his eyes. "I'll be here with you the entire time."

The nurse came in with the chemotherapy drugs and began to set them up. Alex watched as the clear liquid dripped from the bag and into the tube connected to his veins. He felt a cold sweat break out on his forehead.

"It's going to be fine, Alex," Dana said, holding his hand. "You're strong, and we're going to fight this together."

"I don't know if I can do this," Alex said, his voice barely above a whisper.

"You can," Dana said firmly. "You have to. You have to fight for your life. I'll be here with you every step of the way. You're not alone."

Alex took a deep breath and closed his eyes. He squeezed Dana's hand tightly, trying to draw strength from her. He felt the needle prick his skin, and the cold liquid starts to flow through his veins. He felt sick and dizzy, but he tried to focus on Dana's words. He was not alone.

The treatment lasted for hours, and by the end of it, Alex felt weak and exhausted. Dana was by his side, holding his hand and murmuring. The worst part was the isolation, the loneliness of being in a hospital room, and feeling disconnected from the world. But Dana was there, and that made all the difference.

"I don't know how I would have done this without you," Alex said, looking up at her.

"You would have found a way," Dana said. "But I'm glad I could be here to help. You're a fighter, Alex. I believe in you."

Alex smiled weakly, feeling a sense of determination fill him. He would fight this for himself and Dana. He was not going to give up without a fight.

The Healing

"Alex, I have something I want to talk to you about," Dana said as she sat beside his hospital bed.

"What is it?" Alex asked, looking up at her. He had been feeling better since his last round of chemotherapy, but he knew there was still a long road ahead.

"I've been doing some research, and I came across something called reiki," Dana said, holding up a brochure. "It's a holistic healing method that focuses on positive energy and balance. I think it could be beneficial for you."

Alex looked at the brochure skeptically. "I've heard of reiki before, but I'm not sure it's for me. I need something that will directly attack cancer."

"I understand where you're coming from," Dana said. "But reiki is about more than just physical healing. It's about mental and emotional healing too. And that's just as important in the fight against cancer."

Alex hesitated for a moment before nodding. "Okay, I'm willing to give it a try. But I need you to be there with me."

"Of course," Dana said with a smile. "I'll be there every step of the way."

And so, Alex and Dana began their journey into reiki. Alex was surprised by how much he enjoyed it. He found the sessions to be peaceful and calming. He felt a sense of balance and well-being that he hadn't felt in a long time.

"How are you feeling?" Dana asked after one of the sessions.

"I feel better," Alex said with a small smile. "I don't know if it's the reiki or just the placebo effect, but I feel like there's a light at the end of the tunnel."

"That's all that matters," Dana said. "Whatever is helping you feel better, we should keep doing it."

As the weeks went by, Alex's condition began to improve. His cancer was showing signs of shrinking, and he was gaining strength. He felt like he had a renewed sense of hope.

"I don't know if it's the reiki or the chemotherapy, but I feel like I'm getting better," Alex said to Dana one day.

"I don't know either," Dana said with a smile. "But I know you're a fighter, and you're not going to let cancer beat you."

Alex smiled and took Dana's hand. He knew that she was right. He was going to fight this, and he was going to win.

The Escape

"Alex, I've been thinking," Dana said as she sat beside his hospital bed. "I think it's time for you to get out of this hospital room. I think it's time for you to escape."

Alex looked at her with confusion. "Escape? What do you mean?"

"I mean, we should take a trip together," Dana said, her face lighting up with excitement. "Somewhere beautiful and peaceful, where the air is clean, and the scenery is breathtaking. We need to get away from this hospital, the constant beeping of machines and the antiseptic smell. We need to escape where we can heal and rejuvenate."

Alex felt a spark of hope. He had been trapped and suffocated in the hospital room, and the thought of getting away was enticing. "Where did you have in mind?"

"I was thinking about a mountain," Dana said, her eyes shining. "A place where we can hike and breathe in the fresh air. A place where we can reconnect with nature and with ourselves."

Alex thought about it for a moment before nodding. "Okay, let's do it. Let's escape to the mountain."

Dana grinned and started making arrangements. She booked a cabin on the mountain and took care of all the details. Alex was excited but also a little nervous. He had never been on a trip like this before and didn't know what to expect.

"Are you ready?" Dana asked as they set off on the drive to the mountain.

"I think so," Alex said, taking a deep breath. "I'm ready for an adventure."

As they drove, Alex felt his spirits lifting. He felt a sense of freedom and possibility that he hadn't felt in a long time. He looked over at Dana, smiling and singing along to the radio. He knew that he had her to thank for this escape. She had given him hope and a reason to fight.

When they arrived at the cabin, Alex felt a sense of awe. The place was nestled in the mountains, surrounded by trees and wildflowers. The air was crisp and clean, and he could hear the sound of a nearby stream. He felt like he had indeed escaped.

"This is beautiful," Alex said, looking around in wonder.

"I'm glad you like it," Dana said, taking his hand. "This is just the beginning of our escape. We have so much more to explore and discover."

Alex grinned and squeezed her hand. He knew that this escape was not only about getting away from the hospital but also about getting away from the fear and uncertainty that had been holding him back. He was ready to embrace life and live it to the fullest.

The Love

"This is beautiful," Alex said as he and Dana sat on a rock overlooking the mountain. "I can't believe I've been missing out on this all my life."

Dana smiled and leaned her head on his shoulder. "I'm glad you're enjoying it. I think nature has a way of healing and restoring us."

They sat in silence for a while, taking in the breathtaking view. Alex felt a sense of peace and contentment that he had never felt before. He realized that he had grown to love Dana, his nurse, his companion, and his friend.

"Dana," Alex said, turning to her. "I have something to tell you."

Dana looked at him with a curious expression. "What is it?"

"I love you," Alex said, his heart pounding in his chest. "I know it might be crazy, and we've only known each other for a short time, but I can't help how I feel."

Dana's eyes widened in surprise and then softened with love. "Alex," she said, her voice trembling. "I love you too."

Alex felt a weight lifted off his shoulders. He had been afraid of rejection, but Dana's words warmed him. They hugged tightly, both knowing that this moment was one they would never forget.

"I know we're from different worlds," Alex said, holding Dana's hand. "I'm a patient, and you're a nurse. But I can't imagine my life without you."

"I feel the same way," Dana said, leaning in to kiss him. "I know we have a lot of obstacles to overcome, but I'm willing to face them with you."

As they kissed, Alex felt like he was truly living. He had been given a second chance at life and would make the most of it with Dana. He knew they had something special, something rare, and he would hold on to it with all his might.

"I can't wait to see what the future holds for us," Alex said, smiling at Dana.

"Me neither," Dana said, smiling back. "As long as we're together, anything is possible."

Alex knew that was true. Together, they could do anything. Together, they were unstoppable. Together, they were in love.

The Future

"So, where do we go from here?" Alex asked Dana as they lay in bed, holding each other.

Dana looked at him and smiled. "The world is our oyster, Alex. We can go anywhere and do anything we want."

Alex felt a sense of excitement and possibility. He had never felt this way before; he had never dared to take risks and explore the world. But now, with Dana by his side, he felt anything was possible.

"I've always wanted to go to Japan," Alex said, thinking out loud. "I've heard it's a beautiful country with rich culture and history."

"That sounds amazing," Dana said, her eyes lighting up. "I've always wanted to visit the temples and see the cherry blossoms in bloom."

"Then let's do it," Alex said, sitting in bed. "Let's go to Japan. Let's see the world together."

Dana grinned and nodded. "Yes, let's do it. We'll plan it all out and make it happen."

And so, Alex and Dana began planning their trip to Japan. They researched flights and hotels and decided on a tour to take them to all the must-see destinations. They were both excited and couldn't wait to embark on this new adventure together.

"I'm so glad you're my partner in crime," Alex said, holding Dana's hand as they waited at the airport.

"I'm glad you're mine," Dana said, leaning in to kiss him. "I can't wait to see what the future holds for us."

As they boarded the plane, Alex felt a sense of gratitude and contentment. He had been given a second chance at life and would make the most of it. He had Dana, the love of his life, by his side, and together they would see the world.

"I love you," Alex said, holding Dana's hand as the plane took off.

"I love you too," Dana said, looking into his eyes. "Forever and always."

Alex knew that this was only the beginning. They had so much more to see, experience, and discover. The future was bright, and he couldn't wait to see what it held for them. Together, they were unstoppable, and he looked forward to every step of the way.

The Miracle

"I can't believe it," Alex said as he looked at the results of his latest scans. "The cancer is gone."

Dana's eyes widened in surprise, and tears of joy filled her. "That's amazing, Alex. It's a miracle."

The doctor nodded in agreement. "It's certainly a rare and remarkable case. We've seen some shrinkage in the past, but to have cancer completely disappear is truly unusual."

Alex felt a sense of disbelief and gratitude wash over him. He had been given a second chance at life, and he knew it was all thanks to Dana.

"I couldn't have done this without you," Alex said, taking Dana's hand. "You were my rock, my support, my everything."

Dana smiled and leaned in to kiss him. "I couldn't have done it without you either. You were the one who fought, who never gave up. You're my miracle."

The doctor cleared his throat, bringing them back to reality. "This is good news, but we'll still need to monitor you closely. There's always a chance that cancer could come back."

Alex nodded, understanding the gravity of the situation. "I know, and I'll do whatever it takes to keep this at bay."

"We'll do it together," Dana said, holding his hand. "We'll face whatever comes our way together."

Alex knew that she was right. They had been through so much together, and he knew they could face anything as long as they had each other.

"So, what's next?" Alex asked, looking at Dana.

Dana grinned. "The world is our oyster, Alex. We can go anywhere and do anything we want."

Alex felt a sense of excitement and possibility. He had been given a second chance at life and would make the most of it. Together with Dana, he knew that they could accomplish anything.

"Let's go see the world," Alex said, taking Dana's hand.

"Let's go see the world," Dana echoed, smiling.

And with that, they walked out of the doctor's office, ready to start their new chapter together.

Fan FictionSci FiAdventure
3

About the Creator

Liviu Roman

Mahatma Gandhi — 'Be the change that you wish to see in the world.'

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Som Duttabout a year ago

    Truly great story

  • Sweet love story!! So refreshing to read about light healing. I have seen small miracles with it. A woman once told me a story about a 30 something year old who had stage 3C incl in the brain, for one year he included Therapeutic Touch with his treatments and it was gone and he returned to work. It's an amazing medical world when trust in faith is included.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.