Fiction logo

Episode #42 welcome to the Rec Room

Decisions, Opportunity or Fate

By Susan McGillPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Episode #42 welcome to          the Rec Room
Photo by Kyle Johnson on Unsplash

While in the Recreational room first thing you notice is how everything in the room is there to use and have fun with free of charge. There are many things to choose from, pinball machines, pool tables and shuffleboard tables all along the one wall. Students have gathered around, some playing the games others are sitting on an assortment of couches, chairs and stools reclining in while watching TV. Against the other wall sits, a piano with assortment of other instruments to indulge in around it. First thing Jordan does is head for one of the pool tables.

“Of my God they have pool tables here, come on let have a game or two before going for supper. We have time.” Nothing is going to stop either of you, “I will rack them up! You can take first shot. What should we play. High, low or billiards.” “Oh my, I have not played billiards since last Christmas, how about we play that?”

By Freddy G on Unsplash

“Sounds great.” You head to the counter, grab the balls making your way to a table. “Rack them up.” After setting the ball up, you reach for your cue, holding it in your hand and half leaning on it while you wait for Jordan to take her shot. Over the next couple hours, you both laugh and wander around playing a few rounds of pool, jumping on a pinball machine just for fun. Enjoying every moment, like it was your last.

“Jordan, yet again we are about to do something our parents use to do. Play pinball! I’m starting to wonder if they sent us here because they want us to spend our days back in time.” “Come on admit it, you love the fact that our parents have pinball machines!”

“Okay, your right, sometimes I think pinball machines are more exciting then playing games on my phone.” “Unless you tilt them, right!” From the pinball machines, you try your luck at shuffleboard, yet another old-style game very few of your friends have ever heard of if at all.

“Well, look at this Jordan, your favorite game of all, shuffleboard! I bet the only reason you have ever like this game is because you could always kick my ass! Ever since we were kids!” “So very true! I will kick your ass today too! Come on I dare you to play a game of shuffleboard against me!” “Alright just one game then I want to check out all those instruments. Sound good?” “Deal!”

By Zach Lezniewicz on Unsplash

“Thanks for the game Jordan, I thought you said you were going to kick my ass?” Laughing as you make your way towards the piano Jordan grabs is one of the guitars, sitting on a couch and starts playing you join in on the piano. Before long there is a handful of other students joined in, grabbing instruments and playing along side you both. In no time all of you are jamming together, making magnificent music.

When Jordan starts playing your favorite song Amazing Grace you stand next to her and begin singing. It’s been along time since you sang anything, after your jaw surgery your voice changed. You went from singing very high in the choir to not singing at all because your voice went so low you had no clue how to sing that low. This evening was very different, something changed for you!

By Louis Hansel on Unsplash

“Your going to try and sing today? I haven’t heard you sing in years!” “I know it’s kind of weird, but I real have the urge to sing, I have no idea why either?”

While you sing those around you all stop singing so they can listen. Jordan is the only one to continue playing guitar while you continue singing, with your eyes closed. As you are singing, in a low voice you hear her, some woman who is singing as high as you use to. Allowing you the ability to sing in your low voice, matching her high voice without effort. It is mesmerizing to all around how angelic your singing. You belt your heart out to end of the song, opening your eyes. With a huge smile on your face!

“Now that was amazing Jordan, I don’t think I ever enjoyed singing so much in my life. So who was that woman that was singing with me?” Jordan, as well as all others around you, stand there looking extremely perplexed, not answering your question or even moving!

“Hello Jordan! What the hell is wrong with you?” “Well, first off, there was no other woman singing with you. Second, when the hell did you start singing like that! I have never heard you sing like that. As a matter of fact, I haven't heard you sing since your jaw surgery!” “I have no idea what you are talking about, someone was singing with me. That’s the only way I was able to sing. Wait? You're serious, aren’t you?”

"Well, for the life of me, I don't know what to say! Let's just get the hell out of here. I'm ready to go and explore the lands." Jordan stares you down with concern, "I'm serious come on let go do something!” You scan the room, noticing how each entrance way carries a sign on the door. Footpaths, Village and Bonfires.

OMG what are you going to do, I’m thinking it might be smart the have some more fun before calling it a night! We don’t judge so feel free to check out all and any of the Episodes offered. Be careful don’t forget not all episodes make it to the end!

WANTING TO GO CHECK OUT THE FOOTPATH AND DO SOME HIKING RUN ON OVER TO EPISODE #44

MAYBE IT WILL BE BETTER TO GO CHECK OUT THE VILLAGE HEAD ON OVER TO EPISODE #46

HOW ABOUT THAT BONFIRE THAT SOUNDS PRETTY DAMN GOOD TO ME, IF THAT IS WHAT YOU WANT TO DO MAKE YOUR WAY ON OVER TO EPISODE #45

I am so proud of how well you are doing making your way through the adventure congrats! Some have had to start over and try again by now, so I think you are doing very well. Enjoying the story share and tap that heart, tips are muchly appreciated and thanks you for Being You! Stay Safe and Smart! Love Peace and Self Respect goes a long ways....

Adventure

About the Creator

Susan McGill

I am a Seer, a Druid, a Teacher, a Healer, an Empath, and I am very Spiritual most of all I am One with the Universe.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Susan McGillWritten by Susan McGill

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.