Fiction logo

EMPTY

empty

By Paul WestlakePublished 2 years ago 7 min read

What a lovely evening it was. In no way cold as the stars were out in full force. You might even say that it was the near perfect night if you felt like a stroll with the one that you hold most dear.

Maybe then, down one certain country lane where a fox was walking along, just might have been looking for it`s mate, or maybe even it`s next meal, either way, he strolled peacefully along and fully contented with it`s life. But luckily for the fox, it`s reactions were just as quick as its cunning when he suddenly had to leap into the nearest bush when a car travelling like a Bat Out of Hell, appeared from out-of-nowhere seemingly with no regard for it`s own or anyone else`s safety.

Barely stopping at the next junction as it turns right before continuing at high speed along the road as it went up another gear before Gabby, wipes away yet another flood of tears.

Once, twice, three times she slams her hand on the steering wheel finding herself unable to scream out the rage that was eating away inside of her. It was to hell with any speed limit or any form of the Highway Code as she pressed her foot down harder on the accelerator. She had somewhere to go, and was in a hurry to get there.

Suddenly, she could see her destination getting even closer and closer by the second until, even catching Gabby somewhat by surprise, she arrived on her graveled driveway and to avoid causing any damage to her car or house she slammed the brakes and turned sharply right causing some stones to fly up and hit her windows.

"It was my money that got this house" she rages as with not even bothering to close the car door and thrusts her key into the lock, turns it, then throws it open before slamming it behind her and is now standing there, tears or not, ready to claim her territory.

She stands there, Queen of all she surveyed continuing to look around at what she thought was an empty home. It all seemed quiet. Maybe too quiet. Which was certainly different to only an hour or so ago when only the bravest soul would have dared to enter.

They may have been lighter than usual, but she was certain that she heard footsteps coming down the stairs. And she was right. As Darren appeared looking only half-the-man he thought he was a couple of hours previously, taken aback, not expecting to see Gabby again so soon.

He had no real idea of what to say or even do for the best at this very moment. All that he knew was, he wasn`t looking for another argument. "Oh, you`re back then."

"Yes, I`m back. Why the hell should I leave my home!" she yells at him. He thought about it. He thought about it long and hard before he even dared to answer her.

"How could you? How could you even think about doing it? After all the years that we`ve been together, do I really mean that little to you?" Darren just stood dumbstruck, with no idea how to answer any of these questions.

"Cat got your tongue has it , huh? Or is it that you`re just ashamed of yourself and what you`ve done? Yes, that`s probably it. Ashamed and spineless now that the truth has finally come out, and I can see what kind of man you really are. But I do use the word man very loosely. Suppose it was different when it was all going on behind-my-back. Bet you thought you were some sort of Big Man didn`t you eh?"

Darren knew only too well that he should at least say something. But exactly what that was; was an entirely different story. For he also knew that no matter what he says next, would very likely, be the exact wrong thing to say.

"Still got nothing. Well, luckily enough I`ve got plenty for the both of us. Seriously? I mean really, did it really have to be her? Wasn`t it bad enough that she gets the promotion over me that she gets to have you as well. And no doubt everyone at work knowing exactly what was going on. Apart from muggings here obviously."

"Look out girls, here comes that daft cow Gabby. Not a single clue what`s going on in her life. Bet they all had a good laugh. And you couldn`t, not that I`m surprised now, could even show me just a little respect by being man enough to tell me to my face. Had to find out from a stupid text message which you didn`t even know you sent it to me by mistake to begin with. How dumb are you? I could even laugh about that if I didn`t want to kill you so much."

"Yes, I know. That wasn`t fair. And you`re right, I should have talked to you about it weeks ago."

"Oh, hallelujah. It does speak then eh" the sarcasm that rolled so naturally of her tongue then hit him harder than the actual slap across the face he received about an hour or so ago. Which he still had the handprint on his cheek to show for it.

"Like I said, I should have talked to you. There was no way that you should have found out the way that you did. That wasn`t right. Out of everything, that`s the thing that I`m least proud of. But what`s happened has happened. Can`t change it now. No matter how much I want to."

"Do you?"

"Yes."

"Really?"

"Yes, honestly."

"Funny, but somehow, just right now, finding it really difficult believing anything that comes out of your mouth right now."

"Yes, I get that."

"Oh, do you now. Well, that`s very clever of you isn`t it" again, the sarcasm she delivered slapped him once again with great force, which he was happy to accept but, unlike the previous one, he now seemed prepared to fight his corner.

"Look, I know that I`m in the wrong with what I`ve done. I won`t deny it. And that`s something that I`ve got to live with. But let`s face facts. This relationship hasn`t been great for a while now. I mean, I hardly seen you these past at least what, six months or so."

"Don`t you dare! Don`t you even think of bringing that into this! I`ve been slugging my guts out so we can have this house and if I did get that promotion, I was planning to take us on a nice holiday to make up for it as well you know" she screams at him.

"What, I haven`t been working as well?"

"Didn`t say you hadn`t."

"Maybe not directly. But that`s what you always mean. It`s always about you and how hard that you work and how you think that you`re the only one that pays the bills around here. Well, I pay my fair share towards this house and plenty of other things besides and I`ve always done so as well you know."

"Aww, poor baby. Didn`t I give you enough credit. Oh, I`m sorry you poor little thing. Do you want me to say what a good man that you really are and how lucky that I am to have you? Are those the sort of things that she said to make you feel better?"

Darren just conceded defeat. He knew that this was an argument that he stood absolutely no chance of winning. He just brushed her on his way out of the house without another word being spoken as Gabby makes certain the door was firmly closed behind him before she locks it whilst listening to him drive away.

It was as if a dead weight had been removed from her shoulders when she could no longer hear his car as she made herself comfortable on her sofa and looked around her home and all it`s contents.

The 50inch wall-mounted Plasma Television; the Kitchen/Dining area with the brand new Dining Room Suite and fully fitted kitchen. Then out into the Conservatory and it`s furniture and couldn`t help but think to herself just how proud she was of all she had done to achieve such a lovely home. Her time of admiration was interrupted by her mobile then ringing.

- "Hello mum."

- "Yes, I`m alright don`t worry."

- "Not a lot to say for himself but then again, what could he say? He`d been caught out and he knew it."

As she listened to her mother`s support she continued to look around her home.

- "You`re dead right mum. I wouldn`t have listened if you`d told me that a couple of months ago. I was in love. Thought he was too."

The solid gold carriage clock that had it`s pride of place on the mantlepiece above the log fire. The home computer, desk, which looked right at home in it`s own special corner of the lounge. Standing proudly in the Dining Room, the Welsh Dresser with the finest China nestling regally on each shelf. All of which she had worked tirelessly for. Now, just seemed nothing more than bric-a-brac. And she just couldn`t think way.

- "Honestly mum, there`s no need for you to come over. I`ll be fine. Yes, I`ll call you tomorrow promise, and stop worrying, I`m going to be fine. Bye."

From the very second that she hung up the last thing that Gabby felt, was fine. Far from it. All she could do was simply sit there, and gaze into space looking like someone without any purpose or direction in their life. Her entire world had disappeared right in front of her very eyes and the home that she was once always proud to show off and, in some other cases, rub people`s noses in it, now had as much charm as the local council rubbish tip. Her life had suddenly become a total wilderness which she found herself wondering around aimlessly around with no hope of finding her way out of it. Except for one. She had one hope of finding her way back into the life that she always dreamed of having and no matter what anyone thought of her, she knew that she just had to try, so taking hold of her mobile, she dials.

- "Hello Darren, yes it`s me. Can we talk?"

Love

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    PWWritten by Paul Westlake

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.