Fiction logo

Emma(5)

I don't know how you feel about the intimate relationship between Emma and Harriet, Mrs. Weston

By testPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
1

"I don't know how you feel about Emma and Harriet's marriage, Mrs. Weston," said Mr. Knightley, "but I think it's a mistake."

"Wrong! Do you really think this is a wrong thing? Why?"

"I don't think any of them will do anything useful for each other."

"I'm surprised at you! Emma is undoubtedly good for Harriet. Emma has put forward a new starting point to her, which is likely to be good for Harriet. I'm extremely happy to see them inseparable. How different they feel! - I don't think they will do anything good for the other side! Old Mr. Knightley, this is enough to cause a quarrel over Emma."

"Maybe you thought I knew Weston was not at home and wanted to argue with you. Maybe you still wanted to fight."

"If Mr. Weston is at home, he will undoubtedly support me, because he has the same opinion with me on this issue. We just discussed this issue yesterday. We all think that it is very lucky for Emma to have such a girl in Highbury. Mr. Knightley, I don't allow you to be a judge on this issue all the time. You are too used to living alone and know nothing about the use value of your partner 。 Perhaps, no one can properly assess a woman's sense of comfort when she is used to dating a man's lover all her life. I can imagine that you resisted Harriet Smith because she did not have the lofty influence Emma's friends should have. However, on the other hand, Emma hopes that she will become more and more knowledgeable, so she has won a lot of reading motivation. They also read together. I understand. That's what she meant. "

"Emma has been looking forward to reading a lot since she was 12. I have seen her reading plans drawn up at different times. They are the recommended books she is going to read carefully - especially the excellent recommended books - the books are selected effectively and distributed orderly - some are arranged in alphabetical order and some are in other order. I remember thinking about the reading plans when she was 14 years old, and not only made good comments on them And this comment has been kept in my mind for a very long time. I dare say that she may have established a very good list of recommended books now, but I'm afraid to hope that Emma can study with relatively steady attention. She can no longer do these things that must be diligent and patient, nor will she let imagination listen to understanding. I can safely believe that Harriet Smith will not be able to play any role after little sister Taiqin will not encourage her any more. Since then, you have never advised her to read half of the books you want her to read. You know you're different. "

"Frankly," replied Mrs. Weston with a smile, "that's what I thought at the time. But since we parted, I don't remember Emma neglecting everything she was expected to do."

"Now there is no desire to recall that kind of thing," old Mr. Knightley said emotionally and remained silent for a while. "But I am," he added quickly, "Although she felt that there were no attractive things in the house, she had to look again, listen again, and keep her memory. Emma was spoiled because she was the smartest child in the family. When she was only one year old, she tragically solved the problem of her 16-year-old sister. She was always so clever and confident. Isabella was slow and confused. Emma herself became the mistress of the house and your mistress from the age of 12. She lost I'm the only mother who can cope with her. Because she inherited her mother's talent, she could only listen to it. "

"Mr. Knightley, thank you I don't need to rely on your recommendation, otherwise I will be disappointed. If I quit my job at Mr. fieldsweet's house and look for another job, I don't believe you will speak well for me in front of everyone. I'm sure you almost think that I was slack in my previous job."

"Very good," he said with a smile. "You are more suitable here, especially to be a wife, but you are not suitable for being a governess at all. When you have been in Hartfield house, you have never been ready to be a virtuous wife in the future. Judging from your ability, you have not given Emma sufficient cultural education; you have obeyed unconditionally in marriage, and at the level of painstaking efforts, you have received cultural education on her side. If Wei Ston originally asked me to strongly recommend a wife to him, and my own candidate was little sister Tai Qin. "

"Thank you. It's not necessarily an advantage to be a good wife in front of such approachable boys as Mr. Weston."

"Well, you have to admit the truth. I think you have some refusal to obey the advice. Although you can tolerate all kinds of tantrums, it is concluded that you have not encountered a very tolerable temperament. However, we will not despair. Weston will become strange because he is too comfortable. If his children play tricks, she will be annoyed."

"I hope it won't happen - it was impossible at that time. Mr. Knightley, don't predict and analyze the distress from that perspective."

"I'm not really predictive analysis. I'm just emphasizing some probabilities. I don't want to show off the skills of predictive analysis and guessing at the door of Emma, a wizard. I really hope that this young man can have the same advantages as Weston and the same capital as Churchill. But when it comes to Harriet Smith, I've just finished half of my own. I think this is Emma's worst lover. She doesn't know anything, But Emma, whom she relied on, knew everything. She bragged about her in every way; The worst thing is that she didn't mean to do it. Her constant boasting is the main manifestation of ignorance. How could Emma feel that Harriet could learn everything when she did not perform so well? For Harriet's part, I cried out boldly that she would not benefit from this relationship. Hartfield house only let him learn to despise all the other places he belongs to. She will become more and more elegant, and it will be uncomfortable to return to the environment where he was born and settled. If Emma's dogmatic virtuous mind sprouts energy, I am mistaken. These thematic activities are nothing more than sitting down and talking empty words. "

"If I had not trusted Emma's conscience more than you, I would have been more worried about her present comfort. I would not have felt sorry for their relationship.

How beautiful she looked last night.

"Ah! You like to talk about her appearance rather than her heart, don't you? Very well, I don't deny that Emma is good-looking."

"Beautiful! It's better to say beautiful. Can you imagine that all people are closer to perfection in appearance and body like Emma?"

"I don't know what I can imagine, but I admit that I've never seen anyone's face and body more pleasing than her. And I'm mostly an old friend."

"What beautiful eyes! - simple dark brown - how bright! Her features are upright, her face is optimistic, and her skin color is white! Ah! Her face is healthy in body and mind, white and red like a blooming rose. The height of the human body and the matching of each part are so uniform, which indicates how slim and stable she is. Her health is not only reflected in her white and red face, but also in the gloss of her hair, her head shape, and his look back. Sometimes people say that A child is like a "healthy child in the picture.". In my mind, Emma is almost the most typical painting of a healthy girl. She is a super cute avatar. Old Mr. Knightley, isn't it? "

"I can't find a flaw in her appearance," he replied. "My impression of her is just like what you described. I like to see her. In addition, I would like to add a compliment to her, that is, I don't think she likes vanity. Considering that she is particularly good-looking, she seems to care about it very much. His vanity is reflected in other aspects. Mrs. Weston, I don't like her marriage with Harry Smith. I think this relationship is harmful to both of them. I am I have no doubt about it. "

"Mr. Knightley, but I also believe that this kind of relationship will not do them any harm. Although dear Emma has all kinds of small defects, she is still not an outstanding girl. Where can we find a better girl, a kinder sister and a more sincere friend than her? No, we can't find her. She is honest and reliable, and will never lead everyone astray. She will not persevere. It is not correct 。 Emma may have made a mistake once, but she was right a hundred times. "

"Well, I won't bother you any more. Emma is undoubtedly an angel. I'll hide my depression in my heart until Robert and Isabella are sent back at Christmas. Robert loves Emma rationally, so it's not blind love. Isabella and her husband always have the same idea. The only exception is that she doesn't feel nervous about the child's health. I'm sure they share my opinion."

"I understand that you all love her in Thailand and are unlikely to be unfair and unkind to her. However, Mr. Knightley, please forgive me. I think I have some right to speak with Emma's mother. Therefore, I want to imply that it is not good to discuss with you a lot about Harriet Smith's marriage relationship with her. Please forgive me. If you feel some kind of minor inconvenience in such a close relationship, just This relationship can make Emma happy, and she is unlikely to stop it; Emma only told her father, and his father completely agreed with them. For many years, it has been my duty to give warnings. Therefore, Mr. Knightley, I ventured to give a little warning. I hope you will not be surprised. "

"I'm not surprised at all," he cried. "I'm very grateful for this. It was a good warning at that time, and this warning will get better luck than the warning you gave before. I think it will be justified."

"Mrs. Robert Knightley is easily frightened and may find her sister's affairs unpleasant."

"Don't worry," he said. "I won't shout loudly. I will bury my displeasure in my heart. Your interest in Emma is sincere. Isabella is not as close to me as she is to her sister. She never inspires my own interests. Maybe it's very rare to have any interest. When people do things, they are both worried and curious about Emma. I know what will happen to her in the end!"

"I want to know," said Mrs. Weston gently. "I want to know."

"She always claims that she will never get married. Naturally, this is meaningless. But I have never seen a boy she likes. If she can deeply fall in love with a suitable goal, it is a mistake to fail to see. I hope to see Emma fall in love with some people, and I hope to see that she is worried about whether she will get love from others. That will be good for her. But there are no people around her who are obsessed with her I said it was hard for her to leave home. "

"At present, it seems very difficult to induce her to change her confidence," said Mrs. Weston. "Even though she has been so happy at Hartfield house, I can't expect her to fall in love with any kind of person and cause difficulties to poor old Mr. fieldsweet. Now I won't propose Emma's marriage, but I assure you that I have a lot in mind about her marriage."

When she talked about this issue, she did not lack an implication: to cover up as much as possible an idea that was beneficial to the couple. As for Emma's fate, the owners of the landaus house had several expectations, but they did not like such expectations to be suspected. Mr. Knightley calmly changed the topic of discussion: "what consequences does Weston think the temperature will have? Will it rain?" She believed that he had nothing more to say about Hartford house, and nothing to suspect——

Series
1

About the Creator

test

test ok

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.