Fiction logo

Elf On The Run

For RM Stockton’s Elf on the Shelf Challenge

By Real PoeticPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - December 2023
21
Wonder AI

This story was written for RM Stockton’s Challenge. Click here to learn more.

It’s official! The front door shut, and the car left the street. I’m home alone for the first time on Christmas Eve with cozy, holiday socks on my feet; the ones with an Elf on the Shelf printed on them. I’m also wearing the matching pajamas too.

Mom is working, and Dad is deployed overseas, so I’m the man of the house for the day. Hooray! Which means I can search for the Elf on the Shelf that I typed at the top of my Christmas list in bold.

I thought to myself. Where would Mom hide my presents? Then, it hit me. The attic is the scariest room in the whole house, and it’s not easy to get to either. It must be in there somewhere.

Since the attic has access to the roof, my dad keeps the key in his study. I enter his man cave and look through every cabinet and drawer until I found the bronze key. I know it’s the right one, because it’s shaped kind of funny.

I put the key inside of the lock and twist it; the door opens, and an old, unstable ladder comes down rather quickly. I barely had any time to jump out of its way. Dust bunnies fly into my face, and I sneeze. “Oh please be up here,” I say aloud to myself in desperation as I wipe my nose with my sleeve.

“Oh geez! I hope I don’t get grounded for this,” I utter as I shake my head and climb up into the attic.

It’s very dark, and it smells like Grandma’s house up here. I feel every inch of the wall, and I’m able to find the light switch and turn it on. The room is pretty much empty, except for a crate in the center of the floor.

I hurry over to it and open it up; it wasn’t locked. I pull apart the box, and a live elf pops out. He says with an evil smile as he skips over to the window, “Thanks for setting me free Caden.”

He climbs out of the window and onto the roof and sits there creepily for a while. I call the police, but when they arrive, the elf is already gone. I can tell by their facial expressions that the officers don’t believe my side of the story, but it’s the truth! I know what I saw.

They call my mother to come home early, and she does. Mom gives me a disappointing look that makes today even worse. I just wish that she would believe me. I’m her son. The evil elf is real, and he ran away. I bet he’s coming back someday to do something very bad…

***

Author’s Note: Thanks for reading, and happy holidays! 🎄

🩵 R.P.

thrillerMicrofictionHoliday
21

About the Creator

Real Poetic

Welcome to my imagination. ✨

I write poetry & short stories.

Thanks for stopping by! ❤️

Instagram: @therealpoetic

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Naughty children will get eaten by the evil eld on shelf. Hope he went to the North pole.

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Supercute story! I cannot wait 4 part two! :)

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    "Smells like grandma's house up here" lol. Loved that line and your creepy story. Congrats. RP

  • Yayyyyy I'm back to say congratulations for your Top Story!

  • JBaz5 months ago

    An amusing tale, fit for Christmas mirth Congratulations

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    I loved this twist RP! Very clever and so well written! I was glued to the story the entire time! Great work and congrats on Top Story!

  • Ha! Ha! Ha! Mischievous boy left home alone. The crazy things that can happen. Good fun. I enjoyed your story!!!

  • Oooo, I wonder what that elf is gonna do! Would you be writing a part 2 for this?

  • noor5 months ago

    lovely!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Cute, I love it

  • Test5 months ago

    I am waiting for the sequel! That elf is definitely going to return with a vengeance! Brilliantly disconcerting take on the challenge, loved it! 🤍

  • 😮 Oh no! The Evil Elf is on the loose AND Caden is now on the naughty list! This is such a clever and intriguing story, RP! I always look forward to reading your work.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Oooh. I wonder what the evil elf is planning.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.