Fiction logo

Ecoverklempt

The Feeling of Being Overcome With Emotion At the Slightest Sign of Caring For the Environment

By Calista Marchand-NazzaroPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Ecoverklempt
Photo by Brandon Griggs on Unsplash

I turn on my laptop and immediately open my browser. I see the headlines because my eyes can't help but look at them. The first one of importance that catches my eye is "Town To Require Resident Composting." I smile and weep silently as I begin reading the details. I am instantly covered in full-body goosebumps, my shoulders heave, and I have the contradicting urges to sob with every ounce of my being and to jump for joy. It is a good day in such an overwhelmingly bad system. This little win feels like a whole lot of hope in a hopeless situation. I continue reading and see the related article: "Woman Builds Outdoor Cat Houses From Rescued Materials" - the tears keep coming. The least we could do really feels monumental at this point. I think of last week when you freed that baby bunny from the chicken wire and the same rush of emotion came over me. Even the thought now brings that same gut feeling and the irrepressible urge to cry; it’s visceral. This deep ache comes from somewhere in my soul. It’s akin to the bittersweet way I miss your touch, yet wish you find the one who’s right for you. I can’t be entirely sure if the involuntary tears are out of sadness for what has been lost or destroyed or hope for what good persists and what is to come.

LoveMicrofiction

About the Creator

Calista Marchand-Nazzaro

Always learning and always evolving. I’m a creative, an idea person, a thinker, a dreamer, and working on being a doer. Many interests. Varied content. Food. Sustainability. Comedy. Poetry. Music.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    That last line! So good.

  • Mattie :)9 months ago

    Great story, Calista :)

Calista Marchand-NazzaroWritten by Calista Marchand-Nazzaro

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.