Fiction logo

Dystopian Future

The days of tomorrow

By Colleen Millsteed Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
6
Dystopian Future
Photo by Museums Victoria on Unsplash

I awoke throughout the night, unsure of what has woken me

A feeling in the pit of my stomach, unsure of the noise I hear,

Was that a scream, a whimper, a moan, a total voice of terror

Climbing from my bed listening, waiting for the noises to disappear.

***

My imagination gets the better of me, that desperate need to know

I opened the door of my bedroom, the horror I see is unthinkable,

My house, my street, my city, my world has disintegrated

All that I know, love, depend upon and enjoy has become unliveable.

***

How is this possible, what has happened in the silent night

The houses are gone, the trees, gardens and sidewalks are ash,

Luckily for me, or maybe not so, my bedroom was left intact

I can’t think, can’t breathe, my perception of reality clash.

***

Finally awake, my senses and my thoughts begin to flow

It is all over, has the world come to a bad end,

Am I the only survivor, the only living entity, beast or human

Do I need to fear for my life, am I under attack, do I need to defend?

***

I retreat back into my bedroom, my only thought is to get dressed

Pack a bag with extra clothes as I’ve no idea when or if I can come back,

Surely I cannot be the only living organism, there must be others

I need to find and seek them out, offering help wherever there’s a lack.

***

Moving carefully through the stubble, trying to bypass the ash

The silence now all around me is scarily potent, I’d welcome any sound

I search through every footstep for any living being nearby

For hours I felt so alone and prayed until a group of a dozen were found.

***

We were all moving through the unforgivable landscape, looking for our kind

Unknowingly to each of us, we were congregating in what was the centre of our town,

There are now thirteen survivors, all strangers to each other, lost all they have known

Although most of us find tears running down our faces, in survival mode we can’t breakdown.

***

We group together and start moving out of town, hoping to find stability

That the devastation and destruction only occurred locally,

The nearest town and cities would still be exactly as they were the day before

We walked, we shuffled, we zombied out, one member making noise vocally.

***

Much to our dismay, we found the destruction country wide

Everything was destroyed and turned to ash but nobody understood how,

As we continued to ramble on we collected more and more survivors

Not understanding this new world and no idea what to do now.

***

Weeks turned to months before we found a large enough underground shelter

To house all of us, to begin the centralised stabilisation to right our world again,

We began to correlate the things we would need to do to ensure our survival

To commence rebuilding, re-establishing, as nothing could be the same.

***

A small group broke off from the largest pack of survivors

They elevated themselves to become a committee of the elite,

None could argue with them wanting to aid the community as a whole

While most wandered helplessly, the committee would not allow defeat.

***

Unknown to most, arguing broke out, separating those in the elite committee

Until it was finally agreed, one member would become the sole leader,

Who the committee would defer to, when major decisions caused doubt

One woman removed a golden locket from her neck to donate to the ringleader.

***

Once all were in agreeance as to who would lead the committee by default

And the entire community, especially as it continued to grow and expand,

The golden locket was placed around the new leader’s neck

This piece would help the entire community recognise who was in command.

***

The years passed ever so slowly and the new “world” made up of survivors

Was governed by this committee and leader who had total control,

They had become totalitarian causing great suffering and injustices

The people nothing more than slaves, with no power but to watch it all unfold.

***

The worst of the entire committee, goes without saying, is the leader

That golden locket worn around their neck is now seen as all that’s evil,

For anyone not on the committee, there is no ability to rise in rank

The only way out of all this suffering is by death, as any uprising is illegal.

********************************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Short Story
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Wow, this story remind what’s happening in Florida right now. The picture is just like Florida scene . People can really relate to this story literally.

  • This is the sad reality that's waiting for us. On the bright side, it would be a great chance for the world to start over. Unless we get a power-hungry leader like in this story. Amazing job on this one my friend!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.