Fiction logo

Dynasty: A Batman Tale Part 24

Epilogues

By Jarad MannPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
art by Alex Ross

Epilogue I

The Three that Lived

Years after the Arkham escape, the asylum was again reopened and filled with guests. Three of them in particular were occupying the maximum detention area where they would be spending the rest of their lives. At the end of the day Arkham was a hospital, so to oversee their care, was someone very familiar with Basil Karlo, Edward Nigma and Harley Quinn. They had a spent a decade together after all.

Dr. Thomas Elliot had returned to public life after learning of the Joker’s death. When the surviving members of the Joker’s crew were apprehended and locked away, they were originally placed in solitaire confinement at Blackgate prison. Thomas had personally helped finance the renovation to reopen Arkham and had positioned himself to be voted the soul director of the asylum with no board to answer to.

When their cases were finally brought to court, old habits had led all three to plea insanity. The court had no choice but to send them to Arkham where the good doctor was waiting for them.

Epilogue II

The Letter

It is with an extremely heavy heart that I pen these last few words to you, my family. I spent my life trying to right a wrong I suffered as a child. When my parents were murdered in front of me, I focused my pain to become something I felt I had to be. I formed a relationship with those I loathe. Those who chose to keep the good people of Gotham living in fear. I took it upon myself to try to rid this city of corruption and crime, knowing full well that it was going to be a nearly impossible task. At first I believed it was my fight and my fight alone, but I was wrong. You, my family taught me that.

Alfred, without your guidance I wouldn’t exist. You are my guardian, my counselor, and my friend. Thank you for caring for me all these years and executing all of my wishes without question and always trusting me. With the loss of my parents I thought I was an orphan, but you showed me that I truly wasn’t. I had you.

Through all of you, I learned that each man or woman has in them the reason and the courage to step outside of society’s preverbal box and stand up for those who cannot stand on their own. To fight injustice and be a hero.

Tim, your father would be very proud of the man you have become. He may not have chosen this path for you, but he would have respected your choice. I love you like a son. You are the Red Robin.

Dick, I don’t think I have the words. Years ago, when it was Alfred, you and I, and we sat around the kitchen nook, that’s when I first realized I had a family. You are my brother. I am sorry for pushing you away. It wasn’t my intention. I know that you will take up the mantle and continue the fight.

A while ago, I was given a terminal diagnosis. I’m sorry for you all to find out this way. I immediately put all my affairs in order and came up with a contingency plan. I’ve tried my best to hide this from all of you. There isn’t much time left and now that Joker has reemerged, I know what has to be done.

Batman can never take a life, he can never sink as low as the criminals he fights. Every time Joker slips away, more innocent people die because Batman does not do what needs, and should be done. I know this now. Batman will not kill. That is why, I am no longer the Batman.

Batman must remain a symbol that will go on to serve the people of Gotham and save them from injustice and corruption. With Batman, the Red Robin and Oracle keeping an eye open from Watchtower, Gotham will prevail.

I love you my family,

Bruce Wayne.

Epilogue III

Barbara

“Dad, what kind of question is that? No, you cannot wear a hula girl shirt to your retirement party.” Barbara slammed Jim over the phone.

“Why the hell not, it’s my retirement and I am leaving for Hawaii soon after!”

Barbara thought about it for a moment and decided to change her tune, “You know what Dad, you’re right. It’s YOUR retirement, you should be able to do whatever you want.” Barbara noticed an incoming message on the secure line. About time those two checked in. “Hey Dad, I’ll see you tomorrow at the party. I got to go, work calls.”

“I know what you mean sweetie, tell them to be careful out there. Chatter from intelligence about some kind of gang making their way to Gotham, alleged to be very dangerous. They left quite a body count in northern China.”

“Did you get a name?”

Jim sounded like he was checking his notes,“League something or other, sounded comic bookish. Let me think League…, hold on I have it written down here somewhere, oh here it is, The League of Shadows.”

“All right Dad, thanks for the head’s up. I’ll relay everything I dig up on them to our dynamic duo. Got to go, love you.” Oracle disconnected the line and plugged her chair into the secure channel. “Go for Oracle,” She said.

She cut in as the caped crusaders were in the middle of a conversation. “Wait, so he snuck into my bedroom in the middle of the night and injected me with a GPS transponder, and that’s how Bruce knew where I was while you were taking on Riddler and Clayface. That’s nuts!” Tim finished.

“If it makes you feel any better, he did the same to me.” Dick said as he adjusted the cowl of his newly designed bat armor. “I’m never going to get used to this thing.”

“I’m sure Alfred could take it in a little for you.”

“Smart ass, listen don’t be creeped out about the GPS. After Jason, you know, Bruce…” Dick paused searching for the right words,“…Bruce did what he felt he had to do to make sure we were safe. Simple as that!”

Oracle cut in, “He took care of all of us. Now are you boys ready to go fight some crime?” She pressed one of the many buttons on her chair console and from Watchtower, Oracle saw the Bat-signal light up from the rooftop of Gotham PD. “Well, the city knows you’re on the clock and alarms are starting to come in from Gotham Zoo, something’s happening in the crocodile exhibit.”

“Roger that Oracle,” Tim replied, “we're on it, Batman and Red Robin out.”

Fin?

Fan Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jarad Mann

Jarad Mann is a former radio host and modern day Renaissance Man. He is a born entertainer, Writer & Artist as well as a professional public speaker. He is currently pursuing a Master's degree in order to become a college professor.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.