Fiction logo

Dumpster Heist

Unlocking the rules

By Starlight TuckerPublished 11 months ago ā€¢ Updated 11 months ago ā€¢ 1 min read
18
Dumpster Heist
Photo by Rose Pineau on Unsplash

"You saw my record. You looked at my DUIs without my consent. I did not consent to a background check from you" Ashton calls into the fancy dumpster of Empress Essence.

"Background checks are anonymous and I do them for everyone around me. I was proud of you for only having three DUIs, and it must've been cute and sad when you failed the sobriety tests. Can you forgive me?"

"It's funny that they're anonymous until you start blurting things out at the bar."

"You gotta be open to background checks. You should probably do them too. Oh, I love this scent!" Stacey's duffle bag receives an armful of lotions, perfumes, soaps, and make up.

By Dmytro Lopatin on Unsplash

"You could've told me."

"Why would I tell you? You should have done one on me."

"Maybe it would have suggested that I'd have to help you dumpster dive for fancy body care."

"Why would they throw these away when they're only lightly damaged instead of putting them on clearance?"

"They should make a beauty thrift shop for women like you who want to get around the rules. This is technically stealing. I should keep you in there."

"You, my favorite manager, unlocked this heist."

By pmv chamara on Unsplash

Young AdultShort StoryMicrofictionLoveHumorAdventure
18

About the Creator

Starlight Tucker

Full Sail University | Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing

Drama/Romance | Science Fiction | Feature Articles

Ā©šŸŽØšŸ“– šŸŽ¼

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Sanjeevi10 months ago

    Loved the article that opens up the rules and uplifts a recommender like us.

  • Glammy Girl10 months ago

    šŸŒ¼ā¤

  • ā¤ļø

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER11 months ago

    The friend doing a background check and pink Dumpster made me laugh.

  • I agree they should clearance it. Outstanding story

  • If I had the chance, I'll be so guilty of this, lol! I too don't get why they don't put them on clearance!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.