Fiction logo

Duel with giants

In Iceland, there is a terrible giant who has been rampant for a long time, endangering the kingdom of Iceland.

By IversonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Duel with giants

In Iceland, there was a terrible giant who had been rampant for a long time, endangering the kingdom of Iceland. He was so tall and powerful that no one dared to compete with him. One day, the giant met the king of Iceland on the coast, and he went over to the king and said, "Please listen carefully to me, King of Iceland, I want you to betroth your daughter to me, and give me half of your kingdom. If you don't agree, I will take your daughter and take your whole kingdom. But before that, I agree to a duel with one of your barons. If I win, you must marry me your daughter and give me half of your kingdom; if I lose, I will make no demands and let you live in peace from now on. "

When the king returned to the palace, he told all the barons of the kingdom about it, and asked them, "Who among you has the courage and willingness to duel giants?"

All the barons lowered their heads uneasily and said nothing. Only the young Oumont stood up and answered in a positive voice, "Your Majesty, if you are willing to betroth your daughter to me and give me half of your kingdom, I will go to a duel with the giant and defeat him."

When the giant knew that it was a young man who was dueling him, he couldn't help laughing. His laughter was so violent that all the trees in the forest were uprooted, and there were strong winds and waves in the sea.

"How dare such a small dwarf boast of defeating me!" the giant said contemptuously.

Oumon replied proudly, "A small man can also cut down a big oak tree. Is it rare for such a thing to happen?"

So they decided to duel the next morning.

As night fell and the grass was covered with dew, young Aumon came to the cemetery. He walked to his father's tomb and slapped the tombstone when he heard a voice ask: "Who is beating like this outside? Who are you? Please go away and let me rest in peace!"

"It's me, Oumon, your most beloved son. I'm here to ask you for a precious gift. Please give me the Bai Ting sword that has been serving you."

After a moment of silence, he heard his father's voice reply, "I promise to give it to you, but on one condition, you must avenge me." After Oumon swore to him, his father gave him the sword.

When there was just a little morning light in the sky, Ormon got up and walked towards the intended place. The king and the other barons accompanied him worriedly.

Oumon and the giant dueled for three days. In the end, Oumon suddenly stabbed the giant's knee with a sword, and the giant collapsed to the ground, making a thunderous sound.

The king then declared the duel over, and Ormon won.

Afterwards, Oumon got on a boat and set off to the sea. He sailed in the sea for three months before landing on a small island. Once on the island, he immediately went to find the sworn enemy who killed his father.

It didn't take long for him to find them.

"Young man!" they asked. "Do you know Oumont? I heard that he is an extraordinarily brave man."

"Of course I know him," Oumont replied to them. "He wears a long scarlet coat over his shoulders, and will soon come here to avenge his father."

The two enemies stomped their feet viciously and roared in a thunderous voice: "Oumont's feet will never set foot on this island! It's just wishful thinking that he wants to avenge his father!"

The young man suddenly pulled out his sword and shouted sharply, "I am Oumon, and today I want you to repay my father's blood debt." After saying that, he fought with the two of them.

They fought for three days without a winner. On the third day, a fairy appeared on the sea, and she said to Oumon, "Please listen to me carefully. Your sword has been enchanted because the edge of your sword has touched the land of this island. If you want to win the final victory, you must break this ominous magic. Please draw a circle on your head with your sword, and then insert the sword into the ground. If you don't do this, you will never be able to stab your enemy."

Oumon did as the fairy said, and the vicious magic cast by the enemy was broken. He picked up his sword, returned to the battle, and quickly defeated the two enemies. He transported all kinds of loot to the ship and sailed back to his country.

The king of the Kingdom of Iceland warmly welcomed him back to his homeland, married his daughter to him, and gave him half of his kingdom.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Iverson

Hi, I'm from Spain and love writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.