Fiction logo

Dreamland

A group called FFBD takes back what was rightfully theirs, freedom, the dreamland.

By JPWrites.2Published 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
Dreamland
Photo by Cederic Vandenberghe on Unsplash

There weren’t always dragons in the valley. The old wives tale tells a story of a land free of dragons, free of war and free from poverty. The way my great grandpa described it was like a dream, thick green grass, wild flowers lining the horizon, golden sun warming the lands, hand built homes, a castle where all were welcome to visit with our royalty. Kids out singing and playing, farmers selling fresh products, people out for dusk walks and sunrises at the shore.

I wasn’t as lucky as my great grandpa, I was born into our lands long after the dream land died. That’s what I call it- the dream land. Sometimes that’s all I can think about, wishing more than anything I could grow up to build my family, raise my kids and live out my days in a land that even kind of resembles the dream land. Instead I live in a land where wars are fought every day, where our royalty is hidden behind a blockade of warriors never to leave the castle grounds. I grew up in a land where we never walk beyond the war lines, because on the other side is no-mans-land flooded by dragons and bathed in the blood of those who have tried to slay the dragons or their queen. I grew up not knowing what fresh fruits taste like because the land once farmed for fruits is now burned to ash and trampled.

The dragon queen visits us in town often, reminding us to only do enough to survive, to stay within our lined land and to never tread beyond the rules she set. She reminds us that one day she and her dragons, her people and her king will take over the land and we will never be free again…

Tomorrow is my 20th birthday, and like every year I will wish for the same thing, every year since I was old enough to know better I have wished for a ticket back to the dream land. Thing is, wishing is not reality and this year I have chosen reality.

I will fight for our land. I will get back to the dreamland again, even if I die trying.

“HAPPY BIRTHDAY MY PRINCESS” , Came shouting from down the hall!

I jumped out of bed, took a rinse outside with a bucket and immediately began packing my satchel. I dug out all of my drawings, schematics, maps and plans from the box beneath my cott. My parents always thought it was my arts and crafts….

When really I had stashed an entire arsenal of maps, plans, schematics and even a bow and arrow. I loaded every last item including my pendant and I left ensuring my room looked as though nothing was missing.

Today was the day, I stopped by Pams coffee shack and filled my flask with coffee, also stocking up on some rum and soda.

“Jaspy”, I heard from the distance. She jumped on me and yelled “Happy Bday my girl!”.

We both stocked what we needed from the coffee shack and the corner shop, before heading to meet our last team member Jonah.

Shortly later we found Jonah right where we were supposed to and off we went on our trip. We found a small broken fence board on the northside of town in the bush, which was our entrance into no-mans-land, where our journey would begin.

We set up camp and sat down to discuss the plan one last time.

“Okay so we wandered on the edge in the bush heading north until we hear the river running. Once we get there we set up camp again and prepare for phase 2…” Jonah whispered.

“We have to be ready for battling small dragons and a few of the queen's men if we are spotted, so weapons must always be one the ready. No if ands or buts”

Shortly later as the moon set we curled up for sleep while Mara kept look out. It felt like no time had passed when we woke and we packed up with weapons ready to cross the fence line.

We quietly began to climb through the bush and travel towards the Queen’s castle.

As we continued something felt off. There were no signs of dragons or henchmen anywhere. Despite this we continued forward quietly, and following what felt like days we heard the river, so we followed it’s sounds and still on high alert we finally saw the dark murky river right in front of our eyes.

We sat down, still on our toes ready for anything. We dozed of hidden behind some large boulders, listening to river trickling. It felt so peaceful.

When we awoke we were not by the river. We were in cotts in a cool dark room.

We were visited first by a young man who gave us food and water. He didn’t speak.

It was ominous and terrifying. Now I wish to go back home.

When we got up and looked around we realised we were in the Queen's castle.

I could see our entire village from the small windows and I have never felt more alone, more afraid for our life.

My friends, Jonah and Mara were still unconscious. Alive but not awake.

BANG, CHANG, BANG, on the small door,,,, I approached while holding Jonah’s sword and carefully called out “Who is it?

An armoured man open the door, walked in and dumped water on my friends. We were now all awake, scared out of our minds

He proceeded silently to restrain us using ropes, chains and a ball behind us to ensure we couldn’t run.

He uttered a few words :”you shouldn't have come here, time to meet the queen.”.

De dragged us down the haul, up some kind of elevator contraption and then directly into the queen’s room.

The throne slowly spun around to face us…

“Oh dear, what have we here? Oh you insufferable, naive children? What to do with you now?”

She spun back around as we sobbed and pleaded. We begged forgiveness, cried for our dreamland back…

“ENOUGH WITH THIS DREAMLAND YOU SPEAK OF”

“Take them to the dungeon, separately, and let me speak more to the one by the name of Jasper.”

“Ensure they have only a bucket , paper, and a drip tap for water. No food for 30 days. Have them change into a peasants cloth, and package their belongings and bring them to me”

Jonah and Mara were hauled off crying, screaming down to the farthest corner of this kingdom. Stripped of everything and thrown a baggy peasant uniform. Their hair chopped off and provided a raggedy blacket.

Whilst the guards marched back up with bags of their belongings the cries echoed behind them.

Back in the Queen’s room Jasper remained kneeling.

“What was your big plan deary?

“We wanted to take back what was once ours” I uttered…

“We wanted to plan a way to fight for our land back and get rid of you”, I barely even let the words slip though my lips….

“We had a plan, we knew what to do and when we were going to do it”

“This was phase one- infiltrate and find weaknesses”

I started explaining our plans very reluctantly.

“Oh deary, too hopeful, not enough guts.”

She ripped my belongings and weapons away from me…

She had me write a letter to my parents,

June 12

Mother, Father

I have been captured by the queen after trying to carry out a plan to attempt to find a way to weaken her and get our dream land back.

I was foolish and it may cost me my life.

I love you both very much, and continue to pray for our lands return to freedom. I feel ashamed I wasn't able to take the first step.

Don’t try to save me, just move forward, stay strong and ensure the village is as good as it can be. Most importantly, be happy and love always. Smile always.

Love you both, miss you both and I am truly sorry

Goodbye,

Jaspy.

I was dressed in peasant cloth and hauled down to what they call the ‘hole:,

Nobody would hear me, nobody could see me, and there was only a bucket and small tap of water. I was surrounded by stone, deep in the ground but I could hear echoes of screaming detainees. I figure I'll die here.

I pricked my finger and drew a line on a rock, which I plan to do every day as a count for the amount of time I am down here.

Fast forward four days later, Jaspers family receives the letter.

After initial shock and fear they collectively create a group of people ready to take down the queen, take back our land and save the kids.

“We must be ready, pack only what we absolutely need, bring weapons, and lots of energy.’-

“This a battle for more than our kids, it’s for the entire land”

The guard joined in and a team of 54 men and women prepared a map guide, prepared for war and gave it a name.

FREEDOM FIGHTERS, BACK TO THE DREAM- aka Crusade FFBD.

Come rainy morning they began their trek, 54 FFBD warriors dressed in all green began the war that would change their world, or they would die trying.

TO BE CONTINUED, stay tuned

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

JPWrites.2

Hey everyone! just a small town author here writing a bit of everything.

Feel free to email me ideas or just check out my socials!

[email protected]

Insta @Jpwrites.2

Share, follow, enjoy! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.