Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 47

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
1

My body brushed up against hers before our eyes made contact once again. I could feel a smirk spread across my face as I slowly pulled the keys from my back pocket, still not breaking off eye contact. Her hand pressed up against my chest, to which I responded by placing mine over her own.

"You sure you want me to leave?" I whispered softly into her ear as my fingers laced through hers, "I don't have any other place that I need to be." I could sense the nervousness she was feeling just by the bead of sweat forming on her forehead. "I can stay." I whispered once more, wiping her forehead with my thumb.

"N- No." She finally got out, "No. You can't stay." She pushed my hand off hers before bringing her arms up to her chest.

Without saying another word, I just shoved past her and walked out to my truck; not even turning back to see if she was still watching before getting inside and starting down the driveway. I was barely two minutes down the road when I pulled my truck over. My fist slammed against the wheel, accidently setting off the horn. Shit. Thank God not many people come around these parts.

'Get it together, Rev,' I told myself, 'She isn't yours. Obviously, she would have never given in to you like that.' My eyes found my reflection in the rear-view mirror, 'Stop looking at me like that. She belongs to Ace. Not me.' My fist slammed against the driver's side window. 'Fuck! Rev, get it together!' I shouted at myself as I banged my head against the wheel, 'Stop obsessing over her, Rev. She means nothing to you. Nothing. She's just the final piece of the puzzle. Nothing more.' My eyes jotted back up to the reflection in the rear-view mirror as I sat back up in my seat. The reflection of a very young Mars revealed herself in the backseat, repeating the words "remember when you first met me" over and over again. 'Shut it,' I mumbled under my breath. My hands covered my ears as my eyes squeezed tight, 'Just shut the fuck up!' Without even thinking, I started up the truck once more and headed on down the road. There was only one other person I needed to talk to right now.

**

I stood in the doorway as I watched Rev storm out of the house and towards his truck. His body language screamed anger. Was he seriously upset that I told him not to stay? Seriously, Rev. I swear this dude is impossible to read. As soon as his truck began to disappear into the darkness, I closed the door to face the now filled living room. I know I said I couldn't wait for our stuff to finally arrive but unpacking certainly was not on my agenda for tonight.

"We got this, Lex." I whispered to myself as I opened up the closest box towards me. Dishes. Great. After shoving the box into the kitchen, I began to stack each plate and cup neatly into a couple of the cabinets. Of course, I couldn't reach the top shelf, but dad would be happy to fill those shelves up once he's back to good health. After the first box, I started to empty out the boxes in the kitchen. I was already in here so why wouldn't I choose to empty out these boxes first?

My breathing began to rapidly speed up, somehow being simultaneous with his own. A couple bead of sweats began to form at my forehead.

"I can stay." He whispered once more into my ear.

"You shouldn't." I answered back.

"Why not?"

"Wouldn't Ace-"

"Ace isn't here." He hung my arms around his neck before pressing his forehead against mine, "You won't tell him about this, will you?"

"Rev-" I went to say when he crashed his lips into mine. The contact felt as if someone released a ton of butterflies into my stomach.

"You want me to stop?" Rev asked me but I shook my head. My hands found themselves underneath his shirt as my fingertips ran down his skin.

"Don't tell anyone about this." He said as he slammed my body against the door.

"I won't."

"This will be our little secret."

"Understood."

Crash! The sound of the plate hitting the floor broke me from my trance. Once I came back, I realized I had been sitting on my knees on the counter to try and get some more dishes up on the top shelf. Maybe I should've told Rev to stay tonight... he could've done these tasks as I worked on putting away things that didn't involve high shelves. Without thinking of anything else, I carefully hopped off the counter and grabbed a broom to sweep up the mess. If I kept my mind busy, maybe I wouldn't have to think about where my imagination just took me just now.

**

I pulled my truck along the curb outside a crummy looking apartment complex. The bushes outside the door were colored a dark brown and wilted towards the ground. It looked as if they haven't had a Maintenace Man come out to clean the porch in years. Considering how the porch looked exactly as it did the first time Mars and I had met, they probably haven't. Once I got out, a couple of the neighboring kids waved hello to which I just gave a small wave back and headed up towards the door. My eyes scanned the list of names next to the buzzer before finding Mars' family name and pressed the button a couple times.

"We are not interested in whatever you are selling." A female's voice sounded on the other end.

"Sorry to bother you, miss," I quickly spoke out, "I'm looking for Mars."

"Mars?"

"Marie." I rolled my eyes, "I'm a friend of Marie."

"One second." The intercom shut off and I waited in silence. Mars usually comes down to see me. Something about not wanting to meet her parents; whatever, it isn't like I ever cared enough to meet her parents before.

"So, you do use the name Marie." She opened the door to step outside.

"I wouldn't have to if you told your parents about-"

"Not going to happen." She said, "What do you want, Rev?"

"I can't just come to visit."

"You never come to visit."

"Maybe I wanted to do something different this time."

"Did you?"

No. Of course I didn't. "I wanted to talk about when we first met." I found myself just blurting out.

"Why?" She laughed, "You have never been interested in the past be- Wait a second."

"What?"

She smiled, "You cannot just be interested in the past all of a sudden."

"Yes I am." I gulped.

"No." She grabbed ahold of my face so that I could look directly into her eyes, "This is about Lex, isn't it?"

"Why the hell should I give a shit about her?"

"What part of that first day we met would you like to discuss?" She asked, ignoring what I had just questioned, "Maybe you want to discuss how Ace was there to save me from your monstrous ways? Or maybe you wanted to discuss how I immediately felt like a damsel in distress, falling into Ace's arms as he saved me? Or maybe you wanted to talk about how you were constantly up my ass every damn day and practically forced me to hang- oh my god."

"What?"

"Please tell me I didn't just describe how the first encounters with Lex just went for you."

"No."

"Oh my god." She covered her gasp, "She seriously is the new me, isn't she?"

"She can never become the new you." I let her know, "Lex actually sticks to her nickname."

She flipped me the bird.

"Not to mention how her father actually know who Ace and I are." I let out.

"I'm sure she totally chose for her father to meet the both of you." Mars chuckled, "Did she physically introduce you three, or did he just happen to show up the same time you were with Lex?"

"Shut up."

"I mean-" Mars spoke out, "If you want to meet someone's dad, I can introduce you to mine. He's been dying to meet the man that broke his little girl's heart." She clutched onto her chest, pretending to grab ahold of her heart.

"Mars."

"I'm just saying."

"I never broke your heart."

"Sure."

"I didn't." I told her, "Last I checked-"

"Rev," She spoke out, "I was just joking around. Change the subject."

Yes ma'am. "I was just-"

"I'm just going to go back upstairs." Mars went to enter the building once again when I reached out, grabbing ahold of her wrist causing her to flinch in response.

"Sorry."

"It's fine." She replied, "Didn't I tell you everything you needed to know?"

"How'd you know you fell for me?" I asked all of a sudden.

She laughed, "I'm sorry?"

"Did you fight against it?"

"You can't make Lex fall for you."

"I know that."

"No." She cupped my cheeks with one hand, "Tell me that you fully understand that you cannot just make someone fall in love with you."

I pushed her hand off my face, "It's just a question."

"Rev."

"Obviously, I'm not going to force feelings onto her." I raised my hands up, "I just- I don't know."

"You're smitten."

"Shut up."

"You are." She smiled, "You are completely smitten with her."

"I have n- Shut up."

"It's alright, you know." She patted my shoulder, "The ability to have a crush on someone else is the proof you need to show everyone that you are actually of the human race."

My middle finger shot up, "I'm just going to go."

"Make sure you give Lex a congratulations from me the next time you see her!" She shouted out, "It isn't every day that someone can break the mysterious bad boy that is Rev."

"Just go deal with your father, Mars." I flipped her off once more as I walked back towards my truck.

"It's Marie, jackass."

Whatever. The door to her front entrance closed and I was able to watch through the barely tinted windows Mars walking towards the stairs before she disappeared from my sight. Hopping back into my truck and heading back down the road, I couldn't help but think back to that very first day; thinking back to the comparisons between meeting both Mars and Lex. Mars couldn't be right. No. Lex isn't her. She's nowhere near being who Mars was... who Mars is. Meeting Lex wasn't just a coincidence. Meeting Lex wasn't just me repeating what I had lost in the past. No. My fists slammed against the steering wheel. Fuck! What the hell is happening to me?! Fuck. Fuck. Fuck.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.