Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 14

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Disclaimer: This story has multiple parts. To read the previous part, you can click here.

"Lex?" "Lex."

Something shook my body, causing me to open my eyes. "Dad?" I rubbed my eyes, "What's happened?"

"Don't you want to go to school?"

"My alarm hasn't gone off yet. Let me just-"

"School starts in half an hour, so if you don't want to be late.. I recommend you get up now."

"But my alarm was supposed to-" I grabbed my phone and turned on the screen. A missed alarm. Shit. I slept in. "I'll get ready dad. Just wait for m-"

"I'm not going sweetie. You should be able to learn the way so you'll know how to get there for the rest of the year."

"I'm unable to do that while you're driving the car?"

He shook his head, closing the door behind him as he walked out. I immediately jumped out of bed, grabbed a plain outfit from my suitcase, and headed straight to the bathroom.

I took a glance into the mirror. My hair was an absolute mess, as it always was when I woke up in the morning. My eyes looked as if they had gotten zero hours of sleep.. but I'd probably have to get used to this feeling. I turned the faucet on, splashing water onto my face. Memories of yesterday began to flood the back of my mind. The kiss. The groceries. Rev's words as he left last night. What the hell did Rev mean when he mentioned that Ace had something to ask me? What did Ace want to ask? For me to leave? Smh.. sounds like him, to be honest. I stepped over the side of the tub, turning the water on before quickly closing the curtain to keep the water from escaping out. "Maybe he really did have something important to tell me," I thought to myself. But why would he, out of all people, have something important to tell me?

"Why did you want to talk to me?" I asked Ace, staring into his cute emerald green eyes. I found myself getting lost in them the longer I stared.

"I just wanted to ask.." his voice began to trail off.

"Ask what?"

"..do you want to.."

"Oh for God's sake, finish the sentence you big goof."

"..have more than what we had?" He had a half smirk spread across his face."

"What?" My mouth fell open in shock. What did he mean by more than what we had? We had nothing. Absolutely nothing.

He came closer, his hands interlocking with mine. His body slowly inching it's way closer as he lulled me closer. Soon enough, his lips were above my head. I just wanted to kiss them. I wanted to rip his shirt off right then and there. His hands guided themselves down to my waist, and then to my hips before they squeezed a hold of my bum.

"You like that, don't you?" He smirked.

My eyes opened again. I was about to wash my hair before realizing I had already done what I was suppose to do. What the hell was that all about? Why did I have that dream? How did I have that dream? I shut the water off and slipped out of the tub before wrapping my naked body in the towel that had been placed nicely on the hook hanging next to the shower.

I stepped back into the mirror and stared at myself for a few seconds before drying off my body and sliding on my underwear. I clasped my bra before tossing my shirt over my head. After, I slipped into the pair of skinny jeans and brushed out my hair. After taking a second fixing my outfit in the bathroom mirror so that it looked perfect, I double checked my hair once more. I pushed my hair over the shoulder but it looked way too weird. I pushed one side of my hair behind the right ear, pulling the left side over my shoulder.. but it still looked weird. I just decided to wrap my hair up in a ponytail, taking an extra strip out of the tail and braiding it before pinning it up against the top of my scalp just above the ponytail. Better. I took one last glance in the mirror before allowing a smile to run across my face.

"Lex?" My father knocked on the bathroom door, "You get ready, yet?" He knocked once more.

"Almost." I checked once more before opening the door and throwing my finger up in the air, "Almost done." I ran back into my room to grab my bag and rushed back into the living room. The new supplies I just brought were still in my car, all ready to go. I just needed to place them into my schoolbag.

I smiled at my dad as I hung the bag over my shoulder, "Now I'm ready."

He handed over his car keys, causing me to let out a sigh as I grabbed them. He handed me a small plastic baggie with a sandwich inside, which I shoved into my bag before issuing him a thank you.

"Good luck at school, Princess."

I waved before walking out towards the car. Unlocking the door and throwing the bag into the passenger seat, I slid into the driver's seat and locked the car door before I even had a chance to turn the car on. I stared at the house for a second before I backed out of the driveway. My eyes shifted back and forth between both the back and front windows until I got back onto the main road. Once I started to drive forward, my eyes kept shifting to the side of the road as a car began to become more into view. My eyes looked away immediately as I drove past it, hoping it wasn't who I thought it was. I let out a sigh of relief as I drove past and saw nobody sitting inside or standing next to the car.

A loud bang sounded throughout the car. The car began to spin out of control. My hands gripped tightly to the seat as my eyes widened in fear. My eyes shifted towards the back window to see a large truck behind us; the driver, yet blurred, resembled that of a broad man with a small temper. A loud horn sounded. Beads of sweat ran down my cheeks. Something smashed into us once more.

"Get out," a voice echoed throughout my mind. I couldn't find myself to move.

"C'mon little girl, just get out." The same voice echoed throughout my mind once more.

I slammed my foot on the brake before scanning my eyes around the outside of the car. Nothing, not even a single car, was in sight. My breathing began to speed up as my chest rose even more.

"C'mon little girl.. just come on out." The sound of tapping glass ran throughout the car.

"Hello?" My voice sounded weak.

"Hop on out.. we're here to keep you safe."

I crawled out, but a sharp pain rushed through my body. I was barely able to even stand on my two feet. "Wha- What happened?"

"You were in a car crash, little lady. But don't worry. Nothing bad happened to you."

My eyes widened. My mind told me to panic and flee, but my legs disagreed.

"Don't worry. Your mom had been rushed to the hospital the second we arrived on scene. We wanted to make sure she'll be okay."

I slowly let out a breath. My eyes turned onto the crowd of people surrounding the sidewalk near our accident site. Something laid across the sidewalk, unable to move, so.. out of life.

My foot slammed on the brake as my head jerked up, "Holy shit."

"Lex!" A girl banged on my window, "Let me in Lex. Let me in!'

Series
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.