Fiction logo

Dreamer - Chapter 13

don't be fooled by what others tell you

By MelPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

Disclaimer: This story has multiple parts. To read the previous part, you can click here.

As the car pulled into the driveway, I found myself staring out the window watching as all the trees fell behind. It almost felt as if they had been running along next to the car, unable to catch up. Suddenly everything came to a sudden stop and my arm flew up and gripped my dads arm as my nails carved into his skin. "Dad!" I shouted out.

"Sorry, Princess." He replied softly.

I gave a slight smile and stepped out the car, walking up the porch and impatiently waiting for my dad to come over and open the door. "I think I'm going to be needing a house key," I groaned out, shivering as the wind brushed past my shoulders.

He chuckled.

"I'm serious dad."

"Really?"

I nodded, "Well yeah. What would I do if I came home from school or something and you weren't here to open the door?" I shrugged, "I was just thinking out loud.."

"I could always leave the door unlocked."

"No!" My tone sounded way harsher than I meant it to but that was an obvious no, "Leaving the door unlocked always attracts intruders." I hoped my dad never looked into my statement. I never usually cared about intruders before. Dad always left the door unlocked for me at our old house, and I never had a problem with it. It's just.. meeting someone like Rev.. that changes the way a person sees and does things. Meeting someone who seems so dangerous.. so sick in the head.. so completely out of his mind that he may actually break into a person's house simply to just destro it, that's what terrified me. Rev could break in and- I closed my eyes. No. I won't let that happen. Rev will never be able to get to my dad. I won't let it happen. No.

Dad placed his hand on my shoulder, "Lex, what's wrong?"

"What?"

"You were saying how something couldn't happen and just went silent."

"It was nothing." I pointed to the door before realizing that it had already been open and ran straight to my room. I placed the phone back on the charger and walked back out towards the kitchen. I opened the fridge and my eyes widened at the goodies stacked inside, "Did you go shopping?"

"No. Why? Was I supposed to?"

I took another glance into the fridge that had been mysteriously filled and confusion filled my face. I walked back towards dads' room when I saw a darkened shadow standing in the back window. "Dad?"

"What is it?" He stepped into the kitchen.

"Do you want to relax and just chill?" I asked him. "We could watch a movie or-" I went to say before remembering we didn't have a tv or a player at the moment, "-or something on our phones."

"I'd love to, but we always usually go our separate ways when we chill. Unless you want to watch toget-"

"Nah." I smiled weakly, "You can go rest. I'll manage."

"Okay." He headed back into his bedroom and closed the door.

I took a step closer towards the window and closed the blinds before walking back towards my own bedroom when the backdoor made a creaking sound. I turned back around as panic and horror flushed through my face. "Who's there?" I asked, complete terror revealing itself in my eyes.

"Nobody important." A voice carried out.

"Who the f-"

"You should know me by now. I did just almost kill your boyfriend."

"He's not my boyfriend, Rev." I folded my arms across my chest as I gave him a stern look.

"Great," He stepped out into the open, "You do remember me."

"What the hell are you doing in my house?"

"You were out of food so I just figured I'd be nice and go out to buy you some.. is this really how you're going to thank me?"

"So you just go out of your way to buy food for people you've barely met? I wouldn't even be surprised if you poisoned it as well. I'd figure you'd want me dead, like you did with Ace." My choice of words felt rude the second they left my lips, but talking to Rev.. I didn't feel an ounce of bad after choosing the words I say. He did sort of deserve the disrespect after our first night together.

He grabbed his chest, pretending to have suffered from some form of heartache, "Can't people just decide to do good, neighborly things for others?"

"You can't."

"You don't even know me."

"I know enough to kick you out," I pointed towards the back door where he came in from, "Get the hell out of my house."

He pulled me in by the hips so that our bodies were pressed together, "You are so fucking beautiful, did you know?" His voice sounded slurred, "Ace is such a lucky man for finding you."

"Leave me the fuck alone."

His fingers ran along my neck, pushing some hair behind my hair in the process, "So majestic.. so valuable.. so prized."

His fingers ran up along my neck, pushing some hair behind my ear. “So majestic. So valuable. So prized."

"I'm not some little show dog you can call yours." I tried to weave myself out of his grip but he held on tighter, "Just leave now before I go get my dad." I focused my eyes on his bedroom door to try and show Rev that I just had to scream for his attention. Of course it still didn't work. I had no idea why I thought it would.

"You really think he'll scare me?"

I nodded. Of course I didn't.

"I can just kill him. You do remember that I have a gun, don't you?"

"You kill him and I'll-"

"You'll what?"

"I'll ki- I'll kill A-"

"Ace?"

"I don't know that much about your damn clique alright."

He backed off, "The circle?"

"Yeah."

"How much did he tell you?"

"Nothing. That's the point. You tell me nothing, yet you expect me to do everything you say. I just wanted to move here and have a normal life in a new town. That means getting a chance to go to school, graduate, and-"

"School sucks. Just drop out. That's what I did."

"I'm not going to drop out."

He threw his hands up in self defense, "Damn. Calm down, Princess."

I sighed at his words.

"But since you did decide to associate with us, there's no way you can have a normal life." He added.

"You were the ones who associated yourselves with me."

"How's that?"

Is he being serious? "Does driving down my driveway in the middle of the fucking night ring any bells?"

"I didn't realize this house was actually occupied.. that's why I originally drove up the driveway. I was just going to hang out for a bit.. this used to be my h-" he stopped, "I have to go."

What?

"Ace has an invitation the next time you go to see him. Just maybe, if you decide that you wanted to go, you can learn more about the circle. Just don't make any other plans for Saturday."

"And what if I do?"

He grabbed my wrist, "You better not make any goddamn plans for Saturday, understand?"

I nodded.

"Good." He let go and left sing the backdoor. I immediately locked the door before going back to my room.

You better not make any goddamn plans for Saturday.

What if I didn't actually want to go with him.. or with any of them for that matter? What is wrong with him? Why does it seem as if he's enjoying this? Why does he want me to hang out with him this damn much? I grabbed my pajamas and carried them into the bathroom.

I stared into the bathroom mirror at the face looking back at me. She looked so helpless. So needy. She looked so lost and afraid; lost in a world to come and afraid for the mistakes she's afraid she'll end up creating next. I placed my hand against the mirror, looking down before looking back up at the reflection once more.

"Do you like Ace?" I asked the emotionless face staring back at me. "Why did you kiss him?" My eyes closed as those words left my lips.

Why did you kiss him? Why did you have to gain feelings for someone like.. him? Why did you-

The bathroom door creaked open. I stepped out, wearing only my pajama top and a pair of underwear, getting prepared to kick out Rev once again when I saw someone else. Ace. Except he had been standing over in the kitchen eating a pickle from the fridge.

"Why aren't you in the hospital?" I found myself asking.

He didn't speak. He just walked up to me, reaching out to grab my throat and pulling me closer so that our bodies were almost intertwined with each other's before he sunk his hands down to my hips.

"What are y-"

"Don't speak." He finally spoke. He scooped me into his arms and threw me over the couch, "Don't you dare fucking speak."

"Ace, what are y-"

"Did I just fucking stutter?" It wasn't until he came back around the couch that I finally noticed what he was holding in his hand. He grabbed me by the hair and pulled me upwards, holding the knife against my cheek with his other hand, "Why did you have to go and kiss me, you fucking skank?"

"I didn't mean to do it.. I swear." I pleaded, "I'm so sorry. I didn't mean to. Honest."

"Bullshit."

"Ace. Please." I felt tears start to slip out.

"Rev was right about you." He said, "You are a piece of shit who'll just waste my time. I should have just let him finish you off that night."

"Ace!" I shouted. "You don't want to do th-"

He jammed the knife into the side of my throat. My last sight of anything being his face; that stupid sly smile of his curved upwards as he stared back into my lifeless eyes. "Goodbye you little skank."

I opened my eyes before turning the faucet on the splash some cold water onto my face. "Stop," I told myself before switching my clothes for my pajamas. I went ahead and brushed my teeth before splashing some more cold water against my face once more.

"Don't think like that," I told my reflection, "He's your poison, but he would never hurt you."

At least I hoped for that to be true. I reentered my bedroom and walked over to the little homemade bed I made last night to prepare to go to sleep. I bent down and got under the covers before turning to my side and setting an early alarm on my phone.

I closed my eyes.

You better not make any goddamn plans for Saturday.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.