Fiction logo

Dragons!

Coping with the loss

By Kris GriffithPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1
Dragons!
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

“Damn it was cold, like really cold, the kind of cold that hurts when you breathe. I still don’t really know why I was out there in that kind of weather.”

“You were pretty young when that happened. How old were you?”

“Three or Four probably.”

“Where were your parents?”

“I wish I could remember that. I heard they used to be part of the Hunt.”

“The Hunt?”

“Ah, come on Doc, you can’t pretend like you have never heard of the Great Hunt?”

“I thought it was a myth. Are you saying that dragons actually existed?”

“Of course, they did. Where do you think all the burn fields came from? The dragons almost destroyed us! If it wasn’t for the brave people who went out to hunt them, we would have been wiped out.”

“Dragons seem like they were a serious problem for you.”

“A problem for me? Are you serious? They were a problem for us! How could you not even remember them?”

“Seems to me like this memory is far too strong with you. What kind of emotions does it stir up for you?”

“Huh, like how do I feel when I think about it?”

“Yes, how do you feel?”

“Angry”

“What is your anger trying to say to you?”

“Its trying to tell me that I am wasting my time here. I am here to talk about my family and the dragons that took them, and you just want to talk about my feelings? What am I paying you for?”

“Oh, I see that emotion has a lot to say today. Your anger seems to be a coping mechanism for your loss.”

“What do you know of my loss? Don’t talk to me like you know anything about me. You weren’t there to see the chaos that we were in, were you?”

“Why would that matter? I am here for you, not for ghosts.”

“No, you are here for my ghosts, because they are a part of me.”

“And now you are finally starting to get it. We are all a product of our choices. We have a past that is full of memories because of those choices. What kind of counselor would I be if I allowed you to ignore that?”

“Are you implying that I had something to do with my parents disappearing?”

“I don’t know, did you?”

“No, I mean I don’t think so. I was just a little kid when they got snatched.”

“They got snatched?”

“I don’t remember.”

“Why don’t you remember”

“Its all blurry. I don’t think I had anything to do with them disappearing.”

“But you just said they got snatched. Were they snatched or did they disappear?”

“What do you want out of me.”

“I want you to face what really happened.”

“I don’t know what really happened.”

“I believe you do.”

“What makes you think that? And why did you smirk when you said you think that I know what happened to them?”

“I just feel like we are on the edge of a break through. I have been working on showing less emotion in my face. I have a hard time containing my excitement when we are near a break through.”

“So, you are free to bottle up your emotions but I need to confess all of mine?”

“You came to me for help, not the other way around. I am here to help you.”

“Hmmm, I don’t really remember coming to you- or anyone else for help.”

“Then how did you end up in my office today?”

“I don’t really remember. Did I wake up here?”

“Your memory loss is worse than I expected. We really have some work to do.”

“Seriously, how did I get in your office? How did I contact you? Who the hell are you?”

“I can see why you are considered to be a tragedy by this whole town.”

“Oh, can you now?”

“You can’t remember important details about your past and that forces you to lash out in anger. Your emotions hold the key to these memories.”

“I don’t even know your name doctor. You know what? I am just going to leave!”

“Oh, I wish you hadn’t said that. You know you can’t leave.”

“Why not? It’s a free country, isn’t it?”

“Free for most people yes, but not for you. You can’t leave this space.”

“I knew it, I did wake up here, didn’t I?”

“In a matter of speaking, yes. You could say you woke up here.”

“Why do you have to speak in riddles? Give me the answers strait without all the crap that goes along with your profession.”

“My profession speaks in riddles?”

“You do. Why can’t you just answer my question?”

“Because I want to see if you can remember the answer.”

“Let’s see, what was I doing before I ended up here? I don’t know. It seems like I saw mom and dad get snatched by a dragon and then I was here.”

“Interesting”

“Its coming back to you. This is good. What did the dragon look like?”

“Well, it had an average build for a dragon, maybe even a little smaller than other ones I have seen.”

“You saw others?”

“Not all together, but I had seen other ones before.”

“Was this one like the others?”

“No, this one was different. It had an almost yellow color to it. It seemed more…. Cocky I guess.”

“Interesting thought. Why would a dragon be cocky?”

“Maybe it believed it was better than other dragons.”

“I am sure it was too.”

“Why would you say that?”

“What do you know of dragons?”

“I know they burn stuff.”

“Is that all you know about them?”

“I remember someone saying one time that they had talents, like we do, but theirs were more amplified than ours.”

“Talents? In dragons?”

“Like some could fly really fast, or had exceptional strength.”

“Were any of them considered more formattable than the rest?”

“The ones everyone seemed to fear were the ones that could… play… with… your… mind. Oh shit!”

“Like I said, that dragon really was better than the rest.”

“What are you going to do with me?”

“Well, a family needs to eat, don’t they?”

“I am to be food?”

“And we are almost to the nest. My children are still learning how to eat their food. Don’t worry, I will be out of your head then. I wouldn’t want to rob you of that experience.”

FantasyMysterySci FiShort StoryYoung AdultAdventure
1

About the Creator

Kris Griffith

I have been away from creative writing for many years. I am trying to rediscover who I am through my writings. Come join in the journey!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.