Fiction logo

Dragon's Bane II: Episode One

The Tale of Sir Orin: Part I

By S.K. WilsonPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
The Tale of Sir Orin: Part I

Welcome to Threll read the worn wooden sign on the side of the road. Sir Orin had just passed the borders between Threll and the savage lands. As his horse trotted along the path, another sign started to become clearer until he could read it.

Elor - 2 miles

“Good, a town. I can find food and equipment there and do some quests.” Said Orin, pleased he started near a town this time.

He travelled along the path towards the town for a while, along the way he was greeted by some townsfolk. They briefly exchanged pleasantries and then each continued their own journey. Eventually Orin came across a group of bandits, they were hanging a man from a tree and were about to remove the step that was supporting the man from hanging. Orin had a choice to let the event happen, or to intervene and stop the hanging.

Orin took an arrow from his quiver and strung it on his longbow, carefully taking aim. Just as one of the bandits kicked the step from under the man Orin released his arrow, it flew straight and true, tearing through the rope and the man fell safely to the ground. The bandits turned their attention towards Orin and started charging at him, in quick succession he unleashed three more arrows, each one piercing the chest of one of the bandits. Now only one remained, as fear gripped him he turned and ran away, the man with the rope still around his hands and neck got up from the ground and chased after the bandit for a moment.

“If I catch you, I’ll tear your eyes out, you dog!” screamed the man.

Orin got down from his horse and met the man, and cut the bonds around his hands, once he was free he removed the noose from around his neck. “Thank you kind sir, I owe you my life.”

“It was nothing, glad to be of service,” Orin said while bowing slightly, “Tell me sir, what is your name?”

“My name is Eian, I am a blacksmith from Elor.”

“Glad to make your acquaintance, I’m heading to Elor if you care for a lift?” offered Orin.

“Thank you again sir,” said Eian as they both got onto Orin’s horse, “I will repay your kindness.”

“Tell me, Why did those bandits try to hang you Eian?” asked Orin as the horse began to trot down the path once more.

“Well sir, they wanted me to craft them weapons out of dragon bone, I refused as it is forbidden to forge weapons from dragon bone unless requested directly from the King. It is also a precious resource, as you can imagine dragon bones are not easy to come by.”

“No, I imagine not. Do you know where these bandits got theirs?”

“I didn’t ask, I just refused to forge the weapons. Not only because it is forbidden, but they are not the types that should wield such powerful weapons.”

“Powerful?” asked Orin.

“Even in its natural state dragon bone is stronger than most metals, and proper forging techniques can create a weapon that can cut through stone without dulling the blade. I am one of the few smiths I know that has the knowledge to forge the weapons, I would only ever use that knowledge to serve the King.”

“For that they would kill you? These bandits, where do they come from?”

“I am not sure, something unsettles me about how much dragon bone they had. To amass that much you would need to slay dozens of dragons, if not more!”

“Well if my eyes do not deceive me, you are home and safe now.” Said Orin as they approached the town.

They arrived at the gates of the town, Eian directed Orin to his workshop and a place he could leave the horse with feed and water, then Eian led Orin to the town tavern where he regaled all the patrons of Sir Orin’s bravery and marksmanship, leading the townsfolk in ‘Huzzah’s’ and celebrations far into the night.

Orin awoke the next morning and found that there was a place set for him at the table of Eian’s house, he sat with Eian for breakfast. A woman carried a tray of food and laid it on the table.

“Ahh, Sir Orin. May I introduce my lovely wife Isabelle,” said Eian, “The greatest cook this side of the great river! And not a bad seamstress too.”

“Hush you, you embarrass me.” Said Isabelle, blushing at her husband's praise.

“It is a pleasure to meet you m’lady, thank you kindly for this marvellous feast. It looks incredible, and smells even better!”

As they ate and drank all sorts of delicious foods, they discussed the rising dragon problem in the land of Threll, Orin’s search for Eva, and where the next major city was. Interspersed with Eian’s constant praise of his wife.

After breakfast Eian showed Orin a map of Threll, showing him where Elor was in context to the castle, it was at least a three day ride. Orin spent the next few hours gathering equipment and supplies for his journey. He said farewell to Eian, who was still insistent that he travel with Orin at least till the next town.

“I thank you for the offer, friend, but this journey must be mine. It is my quest, and I must undertake it alone.”

Eian eventually agreed, but refused to let Orin leave without a new sword, it was a rapier like his old one, but Orin had never seen its equal, both in the blade and the hilt. Eian then left to attend to some business on the other side of town.

As Orin finished loading up his horse and was about to leave, Isabelle stopped him, and handed him a small package. He opened it up and inside was a delicate silk handkerchief, embroidered with intricate flowers in amazing detail.

“For Eva, when you find her.” She said, smiling up at him.

“Thank you Isabelle, and thank you for all your hospitality. I hope to see you both again.” Orin said as he started to ride away, he was stopped in his tracks by a deafening scream from the other side of town. He then saw flames starting to stream out of one of the houses.

“BANDITS!” bellowed Eian as he came running back towards Orin, he ran into his shop and brought out a massive broadsword and charged back to the bandits who were now in the town square. Orin recognised one of them as the one who ran away the day before.

“Quick Orin, ride away before they see you,” Said Isabelle as she too came out of the workshop with a short bow and a quiver of arrows. She began to take aim and fire, taking out three bandits in quick succession, “Go on! We’re used to bandit attacks, go!”

While she was turned, a bandit charged at her and nearly hit her with the mace he carried, stopped just in time by an arrow to the neck. The bandit fell to the ground, and Orin was off his horse joining the fight with the townsfolk, between him and Isabelle’s archery most of the attackers were dealt with. Eian had the few that were out of range taken care of with his massive sword. Until he finally found the one from the hanging.

“You going to run again, coward?” scorned Eian as he cornered the bandit.

“Not today blacksmith! This time I will take you out myself.” Said the bandit as he charged at Eian.

On the other side of town Orin was now engaging in swordplay with two bandits while Isabelle still stayed back and held any others at a distance, the moment one tried to enter the fray they were promptly put down by one of her arrows.

Orin duelled with the two bandits, both were better at swordplay than any others they had fought yet, he had to carefully position them so they were on either side of him.

“Got him cornered now.”

They both went in for a lunge attack, at the exact moment that neither one could back out of the attack, Orin dove to the ground and the bandits ran each other through with their swords.

Eian stabbed his broadsword down into the shoulder of the bandit, he had been no challenge for the blacksmith, he heard a whistle and felt something fly past his face and heard the sickly squelch as it landed in flesh, he looked behind him to see one last bandit on the ground, an arrow poking out of his eye. Turning back to the source he saw his wife smile at him. He ran over to her and they embraced, he saw Orin walking back over cleaning his new sword.

“I’m now doubly glad I gave you that blade, looks like we have you to thank yet again.” He said to Orin, patting him on the shoulder as he spoke.

“It is a fine blade indeed. Once again, I simply did what I thought was right. I couldn’t leave you to the mercy of the bandits knowing I was partly responsible for bringing them here. However it seems now-”

Orin was interrupted by a shrieking woman, she was followed by a few other townsfolk, all wailing and screaming.

“They’ve taken my boys!” She said, “They took my boys!”

“…And my daughter!” said another.

“…And my son!”

One by one a few more came forward to proclaim their children had been taken in the attack.

“They must have been after the children the whole time,” said Eian, “The attack was a distraction for taking the children.”

“Have they ever attacked like this before?” inquired Orin

“They’ve attacked a few times, usually more in the winter for supplies, but they have never taken children before.” Answered Isabelle.

“You are a brave knight sir. You can find the children for us.” Said one of the townsfolk.

Orin looked at the townsfolk, their faces pleading with him to stay and help but his mind reminding him of his main quest and desire to find Eva. He looked into Eian’s eyes, they said it all, his new friend desperately wanted the help but was himself too kind to burden Orin with another of their problems.

“My friend… My bow and sword are at your service to aid you in this search.” Said Orin to roars of joy from the townsfolk.

“But… your search?” said Isabelle

“What kind of knight who does not help the innocent deserves to find a Princess of his own?”

The townsfolk went to mend wounds and buildings while Eian and Orin started to discuss their plan for finding the bandit hideaway as they moved towards Eian’s house.

“I have an idea… someone who might know where the hideout is.” Smirked Eian.

“Who?” asked Orin as they moved back towards where Eian had been fighting, stepping over the bodies of dead bandits.

“Our good friend from yesterday… he should have stuck around this time.”

They moved to where Eian had fought the bandit, he was still there. Stuck to the ground by Eian’s giant broadsword.

“Now my friend,” said Eian as he stood over the bandit, “We need to find your friends, and I think you’re going to help us…”

Eian gripped his sword and pulled it out of the bandit’s shoulder, the bandit howled with pain and tried to crawl away but the pain was too much and he could not make it more than a few feet.

“Please… please don’t kill me! I’ll tell you where they are! I promise. Just don’t kill me!” he screamed in fear at Eian.

“Kill you? Oh no, my friend. I’m not going to kill you. You see, a dead man can not take me to his camp. Now… let’s get that scratch looked at shall we?”

Game Paused by Player One - Progress Saved

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

S.K. Wilson

She/Her | Australian 🏳️‍⚧️ Author

My short form writing mostly falls into the absurd, strange and nonsensical. I enjoy writing micro-fiction collections, been dabbling in poetry.

Debut Arthurian fantasy novel out now! The Knights of Avalon

🩷

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.