Fiction logo

Dragon Born

Humans with the powers of dragons

By Katarzyna CrevanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dragon Born
Photo by Jade Lee on Unsplash

"Why are you protecting it?" Marcus calls to the girl.

The girl turns around to face us. Her hand still rests gently on one of the daggers on her belt. Her eyes are locked onto Marcus. She arches an eyebrow. "As opposed to, what, exactly?" Another breeze crosses the clearing, ruffling her red hair.

"Tell us where the dragon is."

"Mm, no."

Andrew's temper gets the better of him. "What has that beast done to deserve protection or loyalty?"

The girl's sharp eyes turn on Andrew. "What have you done to earn my cooperation?"

"The dragon will betray you. You do realize that, don't you?" Marcus asks, drawing her eyes back to him.

"Perhaps, but in the meantime, I'll have a grand time," she purrs. She rolls her shoulders back as if she was preparing to stretch.

I swear I see her pendant flash. I study the pendant she's wearing. It looks like some kind of black stone wrapped with some kind of wide silver wire. The flash must have been silver wire catching the sunlight.

"We have orders from the king," Andrew snaps. "Defy us and you defy the king. You'd be committing treason."

The girl rolls her eyes. "You say that like I should care."

"Why you insolent cur," he spits, beginning to draw his sword.

A flash of silver passes right beside his face and he freezes. The girl has a hand outstretched. The dagger it had been resting on is gone.

"That wouldn't be a wise idea," she says, her voice like ice.

Marcus moves so he's between the girl and Andrew. She lets her arm fall. "Consider this a warning. He wants to be left alone."

"I'm afraid we can't do that," Marcus says gently.

"Well then, you'll have to go through me to get to him."

"We don't want to fight you."

"That's the only way you'll get to him." Her pendant flashes again. Only this time, I know it wasn't the silver wire catching the sunlight. The stone had given off a small quick pulse of light.

She's a dragon born. Gideon was right. There was still dragon born alive.

Marcus is reaching for his sword, the girl tilts her head, but she doesn't reach for another one of her weapons. Not that she would need it.

"Marcus," I say.

Marcus glances back at me and I shake my head. He gives me a questioning glance.

The girl laughs. "You should listen to your little friend. He's got his head on straight. Just trying to keep you from losing yours."

"Are you threatening knights of the king?" Andrew growls.

"If I were threatening you, you wouldn't have to ask. You would know."

Andrew brushes around Marcus and marches right up to the girl, stopping inches from her. "You listen to me. That dragon has messed with your head. It is a threat. Stand down and let us do our job."

"I don't take orders from you."

"Andrew, no!" I shout, but it's too late to stop him.

His hand shoots out to grab her arm. Her pendant flashes even brighter than before, and faster than I can follow, she's flipped Andrew over, and now stands over him, one hand pointed down at him, a blue flame flickers inches blow the hand pointed at Andrew.

Andrew's eyes are wide in shock and fear. "That threat," she hisses, "Is the only reason I'm alive. And, if it wasn't for that threat's training, you'd already be dead. Twice."

"Dragon born" Marcus whispers.

The girl's eyes flick up to meet his. "How perceptive of you," she says, voice dripping sarcasm. She sighs, raising her hand to watch the flickering blue flame. "Like I said. He wants to be left alone. Consider this, your last warning." She closes her hand, killing the flame. With that, she walks off into the forest.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Katarzyna Crevan

Hi! I enjoy writing and have been writing for some years now. I hope you enjoy my writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.