Fiction logo

Dragon 3: Tide of the Black Moon (1)

Chapter 50: Shadows of Greenland(3)

By Carmen W KeithPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Dragon 3: Tide of the Black Moon (1)
Photo by Sean Thomas on Unsplash

Manstein nodded his head.

"I was the one who recruited him into the Kassel Academy, but I monitored his movements at all times from the day he enrolled. If he gets out of hand, I will not hesitate to put him on the danger list and arrange for the commissioner to wipe him out. Only the devil can manage the executive department, and those who travel with me are crazy, what sustains us is not feelings but common goals. Since ancient times the secret party is such an organization, our opponents are strong to unparalleled dragon species, if there are still fragile feelings, then we will certainly die!"

"If you can sacrifice anyone for the sake of slaying dragons, why don't you get into the deep submersible yourself?"

Schneider looked up at Manstein and picked up the white porcelain dinner plate from the side and placed it between himself and Manstein, leaving only the silver knife and fork in the empty dinner plate. He suddenly grabbed the dinner knife and stabbed it backhanded into his own heart, sending the whole thing in with a sharp slap on the handle!

Schneider smoked silently and stared into Manstein's eyes without saying a word. The penetrating wound in the chest seemed to be non-existent, and Manstein was dumbfounded. A minute later, Schneider gouged the dinner knife out of the wound, which had already begun to heal, and the knife was tightly embedded in the muscle when Schneider pulled it out. Schneider's face was expressionless and he didn't seem to feel any pain.

"You're tainted!" Manstein said hoarsely.

Schneider threw the knife into the porcelain plate, the knife was hideously bloody: "Yes, I am tainted by the blood of the ancient dragon." The wound quickly stopped bleeding and the muscle grew at a rate visible to the naked eye.

"Only one in 100,000 people can evolve safely after being exposed to the blood of the ancient dragon, and I am the lucky one in 100,000. I could survive from the bottom of the sea because the moment I inhaled the dragon's blood it had begun to stimulate my potential. But I am not fully qualified to receive the dragon blood, it made my body full of holes, strengthening me on one side and destroying me on the other, I have been suffering from severe pain for 11 years. The most likely person in the Academy to degenerate into a dead man is not Chu Zhang, but me. It's not that I don't dare to dive, but my body can't take it. Now sitting in front of you is a dying patient, and if it weren't for the erosion by dragon blood, I would have died long ago."

"Does the principal know?"

"He knows. The Academy has developed a special medical program for me, and I change my blood every year, but dragon blood can never be cleansed, and the time I have left is an unknown." Schneider tapped his heart, "I have a bomb the size of a pacemaker installed next to my heart vessel, if I lose control it will explode and I will suddenly collapse to the ground with a slight explosion and not cause any trouble for any of you."

"Is that cruel to yourself?" Manstein whispered.

"Those who are cruel to others must first learn to be cruel to themselves, otherwise they are just cowards." Schneider said slowly, "Many people thought I would never go on another mission after Greenland and just hunker down and do research because I lost six students in that incident and became the ghost I am now. They felt that someone who had recovered a life from hell should cherish it, but I chose to become head of the executive branch. I was the last person on Team Greenland, and all those young people whose lives were blooming as flowers died, and I survived, and wouldn't it be ridiculous if I were a cowardly fool?"

"What if the Caesar team repeats the mistakes of the Greenland team? How many more students can you stand to have died in front of you?" Manstein asked.

"This is the battlefield of humans and dragons. That's the way it is, and unnecessary mercy will only get more people killed. The first comrade in front of you falls, but you can't afford to panic and grieve, much less throw away your weapons and cower in fear, you can only yell and call out to others to follow you forward. Every inch of the distance under your feet is the fallen guy in front of you with his life back, you stop now, he died in vain. The second man fell, you continue to yell ...... the third man fell, you still yell ...... began to charge can not turn back, there are only two results, the whole army or into the enemy line! But for cowards, there is only one, that is, the whole army is destroyed!"

Manstein stared at Schneider's caracal eyes, silent for a long time: "Friend, you are more and more like the rector. I have the illusion that it was the rector who roared before me and said, 'I am the last of the Lionheart, and as long as I am still fighting, the original Lionheart is not yet finished!'"

"He said that?" Schneider frowned.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Carmen W Keith

I love writting.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.