Fiction logo

Doragontome

Quest for Khyzaimah

By Gorejess StonePublished 2 years ago 18 min read
41
Custom Image by: Katarzyna Anna Śmiech (UŚmiech Art on FB)

“There weren’t always dragons in the valley.” His voice, although a whisper, snapped me out of my thoughts.

“That can’t be right, can it?” I carefully made my way across the room to him.

“Look here,” in his hands, a leather-bound book, its pages discolored with age.

I followed his finger as he read the passage aloud, “The first known sighting of a dragon was during the Great Divide. Believed to be sent by the gods, the creature appeared before a boy of only five years. The dragon is theorized to have hatched on the same day as the human child, Ruckus Pendragon. Over the next decade, Ruckus succeeded in taming the dragon, later using the strength of that bond to unite Kessai under a new title: The King of Dragons.”

“What else does it say?” I eyed the pages warily in the darkness.

With a snap, he closed the book and slid it into his satchel.

“Unless you’d enjoy becoming a prisoner of the empire, we don’t have time to read this now.” His scarlet eyes gleamed in the darkness.

“Let’s get out of here before the guards make their next round.” Inching my way towards the window we’d come in through, I gave the room one last glace.

“We can always come back.” He moved past me, offering me a hand up.

Thoughts circled my mind like a fish in a pond. Question after question swam around unanswered. Mindlessly, I followed him out of the window where Fafner waited to bring us down to safety.

“I can tell you’re stuck in that head of yours again, Ry.” His voice cut through the cloudy thoughts like a bolt of lightning.

“I’ve known the Pendragons to be the only royal family, chosen by the great dragon. I’d never considered the why, or when. It is a scary thought; how complacent we’ve all been. That short passage changes so much, and yet it changes nothing at all.” I sighed as we hurried on to our next destination; Lake Mizumi.

“Ry.” His hand slipped into mine with a reassuring squeeze.

“It’s too dangerous to keep hiding them. We’ll be sentenced to death for treason and theft.” I chewed my lip nervously.

“I would never let that happen, Ry.” His words settled somewhere deep in my chest.

“Don’t make promises you can’t keep.” I nudged his shoulder playfully.

The rest of the journey was peaceful and silent, at least on the surface. My mind, a whirlwind of emotion, scattered the clues I’d gathered like dust in the wind. I needed to piece them together. It was imperative that I do so, for our dragon’s safety, as well as our own.

Cadmus and I had only just met. Both orphaned by our families at only five years, we’d stumbled upon our dragons. Hydra, a beautiful sea serpent, with glittering scales of differing shades of blue and green, had eyes of gold, just like mine. I’d found her in a cave the very same day my family abandoned me, swimming in an underground pond. While she enjoys water immensely, she doesn’t require it to survive. Much like Fafner, she can fly but is much faster in the water.

Cadmus had a similar tale, only his family left him atop a mountain in Yama, where he stumbled upon a squat, fat, little dragon with scales of sunshine orange, and eyes as red as rubies. Quite fitting for a fire dragon, just as Hydra’s scales complimented her aquatic love.

It no longer seemed a coincidence that our eyes matched those of our reptilian friends. Nor did it seem like happenstance we’d met, or that our families happened to abandon us at just the right time, in just the right place to find them.

I’d wondered often why my life turned out like this. I’d been alone for so long, that aside from Hydra, I’d not spoken to anyone, or should I say, anything, in quite some time when Cadmus found me. He’d been watching me for a while, wondering if my strange, snake-like creature was a dragon, like his Fafner. I’d never thought to look for anyone else, because in the Empire of Kessai, it was illegal to own a dragon, not that they were found in the wild. The only known dragon remaining, was the Great Dragon, the symbol of Kessai’s Royal family.

Written into law so long ago that its origin has since been forgotten, capture and breeding of dragons is illegal, making the royal family the most power in the land. Without the dragon’s power, the royal guard could be easily overpowered by any state militia. During the Great War, there must have been something to spark that legislation. Was it the god’s gift of a dragon or was it greed amongst the royal family? Were they meant to keep the throne, or were they meant to relinquish it eventually?

As we neared the edge of the lake, I whistled loudly, alerting Hydra to our arrival. To keep the risk of our break-in operation to a minimum, we’d asked her to stay behind. I can’t understand dragon, but I’d be willing to bet she was more than just a little upset by that decision. She’d rarely left my side in the last fifteen or so years, making it easy to imagine how distraught she’d have been when left all alone.

Her fin broke the surface, sending waves lapping at the shoreline. With an ear-splitting howl, she snaked her way out of the water and wrapped her soaking wet scales around my body. As if her emotions were my own, a single tear slid down my cheek as relief washed over me. I attempted to return her embrace, which was stiflingly tight.

“You’re going to break her, Hydra.” Cadmus chuckled as he stroked the top of her head.

A warm smile crept across my face as Hydra loosened her grip and nuzzled Cadmus’ open palm with affection and understanding. I’d never imagined Hydra would fall in love with another human. Both she and Fafner enjoyed the company of their human counterparts immensely, but when it came to every other person on the planet, they couldn’t be bothered.

Perhaps that’s why I choose to trust Cadmus so easily, and Cadmus I. There was never a single moment since we’d met that Fafner was wary of me or Hydra of Cadmus. Just like when we’d stumbled upon them initially, they’d taken to us easily, and with open, clear affections. It was almost as if we were meant to be together, the four of us, but after so many years in isolation, I feared to even hope for something more. At any moment, the world could be turned on its head, not just for our little family, but for the world.

That had never been truer than now. The Empire of Kessai had, as far as I knew, worshiped the Pendragon family for their ability to control the dragons and unite the territories. Even our oldest fables painted the royal family as heroes meant to reign over Kessai for eternity, but why were the dragons sent to the valley all those years ago? Who sent the first egg, and how did this determine the fate of our great nation?

As of late, Kessai hadn’t necessarily been in a state of unrest, but the King’s ability to rule had been called into question. Traditionally, the heir chooses a consort before they ascend the throne, but due to a devastating illness, the previous King and Queen died prematurely, leaving the throne to their only child, Suoh Pendragon. Without a hatchling of his own, he was unable to choose a consort thus far.

As a child, I found the idea overly romantic, but a little strange. Until I met Cadmus, I had never considered that the heirs’ feelings toward the chosen consort may not be that of love. Much like any other responsibility, they’d make do with what they were given, rather than risk being dethroned. Now, it seems more likely that the paired dragons, much like their masters, are indeed a perfect match.

I watched as Hydra snaked her way around both Fafner and Cadmus next. Her feelings of relief lingered but were partially replaced by love and affection of a differing kind than she harbored for me. As she uncoiled herself to focus solely on Fafner, rubbing her cheek against his own, my stomach flipped over itself, my focus drifting from the serpent to Cadmus himself.

Stubborn as I can be, I’d never admit my feelings for him aloud. The relationship we had, currently anyhow, was strictly survival and business. I’d initially decided upon that, as to keep a clear head, but the longer we were together, the harder that became. I’d never worried so much about another human’s wellbeing. He’d do anything for me, and I him, so to continue to insist this was simply a survival tactic, was getting rather tedious. Nevertheless, until we determined why we’d been given two of only three dragons known to man, I’d bury those feelings.

After our little excursion into the palace archives had proven to be somewhat successful, the four of us found ourselves back in our favorite spot; the Kessai River Mountain Pass. The waterway ran directly from Lake Mizumi, Hydra’s favorite place to swim, past the capital, and into the mountains of Yama. Within those mountains, Cadmus had first stumbled upon Fafner, thus turning a nearby cave into his home. Luckily, the cave had a decent underground stream, so Hydra had come to enjoy staying there as well.

Before encountering our friends, we’d spend our time at the lake, and surrounding areas, but rumors began to spread after a family spotted us while night swimming. It was time for us to move on anyhow.

As soon as we returned from the palace, Cadmus set to work preparing a meal for us, while I skimmed the pages of the old tome by firelight. The cave was warm and dry in most areas. He’d spent the better part of 15 years sprucing it up for permanent habitation, so it suited our needs perfectly for the time being. It really was a nice place to call home, all things considered. I was grateful to have more than a tree to sleep under, especially on cold or rainy nights.

After realizing that he was not alone in this strange predicament, Cadmus approached me. Although I was wary at first, I was keen on the idea that we dig a little deeper into Kessai’s history. It was imperative to figure out why the dragons had chosen to appear before us, or if they had chosen anything at all. So far, most of the information we were able to gather was watered down.

The royal family was meant to be the only source of information regarding elections and such. With the Queen and King dead, and Suoh an only child, no one thought to question his ascension. It seemed the only logical solution, however disliked he may be among society. Especially given the untimely and unexpected death of his parents. It seemed a bit hasty, in retrospect, but a good chunk of the populace respected the Pendragon family. The last thing they’d want to do is disrespect their son, who was currently grieving the loss of both of his parents.

As I flipped through the pages, a gilded photograph of a gigantic, peculiar-looking tree, slipped from between the pages. The branches sprawled wider than anything I’d seen before. The leaves were a prism of many different colors. Each one reflected the sunlight brilliantly. Small, apple-like fruit hung from its limbs, in a shade I couldn’t quite name.

“Just like dragon scales,” I murmured as I ran my fingers over the photo.

“Did you find something?” Cadmus dropped down beside me; a wooden bowl full of rice porridge for each of us in his hands.

“Thanks,” I took one, and set it aside, my focus on the photo, “I’m not sure what this is. It’s a tree, obviously, but it fell from its pages, so I don’t have a name for it. I’m sure there is an entry about it in here somewhere. I’ve never seen anything like it.”

I passed the photo to him and began to eat as he stared at it.

“It’s beautiful, and believe it or not, I think I’ve heard or read something about it before.”

“Can you remember anything that might help us?”

“This is all just hearsay, of course, but…” He spooned a mouthful between his lips and swallowed before continuing, “Have you ever heard of Khyzaimah; The Great Dragon Tree?”

“It sounds familiar, but I can’t place it.” Suddenly starving, I shoveled a heaping spoonful into my mouth, burning my tongue.

“The location of the tree is a secret of the empire. In other words, the royal family and its closest confidants are the only ones that know its exact whereabouts. When the first potential heir is born, the tree bears fruit, which ripens over the next eighteen years. On the heir’s birthday, when the fruit changes color, the heir must visit the tree. The details from there are classified, or so it seems because no commoner can tell you much more than that.”

“Why?” I arched an eyebrow at him as I blew on the second spoonful of porridge.

“It’s hard to say. There are several theories, but I bet none of them are correct. You know how that goes. It’s possible the tree doesn’t even exist, or if it does happen to exist, it serves no real purpose.”

“The answers got to be in that book, right?” I pointed at the book with my spoon.

“I suspect it is, yes, but there’s no better way to find out than to…”

A loud crash snapped our attention towards the entrance to the cave.

“Cad, what was that?”

“I’m not sure. Hydra and Fafner are further in, no doubt playing near the underground lake. We should be alone. No one knows of this place.”

“Unless we were followed.” My stomach churned anxiously as another crash resounded throughout the cavern.

“Ry…” jumping to his feet, Cadmus stashed the book within his satchel and offered me his hand. “We’ve got to use the emergency exit.”

I gave a quick nod as I grabbed his hand and let him lead the way. He’d been living in the cavern for so long, that he could navigate it without much light or thought. As I stumbled along behind him, he slowed his pace just enough to make sure I wouldn’t trip.

“Should I call out to Fafner?” I asked in a hushed tone.

“It’s too dangerous. They could hear you.” He shook his head as we pushed deeper into the darkness.

The cavern around us changed quickly. From bright and homey, to dark and damp, it felt like a completely different place than we’d been only moments before. We’d be nearing the exit to the cavern soon, and from there, we could call upon the dragons. The underground lake, thankfully, gave birth to a small, but wide enough stream for the two of them to swim through, and meet us on the other side. My heart throbbed in my chest. My lungs burned, begging for fresh air. My legs ached as we pressed onward, scraping against jagged rocks as we passed. As we neared the exit, thin, pale threads of moonlight encouraged me forward. I’d do anything to keep them safe; to keep him safe.

Light on our toes, we squeezed through a crack in the cavern wall. The beating of wings shutters overhead. Fafner, adapting to Cadmus’ feelings, had sensed the danger along with us, remaining one step ahead of us. Now circling overhead, he attempted to get as low to the ground as possible. Without a moment’s hesitation, Cadmus mounted him quickly. I, on the other hand, approached Hydra with caution.

“I know you don’t care for heights, but we don’t have much of a choice right now, my love.” I stroked her encouragingly. “They could hurt us.”

Her head whipped around, first to me, then to Fafner, and finally, it settled on Cadmus. He gave her a warm, but firm nod, solidifying her resolve. Dipping her head in resignation, she offered me her spine. I slipped atop her, throwing my arms around her neck, holding on tight. Unlike Fafner, she was not built for aerial travel in the slightest.

“Where to?” Cadmus hovered slightly above us, just below the cap of the cavern.

“I honestly don’t have a shred of…” I paused in thought, “Wait a second. I’ve got it. South! Southwest to be precise!”

“Shinrin territory? We’ll pass right over them!” His eyes focused on mine, as if trying to gauge my intentions and whether it would be worth the risk.

“It’s either the forests of Shinrin, or the city of Machi. Either way, we’re forced to navigate the skies overhead. It’ll be much easier to hide a dragon in the forests!” I shouted over the beating of wings as we began to move skyward.

“But why Shinrin or Machi?!” Try as he might, Cadmus couldn’t disguise his worry.

“There’s a rebel camp in both cities. If that book tells us something they don’t already know, about the royal family, they might be willing to help us.”

A look of recognition washes over his face, followed by a small smile, “You really think of everything, don’t you?”

“Don’t thank me yet. We must survive this and earn their trust. I’m not exactly sure what type of people we’re talking about here, but they’re the only ones I can think of that aren’t brainwashed by the empire.”

“Alright, Shinrin it is. We don’t stop for any reason. Got that Faf?” With a quick pat and a snort in response, they were off like a bullet.

Taking a deep breath, I leaned forward, squeezing my eyes shut tight, “You heard him, Hy! Don’t stop until we’ve made it to safety!”

I keep my eyes closed, trusting Hydra to take the lead. Legs clenched against her body, I try not to tremble, my fear is flowing into her, driving her uncertainty. I steady my breathing, timing each inhale and exhale to the sound of her wings as we soar through the sky.

As my heart begins to settle in my chest, an ear-piercing whistle shocks my senses. Frantically, I survey my surroundings. Small specks move around on the ground like ants, focusing their numbers directly below us. Terror turns my blood to ice as I realize arrows of steel are whipping around us, nearly knocking us both. With a screech, Hydra begins to descend rather rapidly. I clutch to her, pain searing through me. Have I been shot?

I carefully move one arm from her neck, checking myself for injuries, “Is this blood?”

Coated in a crimson fluid, my palm feels sticky and warm. My stomach churns as I search Hydra for any indication of injury. As she barrels towards the ground, nearing the edge of Yama territory, I lean forward and stroke her neck gently.

“It’s going to be okay Hydra. I know it hurts, but you must stay strong. We can’t let them capture you. No matter what.” She shrieks in agony, “Hydra when we hit the ground, you need to do everything you can to get to Cadmus.” She shakes her head as she wails, “There! A lake! Please, Hydra, listen to me.”

A sharp pain sends me reeling. Like a punch to the gut, I’m thrown from her back. I try to roll myself to safety, but it’s no use. Hydra lands harmlessly in the water, while I hit the ground with a resounding thud. I clear my thoughts and send her one last message, as loud as I can.

“GO! FIND FAFNER AND CADMUS!”

She hesitates for a moment before giving a snort and disappearing beneath the waves. As if I’d been avoiding it, pain envelopes me, searing through my veins like molten lava down a mountainside. Slow and steady, it makes its way into my chest and stomach. I feel the need to throw up. I will my body to move, but it won’t obey. I clasp my hand to my shoulder, remove the arrow, and roll onto my side retching.

“Poison?” Already festering, a sickly greenish liquid seeped from the wound.

I choke between gags, desperate for air. Every inch of me was bruised, battered, and broken. My stomach churns as it rejects the poison, desperate to save its host. The sound of hoofbeats and boots march onward towards my location announcing my imminent doom. All that’s left for me to do is pray. Pray that Fafner and Cadmus made it out of the territory unharmed. Pray that Hydra will catch up to them safely. Pray that they make it to Shinrin.

Drops of blood trickled from my lips as I brush them away with the back of my hand. Rolling onto my back, I stare up at the clouds as they roll past, unaware of the chaos unfolding just beneath their serenity. I give into my weakened body, allowing my eyelids sag as my strength fades away; the world fading with it.

Series
41

About the Creator

Gorejess Stone

I love Storytelling, but unfortunately not on this site. See my tumblr link in the linktree below to find more work or my amazon link for my published book.

https://linktr.ee/agorejessstone

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (49)

Sign in to comment
  • Gorejess Stone (Author)2 years ago

    Hi everyone! An update from the author: As I continue to work on a project called Astro Hollow, a story driven video game, I will not be focusing on this story in particular! I really enjoyed the feedback, and it was very inspiring. Unfortunately, I did not place in the contest, which means this particular story will be put on the "back burner" as they say for the time being. I am considering closing my vocal account in January 2023, when my subscription to plus expires. It would seem that my style of writing is not appreciated by the overall moderators, judges, and community, and thus may not be the perfect fit for my work. It saddens me to say this, but if you like my work, please be sure to follow me on other socials, listed on my profiles, LINKTREE. :)

  • Alex Presser 2 years ago

    Wonderful story. Engaging. Leaves you wanting more. There is more right?

  • Yasmin Sonora2 years ago

    I love this story!! So far the best dragon story i have ever read!!

  • Linda Lin2 years ago

    Simply amazing!

  • Keket Fong2 years ago

    ahh i love it!! cute art btw. my bro will like it.

  • Jaki Paoki2 years ago

    a friend shared this story to me and now it becomes one of my favs. subscribed!

  • Lastri Sula2 years ago

    i love your story, it's a great fantasy story.

  • Kristin Situ2 years ago

    Great story about the dragons. Also all of the characters are interesting.

  • Nona Walin2 years ago

    Subscribed ! I'm officialy a fan now.

  • Princess Almost2 years ago

    Love this author!!!

  • Yece Secon2 years ago

    I really love it. Can't wait to read more.

  • Steeve B2 years ago

    Awesome, original and refreshing work!! Definitely on the right tracks!

  • Melanie Schwarz2 years ago

    Beautiful work, I can't wait for the next chapter. The story is very immersive and I love the relationships between the characters and the dragons. Great cliffhanger at the end of the chapter, too! This author is a hidden gem :)

  • Misel Roring2 years ago

    i love your story <3

  • aril noah2 years ago

    i was wondering where can i find the rest of the story. just noticed on the comments below, it's not posted yet. i'll wait.

  • Candice Huss2 years ago

    Great story! I can't wait for the next chapter!

  • mel situmo2 years ago

    what a cliffhanger....

  • Sonny Marpaung2 years ago

    i'm interested in the rebels. please create more story about the rebels. thank you.

  • Nesa Wilar2 years ago

    can the dragon ride by 2 person?

  • Alan Timi2 years ago

    i love it.

  • Cheirin Naya2 years ago

    cad..why did you leave ry behind...TT

  • top dragon2 years ago

    nice story and art. maybe you can post some world map as the cover for the next chaper. would like to see it.

  • Melody Sharen2 years ago

    great story.

  • acel roring2 years ago

    you're talented.

  • Kristy 2 years ago

    I loved this story! I can’t wait to read more!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.