Fiction logo

Doomsday Diary

The Dystopian Heart Locket

By George LebronPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

The world was dark and cold. The sounds of the locket made me feel at peace ever since my mother Cynthia had gave it to me for protection. Who ever knew such an item could protect a lost soul especially a broken one? I climbed mountains and hills form all over the destroyed city. My home was no where to be found, just some crumbs of things from my past that no longer seems of value anymore to the hungry and dying. I came across the bones of the neighborhood pets and I used my locket to pray for the innocent that were destroyed from the nuclear fire. My heart was stronger walking around the broken-down shelter my fellow towns people warned me about. They were such great people until the fires swallowed them all up. My journey was to find food and water. That is all I can do for now is hope and pray the creatures of the dead does not haunt me or stalk me as my body dies out. I came across a room that felt like mines when I was a little girl. The room used to be pink and so beautiful. Now its dark brown like it was hit with poop stains form some ones miss to the toilet. I loved this locket. The heart shape made me feel like it was a diamond. That is how much I loved it and cherish this piece of metal. Some would call it junk. Others might plan to kill me for it if they find it around my neck let alone in my pocket. As I fell asleep something startled me. It was the locket. The locket started to make a beautiful sound. It could have been the voice of my mother singing a praise song. I thought it was a dream. Then they came for me. The dead flesh ravagers of the night. They moaned and screamed but with a pain in their vocal cords. It hurt me to run and escape but I had to do it. I ran as hard as I could. My feet were so swollen that I fell on my stomach with the locket hanging around my neck. I could not believe what I saw next from the time I looked up and around the curb I slipped on. The Locket had a crack on it and out came a burst of light stronger than the sun. It was the soul of an Angel who looked a lot like my mother. She was strong but not in a masculine kind of way. She was tall and long like an UFO or alien from outer space. Her hair was so golden like the rays from the sun. She hurried and lifted me up off my broken feet and from my tired weak body. She ran so fast with me on her shoulders. I had to even hold on to the sword she had attached to her back. She dodged the ravagers the from night as if she played NFL football for years. I never felt so protected with anyone. The love from the locket has come to life and it was her. The mystery entity that I carried with me this whole time. As I looked up, I had to pray to an eternal entity for blessing me with this person whoever they were I knew I could trust them as I did my own family when they were alive before the nuclear blast hit us. Call me Diamond she said, Diamond the name of the same thing I called this heart locket from the very beginning. Thanks Diamond I said as I gave her the dandiest smile I could show her instead of how hungry and thirsty I was becoming. Do not worry food is not the way Diamond said with an assurance. Food is not the way? I questioned this train of thought coming from her sexy mouth. Yes, you will see in a matter of time. Trust me and my ways. I had no more hope left in me but, I was excited to hear this in such a dystopian world.

Short Story

About the Creator

George Lebron

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    George LebronWritten by George Lebron

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.