Fiction logo

Dime roses

The best Christmas present ever

By Timothy J CarrierPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Bobe sat in the snow in the backyard, feeling the growing chill on his body. He had been there for an hour and couldn't think of a gift to give his mom anyway. Since Dad died five years ago, the family of five had had to scrape by. Although the family is poor, this does not weaken the family's love for each other. Bobbi has two sisters and one sister who are handy and have already made beautiful gifts for her mother. Somehow, Bobbi felt aggrieved. It was already Christmas Eve, and he was still empty-handed.

Bobbi wiped away a tear from his face and started walking down the street, which was lined with stores of all sizes. It was about to get dark, and Bobbi turned reluctantly to go home. Just then, his eyes saw something glittering in the evening sun. He crouched down and found that it was a small ten-cent coin.

No one could feel as rich as Bobbi felt when he picked up that coin. He then walked into a store in front of him. His excited heart quickly cooled when the salesman told him that a dime wouldn't buy him anything.

He walked into a flower store anyway. When the owner asked him what he wanted to buy, he took out the dime and asked if he could buy a flower as a Christmas gift for his mother. The shopkeeper looked at Bobbi and then at the dime in his hand and said, "Just wait here while I think of something."

After a long time, the shopkeeper came out. Ah! There were twelve bright red roses in front of Bobbi, with green leaves and long branches, and a silver ring with some small white flowers in a bouquet. The store owner picked up the bouquet but put it gently into a long white box. Bobbi looked at it and his heart went cold.

"Young man, this sells for 10 cents." The shopkeeper said while reaching out to him for the ten cents. Bobbi's hand moved slowly, handing the dime to the owner. Is this true? A dime, I thought people said nothing can buy? The shopkeeper sensed Bobei's doubts and said, "I happen to be selling some roses for cheap. Do you see how beautiful those flowers are?"

Bobbi no longer hesitated. When the owner brought the box to his hand, he knew it was not a dream. He heard the owner say behind him, "Merry Christmas, son."

The shopkeeper's wife came out. "Who are you talking to there? Where are the flowers you packed?"

The shopkeeper looked out the window with tears in his eyes and said, "A strange thing happened to me this morning. As I was setting up the goods to open the door, I thought I heard a voice talking to me, telling me to leave twelve of the most beautiful roses as a special gift. At the time I couldn't figure out if I was lost in thought or what. But I left the flowers anyway. Then, just now, a little boy came in and wanted to buy a flower for his mother with a dime. When I saw him, I felt like I saw myself many years ago. At that time I was also a poor child and did not have a penny to buy a gift for my mother. As I was walking down the street, a bearded man I had never seen before called out to me and said he would give me ten dollars. As soon as I saw the boy this evening, I understood who the voice was talking about. I picked out twelve of the most and most beautiful roses."

The store owner and his wife hugged each other tightly. They felt they had gotten the best Christmas present ever.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Timothy J Carrier

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.