Fiction logo

Diary of a Scarlet Macaw

Fiction

By SOPOETICPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Diary of a Scarlet Macaw
Photo by Alan Godfrey on Unsplash

Day 1

Humans are still destroying our rainforest. It is them that have caused most of the devastation of our population. That's what I have been told, and well, I kinda already knew about this. You see I do have eyes and my short white feathers that surround them illuminate the pale yellow color of my beautiful eyes. I am formidably strong and intelligent. My only wish was for the humans to leave us alone. One day I shall have to protect the younger ones too if we are not all hunted for our plumage, meat or worse still kidnapped and kept by humans as exotic pets.

Day 2

I can't stop thinking about capture. To take my mind off it, I think about my sweetheart she is the epitome of an exotic bird! "Boy, oh Boy" every little red-headed-shoulders feather on her is as unique as a fingerprint, I think I will love her and only her for the rest of my life from the yellow of her body to the blue tips of her longest wings and dare I mention those electric 'tail' feathers. *screams* Well, with her looks it doesn't even matter that she won't talk to me, she is a more than competent talker within the right flock. One day we will be together in ours. I wonder whether we will meet up tomorrow for our visit to the clay banks?

Day 3

I'm not looking forward to the trip to the clay bank as my beauty isn't coming along. She's staying in the safety of the trees (for which I am grateful and a little selfishly disappointed), but it's the big shop that's essential when we're down to seeds, fruit, and these annoying insects, and it comes with the most risk. I usually hide amongst the crowd. The flock sergeant and his wife always take charge and protect us younger ones, they're very strict in preparing us. Say we're the lucky ones. I don't feel so strong or lucky today but on the flip side, I won't have to try and figure out how to stand apart from the flock to impress my darling.

Day 4

Yesterday went alright the birds of prey stayed away and we were in a good military flock to decrease the risk of capture or fatality from any source of a predator. Today I'm home 'living the best life' although worry is never too far away from my mind. I can see snakes on the bank of the river and even though I hide well up in the deciduous trees that are present near the river, we're safe in the forest. No sign of JubJub today I hope she's ok.

Day 5

I wrote a poem to show her this morning. Everyone was talking to each other but none to me. At least 50 individuals and yet I only seek out the one girl for me. I think she will be pleased with my rhyme:-

I will protect you, my darlin' girl

so remarkably delightful

I will frighten away

hawks, snakes, monkeys

and birds of prey

for you any day

come what may

monogamy is for us

as clay is for our needs

I promise to shower you

with love and share with

you all my seeds

I hope she doesn't see my naughty little play on words at the end but if she does I'm sure she won't blush - I might though.

Day 6

JUBJUB IS MISSING. The others say taken. The whole habitation is in fright. We must be careful but I am to go and look for her, I will fly long, very long, extremely long distances to find my beloved. I will vocalize to identify her even if I must mimic human speech. If I see them I will peck their eyes out and rescue my baby from them.

Day 7

It was human. I am sure. Before I rest in the trees tonight to sleep in preparation I shall scream high in the location and mark my territory. No human, no monkey, no raptures. Nobody will mess with me.

Last entry...

No luck. MY love is lost. I am alone now. Come January through to April I won't be nested in the holes of dead canopy trees. In essence, I am dead too. I have nothing more to say but grief. I AM ANGRY I will not sleep, I cannot eat. My feathers are my enemy, I fret I will pluck every single feather out in return for my love's return.

Excerpt
Like

About the Creator

SOPOETIC

GOALS: For my work to be at least IMPERFECT, not SLOPPY. LEVEL"Please Sir, can I have some more?"

<3 SUBSCRIBERS <3

TIPS: are compliments that I am undeserving of but graciously appreciated.

www.sopoeticblogpoetryartmusic.co.uk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.