Fiction logo

Deserved

Things we were taught to believe....

By Ruth StewartPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
6
Deserved
Photo by Юлія Дубина on Unsplash

Whack! I am guilty, worthless. The cane came down across my seven-year-old ribs, pain ripping through me. I'd given Nanny a cold. I didn't mean to! Mum said I shouldn't hug her, but Nanny said she didn't care. Nanny hugs were the only ones I got. So, yes, I did deserve it, the punches and the kicks. The beating from the bamboo cane. The insults and the pain. Worthlessness again.

Microfictionfamily
6

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Cezanne Libellen10 months ago

    Ugh, that's a tearjerker. I generally don't like Microfic, but this one is so poignant, I love it!!

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    😢

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Ah that was visceral. So much pain in only a few short sentences. A sad example of how touch can be abusive but also healing. Nicely written.

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    So sad, but powerful wriitng. I felt it all. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.