Fiction logo

Desert Sisters

An Apocalyptic Nightmare

By Timberly PricePublished 5 months ago 13 min read
1
Image created using Bing Image Create, DALL·E 2 , and Photopea.

“Maya… I’m tired!” I heard my little sister, Katie, whine as she trudged behind me.

I groaned, pulling down the purple bandana covering my nose and mouth. “Would you quit complaining? We haven’t even reached our halfway point for the day yet.”

“It’s been hours,” she huffed. “I’m hot, and I’m tired.”

“Believe me, so am I. But if we stop now, we’ll be a day behind schedule.”

“So? It’s not like we have anywhere to be.”

I stopped, turning to face her. I looked down at her thin body; the goggles on her head pushed back her messy hair, and her bandana hung loosely around her neck. I sighed and said, “No, we don’t have anywhere specific to be. But we are running out of supplies. If we don’t make it to that survivor camp soon, we may not make it at all.”

Katie crossed her arms in front of her. “What if it’s already overrun?”

“Then we’ll think of another plan. For now, we have to keep moving if we want to get to our halfway point.”

She rolled her hazel eyes, kicking a small mound of dirt as she walked ahead of me. I shook my head before following her. As I raised my bandana, I called out to my sister in front of me, “Put your gear back on. I don’t need you crying about dirt in your mouth and eyes again.”

“Yes, mother,” she sassed me but did as she was told.

I bit my tongue as I put my bandana snugly over my nose, and we continued our journey in silence.

***

The sun shone brightly in the sky as we continued trekking through the vast, scorching desert. I kept a close eye on my sister, who was still partially ahead of me. I didn’t want her passing out from the heat because even I was feeling the intensity getting to me. With the little water supply we had left, we had to use it sparingly if we wanted to make it out of here alive.

“Maya, look,” Katie pointed off into the distance where I could vaguely make out a small structure. “Let’s go check it out.”

Before I could get a word out, Katie bolted in the direction of the shelter. I quickly chased after her, calling out, “Katie, wait! Stop!”

She looked back at me and yelled, “Come on! Keep up!”

I groaned as I continued to sprint after her. We eventually reached the small concrete structure. It was a bit worse for wear, but still livable if someone wanted to hole up in the middle of the desert. I looked around, keeping my eyes peeled for any danger that may be lurking.

“Can we go inside?” Katie questioned me.

“No, absolutely not.” I shook my head. “We don’t know what could be in there or if someone lives here and will come back while we’re in there.”

She gave me an annoying pout and said, “Please? I’m tired of sleeping out in the freezing cold temps at night. We’ve finally found a warm place to take shelter in, so why not?”

“I don’t know about this.”

“Have I ever asked you for anything else?” She clasped her small hands together in a pleading gesture. “I promise I’ll make up our lost time tomorrow. We can even get up early.”

“Okay, fine,” I groaned as I contemplated her words. “But only for tonight.”

“Yay! Thank you.” She hugged me, something she hadn’t done in years, even before the apocalypse.

I patted her back before stepping away. “Stay here and keep an eye out while I scour the place. If you see anything, dead or alive, come and get me. Got it?”

“I got it.”

I took out my blue-handled machete before trying the doorknob of the wooden door. It opened easily, so I entered the structure cautiously, looking around for any threats. The place was quite small, with a bathroom, kitchen, living room, and bedroom. There was no one, dead or alive, inside, and it didn’t seem to have any visitors in months because there was dust and cobwebs everywhere.

After deliberating in my head whether we should actually stay or not, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to spend a night in a shelter. I walked back outside, finding my sister leaning against the concrete wall, her arms crossed in front of her. I called out to Katie and said, “Hey, it’s all clear. We can stay the night.”

“Yes,” she grinned happily as she adjusted the backpack on her shoulder.

Katie followed me inside, tossing her bag on a cluttered table. I shook my head before pointing to a desk by the door. “Help me with this. If we barricade the door, it’ll hopefully keep anyone or anything from getting in.”

“I’m pushing while you’re pulling?” she asked as she went to the opposite side of the dresser.

“Yep, that’s our thing,” I replied, grabbing the dresser from both sides. “Ready, Katie?”

“I’m ready.”

I started to pull the dresser toward me and told Katie to push on her end. We eventually got the dresser in front of the door, and I made sure it was completely secure before settling in our makeshift shelter. Walking to the kitchen, I called over my shoulder, “I forgot to tell you, I found a can of your favorite food in the kitchen.”

“Ugh,” I heard my sister gag from the living room. “I’m tired of beans.”

“It’s food, and it means we don’t have to take from our food supply. I just wish there was some water around.”

“We only have half a canteen left.”

“Which won’t last us much longer in this desert heat.”

“Do you really think we’ll make it?”

I walked back to the living room with a rusty pot and the can of beans I found. I tried to give my sister a reassuring smile, I’m sure she could see right through my false hope. “We’ll make it.”

She nodded as she sat on the floor, leaning against the dilapidated mauve couch. I joined her on the floor, placing the pot on a few stacked bricks. I grabbed some items from my bag—dried leaves, twigs, and moss. I also pulled out the two cheap silver spoons I carry and metal tongs. Taking out a handful of dry foliage, I broke up the twigs to fit snuggly into the bottom of the pot.

I took out my lighter and got the flame going after a few tries. Once the fire burned bright, I grabbed the can of beans with my tongs and placed it over the fire. While I waited for them to cook, I turned to Katie, who fiddled with the pastel-stringed bracelet on her wrist. I patted her leg comfortingly and said, “How are you holding up?”

“The same since the last time you asked me,” she huffed as she continued to stare at her bracelet.

“That’s not an answer.”

“What do you want me to say?” She finally turned to me, her eyes staring into mine. “That everything is peachy?”

“Of course not,” I replied. “I just want you to be honest with me.”

“You want me to be honest with you? The world is over and probably never coming back. Our parents are dead, my friends are dead. We’re in the middle of the desert. How do you think I’m holding up, Maya?”

“Listen, Katie, I know life sucks. But all we have is each other now.” I pulled her close to me, embracing her smaller frame. “I’m doing my best, and I want us to make it. I want you to make it.”

She was silent for a while as she stayed in my arms. I was surprised she wasn’t pulling away, so I made sure to cherish this unique moment between the two of us. After a few seconds, she finally spoke, “I know I give you a hard time, and I’m sorry. I’m just trying to process this.”

“I know you are,” I rubbed her arm in a soothing motion. “I am too, and sometimes I can be a tad hard on you.”

“If you had to do it over again, saving me from our apartment complex, would you?”

“What kind of question is that? Of course I would.”

She hung her head and said, “But aren’t I holding you back? You’d probably be at that stupid camp already.”

“I probably would,” I laughed softly. “But it wouldn’t be the same without you. I wouldn’t be the same without you.”

A little smirk graced her lips, “You’d miss me?”

“Yes, I would.”

I put on a heat-resistant glove and grabbed the can of beans with the metal tongs. Carefully stirring them with one of our spoons, I watched the steam rise from the can. Handing my sister the other spoon, I said, “Dig in.”

Katie looked at the can with disgust, “But it’s still hot.”

“Just blow on it,” I sighed. “And I know you don’t like it, but you have to eat.”

“Fine.” She timidly put her spoon in the can, taking a smidge of beans that sat on the tip of it. Bringing it to her face, she blew on the food a few times before taking a dramatic bite. She made exaggerated gagging noises as she scrunched her face up in repulsion. Her face fell back onto the dirty couch behind her as her tongue lolled out of her mouth.

I rolled my eyes at her terrible acting, “So dramatic.”

“I’m not; it’s the truth. It’s awful.”

“Then starve,” I said as I ate a spoonful of the beans myself.

“You’re no fun,” she huffed as she took another tiny scoop.

“I’m just looking out for you,” I looked over at my pouting sister. “Now eat up so we can get some rest.”

She nodded and ate more beans without fuss. It didn’t take long for the two of us to finish them. Once the fire died down, a light glow illuminating us and the tiny living room, we assumed our respective spots to rest. She slept by the couch, while I took up a rickety chair that faced a cracked window. I kept watch for as long as I could, but my eyes soon felt heavy as I stared into the darkness of the night. It didn’t take long for my exhaustion to take hold, and I drifted off into a fitful sleep.

***

We were back out in the sandy desert as soon as dawn broke. It wasn’t too hot yet as we trekked through the early morning light. The area we were in was quite barren, with no tumbleweeds, cacti, or any type of animal or insect. All I could see was sand for miles, and it didn’t seem like we were any closer to getting to our destination as I peered out into the distance.

Time passed as we slumped through the dunes. The sun was getting higher in the sky, and the heat was upon us once again. But things started to take a turn for the worse when I noticed an orange haze sneaking up on us from the left side. The wind started picking up, and the once-barren area was soon littered with tumbleweeds as they blew through our imaginary path. I looked back at Katie and said, “Stay close! And keep your gear on. That sandstorm is coming in quick.”

I watched her nod as she kept an eye on the impending wall of sand. It didn’t take long for the storm to envelop us in a thick cloud. My eyes squinted as the sand pelted my exposed skin. I could hardly see two feet in front of me. I looked back, making sure Katie was still behind me. I saw her struggling to wade through the dense orange fog, but she stuck close.

There didn’t seem to be an end in sight to the storm that had snuck up on us. As I continued to maneuver through the sandy plume, a heart-dropping scream ripped through my ears, making me stop in my tracks. I whipped my head back, seeing the dark silhouette of my sister on the ground, crawling away as hands reached out from the sand below.

I didn’t hesitate to yank out my machete and run over to help my sister. When I reached her, the sight had me mortified as I watched dozens of decrepit and orange-tinged hands clawing at my sister’s body as they climbed out of the soft terrain. There wasn’t any time to freak out, so I buried my nerves as I hacked at the hands and heads that were exposed.

It felt like it would never end, the orange sand soon turning a gross reddish black. I felt one zombie grab my ankle, making me fall to my knees. I quickly slashed into its head, pulling its limp hand off of my jeans, before helping my sister once again. Once there was no more movement coming from the ground below, I crawled over to my sister, holding her in my arms.

“Katie, tell me you’re okay. Please,” I whispered into her messy hair.

I felt her weeping in my arms, her body shaking rapidly. She shook her head, looking up at me with watery eyes. She lifted her arm, a bite clear on her bare wrist, blood oozing from the wound. “I’m so sorry.”

“No. It’s not your fault,” I pulled her closer to me as tears streamed down my face.

Katie reached into the front pocket of her jeans, taking out her switchblade. She placed it into my hands and said, “You have to do it.”

“I can’t do that.”

“You have to. I can’t become one of them.”

I hung my head low, gripping the switchblade tightly in my hands as I continued to weep. “Okay. I won’t let that happen to you.”

She threw her arms around my neck, burying her head into the crook of it. “I love you, Maya.”

“And I love you, Katie,” I whispered.

I sat there holding my sister for what seemed like hours. The sandstorm had passed, the sun beaming down once again without a cloud in the sky. When I felt her body go limp, I knew what I must do next. I flipped the blade out from her pocketknife before I embedded it firmly into the back of her head. I laid her down on the sand, watching her sleep peacefully.

I figured I should leave, even though I didn’t want to. I went to stand, but throbbing pain shot up my ankle. I reached down to touch the spot that hurt, and felt the crust of dried blood on it, including an outline of teeth markings. I yanked up my pants leg, noticing the dark bite mark on the back of my ankle.

I plopped back into the sand, the realization washing over me. I figured there was not much left for me to do except await my fate. I lay beside my sister, holding her fragile hand in mine. I looked up into the bright blue sky, watching two vultures swirling around for their next feast. I could feel my body getting clammy, my heart slowing, and my stomach churning. I knew it wouldn’t be long until I would succumb to my wound.

Engulfed in the desert’s parched silence, I was nothing but another grain of sand in the wind.

Short StoryHorrorfamilyAdventure
1

About the Creator

Timberly Price

Fiction writer and self-published author.

Follow me on Instagram: @timberlyprice_author

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.