Fiction logo

Depression Elephant

An Unwilling Confrontation

By Rosemary KashPublished about a year ago 1 min read
7

“What’s that?” Harold’s gaze fixed behind me.

“What’s what,” I feigned ignorance.

“That!” He pointed in determination. It rustled behind me, a wave of despair flooded me. I frantically grabbed Harold’s hand.

“Dude! Stop or you’ll wake It!” I yelled in a whisper. I attempted to push down the rising sea of sadness with deep breaths.

“It’s staring at me,” I choked back a sob as Harold’s words echoed in my head. A river of ice crawled up my skin. It was swallowing me whole.

Harold wrapped me in his arms and held me tight, “It’s okay, I’ve got you”.

ExcerptShort Storyfamily
7

About the Creator

Rosemary Kash

There’s a world inside my head. A world begging for existence. A world willing to break free from abstract thought and exist in the constructs of the written word.

That world is going to have to be patient.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Oh, I love how you did this so much! Very poignant, yet expressively beautiful. ❤️

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    This was a well written mini story. Thank you for sharing.

  • Francine Valdiviaabout a year ago

    Choose your world of what you will or will not accept. They say an elephant never forgets. Remember: The strong arm of Divine Love can rescue and release us from all difficulties and help us to breathe fearlessly.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.