Fiction logo

Death by Chocolate

Sweet Goodbye

By Luke WoodruffPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Death by Chocolate
Photo by Anastasia Taioglou on Unsplash

Death By Chocolate By Luke Woodruff

The smooth wisps of chocolate frosting encompassing the piece of delicious art work before him took him back to his childhood. He stared longingly at the piece of cake, as though it could transport him to another world. If only he focused enough. If only he let his mind take him there, everything would be alright.

“Aren’t you gonna try it at least?” His mother asked, tears welling up in her eyes. She sat acrossfrom him at the silver metal table, her lip quivering as her attempts to mask her sorrow were failing.

“I am. I just always admired how beautiful you made it. As though you wanted to bless me witha visual treat as well as a dessert.” He continued staring at the pastry. “You always sprinkled love on anything you made and everything you did.” He held back a small sigh.

“I would do anything to make you smile Johnny. You never knew this, but your joy was a greater gift to my heart than anything I ever did for you. Now please, just try it.”

He slowly picked up the plastic white fork that he was allowed to use and savored the way it gently separated the freshly baked dough. Bringing a generous piece to his mouth, he gently closed his eyes, and he was in heaven. Every summer day riding his bike, every evening that his loving mother ever played catch with him until dusk, every embrace while he cried from a scraped knee, were all wrapped into that one bite of joy. He looked into the broken soul of his mother’s eyes,“I love you Mom. Thank you for showing me that I was worth loving. Please know that I will see you again.”

“I know I will baby. What did I always tell you? Nothing you could ever do would stop me from loving you. I hope you know that even now. Please say that you know it.”“I do.” He lost himself in thought for a moment and snapped back to reality, “I have to tell you something. And I only tell you to give you peace. I need you to know…that I didn’t do it. I can’t tell you much more than that. All I can say is that the unconditional love you showed me my whole life, is the very reason that I am here today, going where I’m going. Please Mom, now I need you to say that you know that I didn’t do it. Please.”

“I know my son. I know.” She looked deep in his eyes with an integrity that assured him she was telling the truth. With that, a weight lifted from his shoulders. There was no more pain. Comfort embraced him as though an angel.

An authoritarian deep voice shattered his peace,“Time’s up Johnny. Get up.” The husky deputy grabbed the shoulders of his orange jump suit, lifting him straight to his feet. His mother made a gesture that ached to help him. Save him. But she could not. Surrendering to the inevitable, she sank into her seat. The walk into the room was eerie and quiet. Johnny had never felt so alone. Would it hurt? Is this the end of all existence? Or would he wake up to a land where tears no longer fall? His mother looked helplessly through the glass as they strapped her first born on to the table, arms first, then legs. He relaxed his brow and stared to the heavens. He saw no ceiling, but what was beyond. Endless possibilities of adventure and joy filled his heart. He slowly turned his head to the site and his eyes met his mothers’ for the last me. She knew in that moment that he had found the peace that so cruelly evaded him for so long. He mouthed “Goodbye. I love you.” The clear liquid made its’ way into his veins. He looked so tired. All he wanted was to sleep. Let me sleep. God let me sleep. His eyelids gave way to weariness and gently shut. His mother pressed her hand to her chest and closed her eyes with him. He was home.

family
2

About the Creator

Luke Woodruff

I’ve self published one novel so far but hope to write more.

I have an MFA in acting from the ART/MXAT at Harvard University, was in the Marine Corps, and I’m married to the best girl on Earth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.